Customer Reviews for

Down With Love

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awful movie.

    this was a awful,awful movie. it was a spoof on Doris Day movie but it is a must miss movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    amusing

    This movie brought me back to the old Doris Day films I watched with my Mom when I had a sick day from school....The director really captured the unrealistic flavor of the era and the actors brought it home. I laughed so much thinking about how much my mom fell for this stuff. A fun trip in time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST. MOVIE. EVER. HANDS DOWN.

    Down With Love is smart and hilarious with outrageous sex jokes, and unparalleled direction. The costumes are unique, the sets are amazing, and the performances are the best of both main actors, as well as their respective best friends. Well worth the buy, a thousand times over!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    a '50's romantic comedy for the new millenium

    If you were dragged to the theater by your parents in the late '50s, early 60s to see the any Rock Hudson/Doris Day movie...AND LIKED THEM, then you will enjoy this romantic comedy rip-off, off all the RH/DD movies, mostly "Pillow Talk." The movie even features regular Tony Randall in a brief cameo. Renee is NO Doris, but Ewan is a fairly good Rock. It is a light fluff story, with over the top late 50s/early 60s decor, clothing and design. Visually stunning, story line predicable and fun...just fun, fun, fun. However, if you have a feeling for the original, do get the 3 disc Rock/Doris set with all the movies. It is worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the most fun movies ever!

    This movie is a cute and funny homage to the Doris Day/Rock Hudson movies of the early 1960s but has been updated with modern sensibilities. The dialog is clever and funny. The costumes and set design are to die for and will make any interior design buff/fashionista drool all over themselves. The music is perfect for the time period and the song used in the closing credits, as sung by MacGregor and Zellweger, is just the perfect finishing touch to this awesome romantic comedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awful

    the only good part of this movie was ewan mcgregor, but even he couldn't save it from falling on its face. seriously, i am a movie fanatic in general, and it takes a really bad movie for me to lose interest or get aggravated, and i did. i almost left the theatre when i saw this film. i wouldn't recommend it at ALL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Favorite Kind of Movie!

    This is a great flick.... Very well done, with a great timless story and beautiful vibrant scenes!! A great love story!! I LOVE IT!! Did i mention i love this movie? ~Camille, Dallas, TX

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Up With This Movie!

    This film is functionally a remake of 1964¿s ¿Sex and The Single Girl¿ given a special ¿Austin Powers¿ spin, and updated to make it a little more Politically Correct. There are funny nods to the old Doris Day/Rock Hudson film tradition, and all the cultural touchstones for the period are spot-on. The movie is funny, appealing, and a great story with a nice, solid plot twist near the end. SPECIAL NOTE: Men, watch this film! Despite the lack of explosions and gunfire, the movie is really very funny. Better still, Renée Zellweger is a bombshell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    maybe only for some

    I personally loved this movie. I like the goals of the blonde played by Rene Zelwigger (thank god she's not running for office and a write in canidate)(business before love, not to confuse love with sex), I like movies from the 50s to begin with so I thought the time period of it was cute. However, the were some surprising twists that could have been left out that detracted from the flow of the movie, and some other faults that you would have to be forgiving of in order to enjoy the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''Austin Powers'' meets ''When Harry Met Sally''

    This movie is cute and fun. It continuously makes fun of itself, the whole genre, and that fossy 60's style. The music score is perfect

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1