BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Donnie Darko

Average Rating 5
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I could watch this over and over again..

    One of my favs of all time. It's mind boggling, twisted, everything you could want in a movie. Highly reccommend this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    amazingly depressing

    amazingly depressing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    Simply Amazing

    One of the best movies of all time as far as I'm concerned. Interesting, haunting, musically and visually stunning. This movie sticks with you and actually makes you think. I absolutely love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Better than Theatrical Version?

    I first caught this movie at an independent theater in my town and fell in love with it! It is a brilliant psychological thriller full of twists and turns that leaves you a little saddened and yet inspired at the end. I watched this version several years later and though it is better in some aspects, I recommend watching the theatrical version several times and discussing it with others before moving on to this version. The theatrical version leaves more to the imagination and allows you to draw your own conclusions regarding the events leading up to the end of the movie.

    Great soundtrack as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie Ever!

    This is seriouly is like my favorite movie of all time. It seems like a dark depressing scary movie, but it's so much more. I love all the funny jokes in the begining. The Dad is the best. Besides all the good funny parts the movie does have a interesting plotline, and really makes you think. It seems like the kind of movie that would give you night mares, but if you really get it I don't think you will. Watch it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic Movie

    Simply a great and moving movie with a lot of twists and turns. Dark Movie that will grab you and shake your foundation in some ways. Truely one of my favorites and will be yours as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mesmerizing!!!

    I am not a big fan of psychological thrillers, however for this movie I have made an exception. Donnie Darko¿s plot is unique, dark, and bit crazy, but it is one of the most entertaining films I have ever seen. Viewers will not be able to stop watching the great storyline that includes giant demonic rabbits, plane engines falling out of the sky, the end of the world, time travel, and a really crazy town. I really don¿t even know how to describe this film or even its meaning, but really the meaning and the events in this film are up to the viewer to interpret and there are many different opinions on that matter. Donnie Darko is set in 1988 and it follows a brooding teenager named Donnie Darko. Donnie keeps having hallucinations of a giant demonic bunny named ¿Frank¿ that predicts the end of the world. In some of Donnie¿s hallucinations Frank convinces Donnie to commit various crimes, some of which being quite dangerous. Of course this is only a little of the weird stuff that happens, it gets much weirder and once the film has ended you may be thinking ¿What just happened?¿ or at least that is what I thought when I first watched it. It is a bizarre film that can be pretty confusing, but nonetheless I highly recommend watching it. This film made me laugh with its dark humor and it really boggled my mind at times. Donnie Darko is truly an unforgettable film and I recommend everyone to give it a try and watch it. The plot sounds crazy and maybe you¿re not sure this is something that you would want to watch, but trust me it is worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow

    Wow, it's really hard to say what this movie was quite about. The thing is, I really didn't care! The storyline was so deep that it left my brain boggled. An awesome movie for anyone who likes figuring out the secret meaning behind certain movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Riveting

    Through deep characterization and a clever storyline (with quite the complexing conclusion) this movie will have you watching it over and over again. You will be viewing it repeatedly not only to uncover the mysteries of the story, but to understand the characters better. Each time you watch it, you'll notice something new and exciting. Funny and upbeat, but dark and eerie. Sad and lonely, but happy and fulfilling. This movie will leave you VERY satisfied and with a desire for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The cult smash that blew me away!!!!

