Customer Reviews for

Dr. Seuss's How the Grinch Stole Christmas

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Love It!

    It is already a holiday classic for my kids.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    very funny!

    oh jim carry as the grinch is so funny although litte children may be scared to watch this movie cause i'll admit he is pretty freaky but this movie is just as good as the cartoon film by Dr Seus the older grinch movie but like i said young kids may fear the grinch still in all its a pretty good movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Easily One of the Best Holiday Movies Ever!

    Typically I'm not a big Jim Carrey fan but as the Grinch I can't think of anyone better. The movie is wonderfully adapted from both the book and the tv cartoon of the same title. I highly recommend this movie to all who enjoy holiday films and enjoy Dr. Seuss!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great!!!

    the best remade movie by far i laughed through the whole thing!!jim carrey was great as the grinch i watch it all the time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Grinchiful Show

    The Grinch is the most ''Grinchiful'' movie for the whole family!!! My complements to Jim Carrey who did great on playing the Grinch!!!! The movie is just as great as the Dr.Seuss book!!!! Cool!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    How The Grinch stole the audience!

    It was a great movie. Good actors, special effects, good director, ITS A MOVIE ALL WILL LOVE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GRINCHY GRINCH!!!

    This movie is funny and with action BUY THIS PRUDUCT RIGHT NOW!!!It has joy full songs too!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Absolute Classic!!

    Ron Howard has done it again. This rendition of the Seuss classic you will want to watch again and again. Jim Carrey outdoes even himself portraying the Grinch, and the set of Whoville is absolutely amazing. All characters are perfectly cast, and the story is as touching as ever. Dr. Seuss would have been proud to view this film. The DVD is also loaded with extras, you'll be popping this baby in your DVD player every christmas, and probably even more frequently than that......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great!

    This DVD is great! Jim Carrey shows the best of his acting in this movie. Every last bit from who-ville to the Grinch's cave are just as everyone pictured them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazingly wonderful

    The 17 minute cartoon I loved as a child is now available in modern technical color! I admit, I was concerned. How would they possibly make this entertaining for 2 hours? But they did! The story is true to the original, but richer and fuller. Christine Baranski is beautiful, Molly Shannon is hillarious, and of course, Jim is wonderful too. If you ever wondered what the true meaning of Christmas is, because you are too tired, too cranky, too stressed or just feel like everything is too much - put your feet up and take a breather as you watch this show!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good good good good

    dr seuss how the grinch stole christmas is a very good movie a good decoration with a good special special effects im a big fan of dr seuss and horror movies

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Deserves 10 Stars

    All aspects of this movie are superb: acting, direction, script, make-up, special effects, musical score, etc. When I first heard of a live-action Grinch, I cringed. Why would anyone want to mess with a classic? Then I heard Jim Carey was to play the Grinch. I thought, if there is one man who can pull this off, it's Carey. As I sat in the theater watching the movie, I could only think one thing - ''This IS the Grinch.'' Ron Howard and Jim Carey were able to capture the essence of the Christmas classic we've come to know and love. The rest of the cast only add to that magic, creating a truly wonderful movie experience. I predict this movie will join ''It's A Wonderful Life'', ''Rudolph, The Red-Nosed Reindeer'' and ''Frosty, The Snowman'' as one of the all-time Christmas treasures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    No heart

    If this movie were a stand alone peice, it wouldn't be bad, but here is the problem: We all have watched the classic cartoon Grinch. The great part about that story is the Grinch finds redemption because of the eternal goodness, and uplifting spirit of the Who's. However, in this film, the Who's are materialistic, narsassistic, asses. Most are so horribly mean to the Grinch as a child and as an adult, you don't fault him for stealing thier Christmas. You hope they all find coal in thier espective stockings. This makes his change of heart less satisfying because we all agree the Who's don't deserve kindness (except for Mary Lou Who of coarse). Again, as a stand alone, zany Jim Carrey vehicle, it's fine, but as a heartfelt holiday classic, it has no pulse.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    FUN FOR ALL THE FAMILY

    Inventive, theatrical and Jim Carrey is wonderful in the 'Grinch'role. OTT but fun for all the family. Something you can watch time and time again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Okay, but not recommended for little kids.

    All though this movie was very funny, I don't recommend it for little kids who get scared of the dark and/or monsters very easily. First, the Grinch's menacing appearance will HORRIFY younger viewers. There were scary moments with the Grinch and the Whos. There was a LOT of crude humor, most of them I did not even think were funny... more like DISGUSTING. Its been a few years since I've seen it, so I can't remember every single detail. But, I think you should check on www.screenit.com and see for yourself whether its appropriate or not. But, what I do appreciate though about this movie is the message: Christmas is more than just the presents and fancy lights. Christmas, they say, is "a little something more." The thing that bothered me is that they never tell us what that "something" is. And, I could tell you: Jesus. Christmas is a very important holiday, because it celebrates the birth of Christ. So, I know Christmas is not till MONTHS and MONTHS from now, but still remember what the true meaning of Christmas is really about.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nightmare

    I felt like the movie was a bad dream, the director must have eaten some bad pizza and came up with the movie. There was some raunchy adult humor that, while it goes over the children's heads, it is offensive to adults. I went to the movie with my husband and son, hoping for a good, clean family film, and walked away with a very bad taste in my mouth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    grinchy grinch

    i think this is a really good movie. it has a lot of humor to it and has a story along. but i don't like one of there scenes when grinch takes a burning hot metal thing and puts it in his mouth to cool it down. it could give kids the wrong idea of what to do with a hot thing. but anyway it is a good movie to watch on the holidays.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie stinks big time.

    This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Ron Howard has shown in this one that something lovable like Suess can not be re-created. Jim Carrey has proven in this movie that he can't be directed. He goes off on all these tangents that have nothing to do with the story or plot, and the editors think ''Heh, heh, that's funny, another f**t joke, put it in. Heh, heh.'' The longest hour and a half that I ever sat through.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    how the grinch stole christmas

    I think this title is perfect for the movie. It explains what the movies going to be about or at least gives you a prediction of it. I like the way this title pops out at me, How the Grinch Stole Christmas. It makes me want to see the movie again and again. This movie is about a Grich who hates christmas and is trying to take it away from whoville. Its a really good story and shows kids that christmas is important, and is a loving, family and friends time of the year. This title displays a sense of excitement but then again, it shows saddness, because someone is trying to take away one of the happiest holidays of the year.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2