Customer Reviews for

Dogma

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    DOGMA

    I love this movie. You laugh and smile most the way through it. I would give it to anyone of my friends to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Makes You Think

    This is an excellent intersection of judeo-christian mythology, traditions, customs, socio-religious dogma and personal faith in crisis. It is funny only if you are allowed to actually think about what you believe, rather than just believe it. That is a warning.

    The actors all turn in excellent performances, but what else can you expect in a Kevin Smith vehicle driven by Affleck, Damon, and Rickman with Salma Hayek, Chris Rock and Jason Lee? It is irreverent and hilarious, but only to those to who already recognize dogma as an artificial construct designed to impose control on large groups of people in the interests of wealth and power. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    dogma

    i watched this on tv when i was younger and it was interesting. it had some weird and funny moments plus memorable characters like who else... jay and silent bob. when you watch gotta remember its only a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lapsed Christian Gets It!

    Though the cursing might put off some of us Christians with more moral sensibilities, this lapsed Christian thoroughly got the message. It got me to think about Christianity from a more enlightened, worldly view. Thanks Jay and Silent Bob!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Seen Over 2000 movies, Dogma is in my top 10

    Easily the best kevin smith movie avalible. This is one of the smartest, funniest and most thought-provoking comedies I have ever seen! Some catholics may take offense to this movie, but I'm a catholic and I loved it. If someone took offense to this, then they just aren't seeing past the profanity and religious mockeries. But come on, lets face it fellow catholics, our donomination is pretty easy to use as a comical target, so just relax and enjoy the movie as a movie and don't take it so seriously. Oh yeah, and for anyone who is a little confused about religion, some very interesting ideas and theories are brought up in this film amongst the vulgarities and fake blood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Watch it more than once!!!!

    'Dogma'is a movie that is devious,devilish,and delishious. It's use of 'tongue-in-cheek' violence is brilliant. Kevin Smith is a very funny and clever man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2003

    A good movie

    I liked this movie because it was hilarious and worthwhile. Though I didn't like the language I still enjoyed it. I am a ''silly'' Catholic but I still got this movie it was very funny and I loved the cast. Ben Affleck and Matt Damon were incredible. Jason Mewes and Kevin Smith were wonderful. I love Alanis Morissette and Chris Rock so of course they were great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dogma & Spirituality

    I happen to be deeply Spiritual. My faith teaches me to walk in the path of Christ (the Anointed One). I despise many organized religions because there is so much shaming and blaming, and driving away of those who need spirituality and support the most. I know many recovering Catholics, Pentecostals, Baptists, etc. The one most important message from Jesus was to love one another. Some of us have missed it completely. I loved Dogma because Kevin Smith was not afraid to blurt out (!) what so many are afraid to say about organized religion, and the hypocrisy that man has generated in the name of Christ. Yet, he did so in a delightful and powerful way. Jocularity! Fundamentalist Christian? An oxymoron. I praise God that we live in a country where we are free to worship or not, pray or meditate, and freely criticize and debate with one another (hopefully, following the example of doing so in a loving way). Congratulations to Kevin on having the courage to speak forth...is a sequel in the works?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great movie

    I watched Dogma when it first came out and was too young to understand the humor. I just watched it again four years later and realized how hilarious it is. It is a great religous satire, just over the top enough so as not to be too offensive. I would say that anyone who has a good sense of humor should give this film a try. The only thing I wasn't wild about was Alanis Morrisette as God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW

    Three words for this movie. Wow. Awesome. Hilarious. Oh ya, Dude you really have to learn how to spell. (a-n-g-e-l-) ha-ha-ha

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2002

    I loved this movie

    Dogma is one of my favorite movies. Not only is it hilarious, but in a sick and twisted way it also makes sense, and explains religion through the eyes of kevin smith, who I also have grown to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2002

    Dogma...WOW

    I loved this movie...it was the 1st Kevin Smith movie I saw, and it inspired me to see his others, all of which are completely worthwile. Plus, the cast is amazing...Alanis as God, Chris Rock as an Apostle...WATCH DOGMA!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Greatest Movie Ever

    Ok, so the Catholics are uptight about this movie because it makes fun of them. Well it makes fun of all religion too. And the guy who gave this 1 star, learn how to spell angels and then we'll talk. He obviously did not understand the plot because he was Catholic. Silly Catholics, Dogma's not for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nothing shy of sheer genius

    This is a pearl of wisdom from the brilliant Kevin Smith. Kevin has never missed with a film yet. Each one is better than the previous. Hollywood needs to start recognizing that he is the up and coming King of moviedom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME

    Dogma was an ecxellent movie because it has so many good actors in it, like Matt Damon. It also pointed out the fact that everyone has different beliefs, so I really thought the movie was the bomb, and so is matt Damon and Ben affleck

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best films ever

    One of the best movies you will ever see, guarenteed! Kevin Smith is deffinately one of the best, if not the best, writter/directors/actors out there. If you like Clerks, Mallrats, and chaising amy, then you will love dogma.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hillarious!!!

    This movie was done to perfection. This movie does not poke fun at religion it just shows you that religion is mostly based on peoples interpretation. Excellent actors and actresses. Funny from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Kevin Smith's best

    The best of all of the Kevin Smith movies. If you enjoyed Mallrats or Clerks, you'll love this religious mockery! I noticed the first reviewer had some confusing and negative things to say about the movie, I can only assume they're a holy-holy. If you're some sort of religious fanatic, don't bother buying this movie, but if you need a good laugh and you are able to set your religious beliefs aside for a little while, this movie is well worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I thought it would be good.

    I think Dogma was a bad Movie because of the way they made heaven the way they think it looks. The director made it so the two angles that were trying to get back into heaven killed all the people of the world. I think that was dumb and stupid on there part. Some parts were good like (Chris Rock) as an angle that helps the woman to stop the angles. The outlook of heaven was ok but they made is like angles were able to come down and live as a human and also had god as a girl. Some believe that god does not have a form. They were trying to say he is coming back with his try form, but really I don¡¯t think so. I just think this movie was a bad idea, the actors were great but the plot, climax, and ending were not good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2001

    Dogma-my review

    First of all, I would like to say that Kevin Smith is a very fine director, and a good actor, although he isn't given much credit there. Second, Matt Damon and Ben Afleck have such a strong chemistry on and off screen that it shows through their acting. I think that this movie really let Matt work his comedic side. Ben had a more serious role, acting as the one with more common sense out of the two fallen angels. Third, I really liked the way Kevin covered the movie completly. What I mean is that he really went into some fine detail with the whole Bible being gender biased, and the Plenery Indulgence ''Loophole'', so much that anyone (not just Catholics,) would catch on and understand the plot. The only problem I had with the film was that I had some little questions left unanswered. Such as, what happened to Loki(Damon), what became of Bethany's daughter. Of course this is just me, I always have go into detail like that. I AM ALSO LOOKING FORWARD TO ''JAY AND SILENT BOB STRIKE BACK'' COMING THIS SUMMER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3