BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Doubt

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    This film is a film that has to be seen more than once as the dialogue is to intense and so involved and intricate, it must be reviewed more than once. I have seen it 3x and keep cathcing new things. Performances are on target. Worth seeing.

    The plot is never actually stated so that leaves it up to viewer to decide what the dilemma is. The characters, the 2 protagonists, the priest played by Hoffman and the chief nun, Streep, and principal, play of each other like a rubber ball in a small room, going back and forth endlessly bouncing off each other. The young nun, Amy Adams, is in such a quandry as to the right and moral thing to do, wanting desperately that people are truly good, something we all would like to believe in, and did. When things are seemingly solved, Streep goes on a tear to prove that what she believes is true, and although she does not do that, she manipulated enough to break the priest, take the innocence away from Adams and affect a few of the student's lives, as well. Dialogue is intricate and must be listened to intently, which takes away from the performances, which is why I advise watching it more than once. All the performances are top notch but if you are looking for action, thrilling scenes and amazing sets, this is not for you. It is as intimate a film as can be and must be conctantly be paid attention to. I would not recommend it to somoene who is not in the mood to think, and listen. I don't think someone who loved, 'the Terminator' would find this film satisfying, though someone who saw and appreciated 'Ordinary People', also a film which depends on every word of dialogue, you will appreciate this. Do not be put off by the religious background as the story is not about religion, but about choices, gossip, assuming, relationships, faith. It is a remarkable film. I would reccomend it highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Movie!

    Words do not begin to describe the film. Every element in this film is pulled off with flying colors, making it one of the best films of our time! I HIGHLy recommend this movie to everyone who wants to be entertained and intrigued.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Meryl Streep - Do you need to know more?

    Philip Seymour Hoffman, Amy Adams ad Viola Davis are all terrific in Doubt. Not only do they deliver performances that makes you believe in them, in their characters - but they all come through the screen with such grace and power that you forget that they are actors.

    But... it is Meryl Streep that is the heart and soul of this movie. THE Meryl Streep. The movie-goddess. The First Lady of Acting.
    Once again Meryl Streep proves why she is just - better!
    Better than anyone else.

    Forget about her record number of Oscar-nominations. Just watch this movie. Well - just watch almost any of her movies and if you did not know it already, it will show you why movie goers/lovers are lucky to live during her lifetime.

    And she is still only 60 years old.. Hopefully many more movies will benefit from her magic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't doubt "Doubt"

    Don't doubt "Doubt's" intelligence & smarts. The movie makes you sit up & take notice from the opening scene, and never lets go of your conscience. And who would have thought Meryl Streep could top Meryl Streep, but indeed she does from the moment she incaptures the audience.The cast as a whole sweeps you a way with their bravo performances. Lucky us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No doubt that Doubt is a good flick

    Engrossing and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    excellent acting by all

    All of the primary actors were amazing, but I'll tell you something - Viola Davis took a small part and kicked Streeps's butt. One expects Ms.Streep to be good (well, except for Mama Mia, which made me want to poke a fork in my eyes) but Ms. Davis was incredible.
    A very compelling story; one which made me think about it long after the movie ended. I'd love to see the stage version. I bet it's amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    No "Doubt" this movie is worth renting, not buying.

    Solid, well written movie...Thrilling and realistic. But better off renting than buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best movies I've seen in years

    There are many stories within the primary story, and the complexity of layers is not brazenly noticeable. Each person who sees this movie will form his or her own interpretation of the characters and the meaning of Meryl Streep's "doubt" at the end. This is a movie a person can watch several times and still get something new with each viewing. Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Extremely Disappointing

    I was extremely disappointed in this film. While the performances and emotions invoked were outstanding- I am upset at the story. Many screenplays don't match that of the original story, play, book, etc. and this should not have been an exception. It should have given us some type of resolution and satisfaction. Sister Aloysius never had proof of the things she accused Father Flynn of and was one to talk about "being a cheat" and her actions were proof of only one thing...the hypocrisy that exists in the church today. She basically sentenced Donald Miller to death. In allowing Sister Aloysius to get away with what she did and ending the movie like this only reminds the viewer of how messed up the world is today; I watch movies in an effort to escape that. What a waste of two hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Message of Profound Importance Delivered by a Brilliant Ensemble

    DOUBT succeeds on every level - from the fine transference of Patrick Shanley's play to the screen (Shanley wrote the play, the screenplay, and directs) to the atmospheric cinematography excursion through the Bronx of the mid 1960s to the detailed delineation of the characters by Meryl Streep, Viola Davis, Amy Adams, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, and even young Joseph Foster, to the careful editing. It would be difficult to imagine a finer cast, here cast in roles counter to their usual types, bringing such power to the poetry of Shanley's lines.

    The story is well known by now (the dismissal of a progressive priest by a crotchety old Catholic school principal over a false rumor and all the 'doubt ' that brings into play in every character), but multiple viewings of this film intensify the humanity of each of the characters and demonstrate just how fine a writer Shanley is. The subject matter is difficult at first but the manner in which each of these superb actors (under the guidance of Shanley's direction) explore the effects of spite and loathing and forgiveness shares some of the finest ensemble acting in years. Recommended. Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    CAPTIVATING

    For anyone who attended Catholic school in the the early '60s, this movie will hit even a more prolific note. This is an excellent movie, with excellent script, acting and direction. Meryl Streep hits the Mother Superior role dead on, from the NY accent, to those looks only nuns can give, she is every Catholic school boys nightmare. Viola Davis is pivitol in her 10 minutes on screen, and the interplay between she and Streep is what makes movie moments. The story holds you until the very end, in which the word "doubt" encounters a whole new meaning. This movie should have won Best Picture, it contains all the elements and they are all in sync. A GREAT MASTERPIECE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Shanley scores, both as writer and director.

    When I think of a romantic writers, one writer always makes the top 10 list. That would be John Patrick Shanley. Even in his "serious" efforts, there is always an underlying romantic vein.

    That is just one reason why it is so particularly nice to see an effort like DOUBT.

    DOUBT, written and directed by Shanley, is very good movie, because the writer not only keeps getting better with each subsequent work, but as a director as well.

    Shanley directs his movie, with a sure hand. He knows and likes his subjects, especially his lead character.

    And Meryl Steep is wonderful as the lead character in this movie about a Catholic school sister (early 60s), who thinks that a priest has made sexual overtures to an altar boy.

    Streep digests her characters, makes them her own and then, rather than go off with some wild idea about who the character should be, always seems to respect the writer and stays true to the writer's vision of who that character is.

    Amy Adams, Viola Davis and Philip Seymour Hoffman also lend their fine talents to DOUBT.

    I found this to be an excellent movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2