BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Down Periscope

Average Rating 5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    Great Comedy

    I bought this for my father since he loved it and is a Navy veteran. He could actually relate to some of the crazy antics that are done in this movie since he was stationed at obscure bases all over the world. I highly recommend this comedy to military vets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    great movie

    very funny,Kelsey Grammer is always fun to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Old Movie! New Jokes!

    This movie may be old and be considered by many younger people as "old" but this movie makes up for that factor in many aspects. The acting in this movie was hilarious. The jokes in this movie never get old and at any awkward moment (within your family) are good to quote (they work in mine) and it gets everyone laughing. This movie will make you laugh your socks off with constant streams of jokes - one after the other. Jokes that never get old after the second watching. I would recommend this movie for 12 year olds and up as there is some rude humor but still - GREAT MOVIE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bilges Wiped Slick

    Thurs: 12 april 2007 many might not believe it, but this bunch of comical derelicts are the type that really do "make it happen" !!! this one will strike a chord with guys that have been at sea, more so than those that have not!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh yeah!

    Great movie, if not entirely accurate. I loved the way the crew burst out laughing when the XO (a lieutenant-yeah right!) asked Lt. Cdr. Dodge to turn over command to him. Five out of Five!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    5+ DVD PLEASE

    Great movie! Especially when the children bring all thier friends over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2003

    We love Navy movies

    Loved it!!! We want it on DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    What a Laugh

    One of the best comides I have ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2003

    Waiting for DVD

    I taped this movie off a premium channel years ago. I love it and rewatch it often. I will not buy it until it comes out on DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2003

    PLEASE DVD PLEASE

    Great film, very funny. The film grows on you and is fun to watch several times to pickup some of the little ways they setup the running jokes. Even if you are not easily moves to laughter, by the time the sub ''goes silent'' for Buckman's untimely gas, well from there on it's got you. We too have watched it many times. The tape is now unusable. Please press the DVDs. My guess is it will be a much larger seller than anyone expects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    a very very funny film

    the best film i have ever seen (brilliant) why this film is not on dvd i will never know, please someone bring it out on dvd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2003

    I WANT THE DVD!

    This is a great movie and my sons watches it all the time. When will the DVD come out??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2003

    Has me rolling on the floor laughing!!!!

    Like some others who have rated this movie. It is a darn shame it has not been put on DVD yet! I would snap it up in a heartbeat! Better then McHales Navy ever was. I think a sequel is in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    Where is the DVD

    I am still looking and hoping this will come out on DVD! It is a great comedy and I am sure the demand for DVD would make it profitable, I know I would grab it as fast as I could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2003

    WE WANT THE DVD!!!

    This is one of, if not, the funniest movies I've ever seen however, I am ruining my VHS copy by watching it sooo much. I WANT THE DVD!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2003

    WE WANT THE DVD!!!

    I have the laserdisk version, and like the others here, am also impatiently waiting for the DVD to be released... can't wait, great movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    Hilarious and Outstanding Navy flick!

    I watch this movie whenever possible. I have it on VHS; however, would love to buy my Navy son, the DVD. Please release this terrific comedy soon. K

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2003

    Lots of laughs

    This was a very funny movie. I laughed like crazy. I love to root for the underdog and this time they won. I have to have this movie on DVD, but cannot find anywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2002

    VHS is out

    This is the funniest movie we have seen in years. The night we attended the theater for our first viewing we decided this is a must have movie. VHS is obsolete, when you provide on DVD---let us know so we can purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    Very Funny Navel Comedy

    Down Periscope is so funny. I watch every time it is on tv. I only wish they put it on DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2