    Donnie Darko is without a doubt my favorite film that I have current knowledge of. It was directed by Richard Kelly in 2001, and has to be his best piece of work yet!! The main character is Donnie Darko himself, a troubled teen attending Middlesex High School. He is tormented by delusionary hullucinations of a horrifying demonic rabbit that brings and shares visions of the past and deadly predictions for the future. The film features an all-star cast of actors and each one puts forth their best effort and succeed wonderfully!! This movie can appear extremely out of whack to the casual observer, and despite some of the negative humor seen or heard sometimes between the characters, it is not a film to be taken lightly. It is a dark and mind-blowing masterpiece and has a cult fan following. The plot is a very unique and complex one, ranging from Donnie's daily life to the world ending and time travel. The vast array of different content in this movie will keep you mesmerized and on the edge of your seat. Some of the smallest details play some of the biggest roles in the movie. Many events foreshadow things to come and can really catch you off gaurd. The ending is a true turn-around surprise. I strongly urge any reader of this review to go and get this movie and see it as soon as possible!! It is highly recommended by myself to view this movie multiple times to make any great deal of sense with this movie. You must pay close attention to every detail to fully appreciate Kelly's work. Every delusional scene is beautifully done and really are eerie and breathholding. However, despite all these great aspects, it is rated R, so young ones are better off sustaining from viewing this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow...need to watch it again!

    Wow! This was such an interesting movie! There are so many things I am still very unsure of, and it will be like a hunt trying to understand the crazy events and characters. I thought Donnie was played really well- very angsty, very insecure, very, in a good way, perverse. I really enjoyed it, and most interestingly, I think each individual who watches this movie will interpret it in a different way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    observant, creative, and all together brilliant.

    This film is one of the deepest and darkest forms of art. "Donnie Darko" is a painting that you look at and in an instant ideas are weaving and exploding in your mind, it's very exillerating. This film fills your mind up with new ideas that have never crossed you're paths before. This film is one of a kind and definatly makes an impact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great version of a great movie

    The US theatrical release left more of the premise to be guessed, and seemed to target more of an emotional response. The director's cut is more explicit about the premise, but delves much more deeply into the concepts on which the plot is constructed - more cerebral in a way, and, in my opinion, much more interesting. Great extras on the DVD, too. The "#1 fan" bit is hilarious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No way to describe this movie!

    This movie was excellent! It is by far my favorite movie. Jake Gyllenhaal was perfect for the role of Donnie and he did a fantastic job! I loved this movie from start to finish and I've never seen a movie like it! If you haven't seen Donnie Darko, go get it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best movie out there

    Donnie Darko is by far my favorite movie. After I watched this movie the first time I thought wow that was a great movie. But, after the second time I really began to think about the movie and the message it is sending. I think that Jake Gyllenhaal was the perfect actor to choose for this part. The entire movie is fantastic from start to finish. If you haven't already seen it go rent it or buy it today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE IT!!

    Love it!! This is the best movie of all time!! If you haven¿t seen this movie, then you¿re crazy!! The cast is so great, especially Drew Barrymore! My favorite actress! Most people don¿t look beyond the movie and look deeper into what it really means! It¿s about LOVE! How Donnie made a difficult decision for the one he loves! A wonderful story line that makes you thinks throughout the movie. It¿s difficult to understand, but just watch it a couple of times and you¿ll get the main concept. So you guys out their who love a great movie, go to the movie store and get DONNIE DARKO!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Watch this Movie!

    i had been told 'donnie darko' was a good and somewhat baffling movie. after i had watched it, i knew why everyone liked it. although, i still cant seem to quite understand the entire time travel concept. this movie has everything! go watch it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    so amazing!

    this was one of the most complex movies i've ever seen, and i've seen quite a few! it makes you think more than any other movie i can remember, and the sybolism is so overwhelming it's hard to grasp it all at first, or even after seeing it several times. but you can't get it out of your head and it gets your brain working in ways most movies don't come close to. i absolutely love it and true movie lovers will as well. even if you aren't a movie freak, you'll be able to find something in this movie for you and it'll stick with you so that you'll not be able to think of the world the same way again! it's PERFECT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT

    It was kinda of hard to under stand at first, but if you watch it a few more times the message becomes clearer. A great late night movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing! Gylenhaal was outstanding

    Absolutely loved this indie film. The parallels that it has to Christian Dogma, and Christ's journey are encredible. Jake Gylenhaal was wonderful, his portrayal of Donnie was beyond words. The only disagreement that I have is Drew Barrymore, she's a romantic comedy actress, and I felt as though she was out of her league.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6