Customer Reviews for

Dune

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fan of Dune

    The special effects are great and so are the little known actors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Good mini-series.

    This is Scifi channel's version of Dune from a couple of years ago. I liked this mini-series alot. I have never read any of the books but I enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The New Dune Movie

    This version of the movie is better than the old version. It contains many scenes from the original film that weren't in it hence the 4 and a half hours of movie comparable to the 2 hours and 17 minutes of the original. In my opinion having seen the old movie first and having read the entire Dune series I think the way this movie was made is better than the old movie however I disliked the costumes and actors for this version. I thought the actors in the old version captured the feel for the movie better. The costumes in this version of the movie are much too flamboyant compared with the book and old film. The only acception to the actors is that I liked the Baron Harkonnen in this film version better as he was not so disgusting like the Baron from the first film. All in all though a very good and thorough film experience. A must see for all sci-fi fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I really enjoyed this version of ''Dune''

    This version of the SF classic ''Dune'' was good. Of course no film version could capture the complexity of the book, but the mini series did capture the broad texture of Frank Herbert's classic pretty well. I found it engrossing and very enjoyable, and I think most viewers will be intrigued and want to read the book after seeing the mini series. I strongly recommend this version. I feel it captured the feel of the book well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2001

    Dune fans will enjoy this one

    A better effort than Lynch was able to put into it. This version is more true to the book. Comparing this version to Lynch's is like comparing the original Moby Dick to the newer TV mini-series version. Both are excellent and very enjoyable to watch however, it is difficult to accept change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2000

    Dune is Done Right.

    The mini-series covered the story without slowing it down with all the details that the book can afford. Like the saying, ''short and neat''. The best of both book and film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2000

    Much closer to the true story than Lynch's movie

    I truly enjoyed the latest attempt to bring Herbert's vision of Dune to the screen (even if it was the small screen). Although there were lapses in the original details, they covered more than Lynch was able to do. Lynch took a little too much literary license in making his film. Giving the story four and a half hours allows more of the details to be revealed. Afterward I was still wondering if they could have added various items or explanations that would have provided more background to the newer memebers to the Dune universe. This is part of the difficulty of trying to bring a very detailed and involved story to the medium of video. I do applaud the effort!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2000

    A Definite Buy

    An explaination:<br> I read the original books cover-to-cover, including the Chapterhouse Dune sequence, Brian Herbert's additions, and the notes of Herbert. <br> The David Lynch version disappointed me, even though I liked Blue Velvet (another Lynch film). The special effects lacked, and it was clearly made before its time. <br> At first, I aimed for another disappointing film, and as some fans know, this film does start off on the wrong foot. <br> Without giving anything away, I can safely say that this is a purchase I am willing to make. I consider this adaptation to be one of the greatest victories in modern book-to-film adaptation. That's right; even though the screenplay isn't verbatim copy from the book, it presents a more believable and acceptable world. Not only that, but Lynch didn't know Dune like these guys do. All the film-makers on this project were obvious fans of the series. <br> Four stars and a raised mug to this triumph of a film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2000

    Great mini-series

    It was a great mini-series, better than the the origional film by David Lynch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1