Customer Reviews for

Drive

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting

    Good movie. The acting, suspense and camera work was really good. Love the music.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    I liked it a lot. The soundtrack was eerie and fit the film perf

    I liked it a lot. The soundtrack was eerie and fit the film perfectly. Is there a soundtrack available?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    Great movie. Brilliant. Gosling's best work yet. 

    Great movie. Brilliant. Gosling's best work yet. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    Nicholas Winding Refm¿s films are mostly crime dramas characteri

    Nicholas Winding Refm’s films are mostly crime dramas characterized by violent, aggressive action scenes and sharp contrasts in lighting and color. Drive does not fall far from his signature style. The style of drive is a cool, bright, and polished 80s themed atmosphere combined with a dreamlike and surreal aura. It’s hard to find an area of the film that doesn’t contribute to the overall polished and otherworldly ambience of the film. There are moments in drive that contain extremely graphic violence, which is even more emphasized by its tranclike and tension-building plot development. Ryan Gosling shines in this film; his portrayal of the Driver carries the ambience of the film and sets the tone for the storyline as the plot develops. Overall, Drive is one of the most interesting and beautifully crafted films to hit the big sceen in quite a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    piece of junk couldnt give it no stars so 1 will do

    the only redeming factor to this movie was the mild violence, I want my time back I wasted on this p.o.s. Thanks again hollywood for ripping me out of my hard earned money.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ultra cool and over the top violent but very, very romantic!

    I was shocked by some of the intense violence in this movie. Even more shocked that I loved the film. From the very first moments of the movie, Gosling was intense and impossible to take your eyes off. The relationship between Gosling's Driver and Carey Mulligan's Irene is so sweet, and romantic. The scene where they drive the LA River basin with A Real Hero by College is one of the highlights of the movie. Goslings grin makes you smile and smile. And he's pretty good with a hammer too.
    A powerful film from Nicholas Winding Refn which should have been one of the Academy Award nominees for Best Film of 2011.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Drive is gonna be in my Drive for a while!

    "Drive" is an interesting film, its almost cinema minus the film, lots of emotive long shots of people staring at one another, but this is somewhat the "Cinema's" problem as well. "Drive" was subject to what is likely one of the worst marketing campaigns in history, if you watch any of the trailers you'll likely get the idea the film is an Action Packed affair, with lots of Killing, Fast Cars, and a bit of romance. That is unfortunately pretty innacurate the film has, and I say this with caution knowing it can be taken good or bad, an incredibly slow pace. For the first 45 minutes or so aside from a brief opening clip there isn't much action or driving at all like I said you can consider that good or bad but I'm just telling you that's how it is. There really isn't that much Action/Violence in this film only about 10 or so instances, now I know your thinking "that sounds like a lot" but its really not, you go watch almost any other R rated "Action" film(I.E. "The Expendables", "Training Day", "Predators" etc)and you will find many more instances. That being said most of the violence in this film, such as the now famed "Elevator Scene" is pretty graphic so I wouldn't be showing it to a Preschooler, but its probably okay for most Older "Mature" teens, that being said a lot of the characters behave very poorly(Driver hits a woman, most of the Male Characters swear at their discretion) so that should be taken into account, but c'mon its an R Rated movie wadd'ya expect? Back to my main point the film's style is depending on how you look at it either its biggest success or its biggest failure, so long as you bare with it and dont expect people to be dying every five seconds you should be fine. I personal was irritated that the marketing campaign portrayed it as something it clearly isn't, but I came to enjoy it nonetheless. Also I would like to warn you that the Ending is somewhat ambigious so dont expect your typically happy ending, its not depressing but its open to interpretation. The film's soundtrack is also quite good giving it a somewhat 80's techno'ish feeling. To sum up "Drive" is an odd little piece of Cinema that will be enjoyed by some and hated by others, but as the Emotional Drama that it is I enjoy it tremendously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1