Customer Reviews for

Dreamgirls

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie!

    I saw it when it first came out and thought the movie was fantastic. I've watched movie musicals since I was a kid, but this was one of the first times I had ever wanted to buy the soundtrack afterwards. Jennifer Hudson's performance was great, and it's easy to see why she won an Oscar. As for Eddie Murphy, even though he didn't win an Oscar, he won just about every other award out there. He really showed me something - I guess all those impersonations he's known for doing really paid off. Bottom line - if you want a movie that will make you feel good, and if you enjoy good music, then getting this movie is exactly what you need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dreamgirls

    Great incredible movie with excellent performances.. Loved the great songs. Happy Jennifer Hudson received so many well deserved awards. Felt bad for Eddie Murphy. He also deserved an award also. This is an collectable item.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ABSOLUTELY PHENOMENAL

    I watched Jennifer Hudson win all the awards for her performance in this movie -- The Golden Globe, Screen Actor's Guild, Oscar and on and on. For someone with no formal acting training, she was amazing. When she sings, I get the chills and cried during "And I am telling you...." What an incredible movie. Eddie Murphy should have won the Oscar too but unfortunately, Norbit came out and ruined his chances with the conservative Academy. Bad timing. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It's powerful. Please see it. Simon Cowell on American Idol truly does not know what he is talking about some of the time. I was so mad when Jennifer Hudson got voted off, due in part to Cowell's comments. Take that Cowell !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ultra amazing!

    this was an amazing movie musical! it was completely on fire the whole time! I am in love w/ musicals, but my friends who aren't as interested in musicals really loved it! its a great movie for anyone! Jeniffer Hudson totally deserved the golden golbe and oscar for the movie! GO SEE IT! U WON'T REGRET IT!!!!! =]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "Hands Down, THE BEST Musical I've ever seen on Film!!!"

    I had the opportunity to see this great film with my twin brother Eddie, and my cousin, Jennifer, and we Loooved it!!! All the performances were phenomenal-particularly, Jennifer Hudson and Eddie Murphy's performances stole the show! Ms.Hudson was truly deserving of the academy award for best-supporting actress, while Murphy should've won the award for best supporting actor! Nevertheless, I plan on purchasing this DVD on May 1st to add to my growing DVD collection! "Dreamgirls" is definitely a keeper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a truly great film

    This is one of the few movies that actually lives up to its hype, and there was an enormous amount of hype. Seeing as Grease is the only musical I've ever liked, I wasn't necessarily aching to see this. However, the energy of this movie is very contagious and its magic sticks with you long after it's over. This is the type of movie that you could watch ten times in a row and still enjoy. It goes without saying that it's filled with some of the best performances in memory, as well as excellent directing, songs, etc etc... the list goes on. I honest can't think of anything negative to say... some say that it lags a bit towards the middle, but I think the downtime really serves the overall pacing of the film. I would recommend this film to anyone looking for a good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dream come true

    I really underestimated this movie for the longest time, until i broke down and rented it. Jeez, do i regret not seeing it sooner. This movie was outstanding! Even Jennifer Hudson amazed me. Every minute got better, even when the movie turned bitter. Those chills you get at plays from the great performances, i got at home. This was not hollywood-ized either. this is up there with Chicago!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I never saw this at the theatre, now wish I had. I just viewed this at home and LOVE it! Fast paced, non stop entertainment. The cinematography is outstanding, as are all the performances. I got the deluxe edition with all the extras, like the costume design, lighting design and auditions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1