Customer Reviews for

Edward Scissorhands

Average Rating 5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Edward Scissorhands

    I love this movie and wanted it for my daughter. I wanted my daughter to see how not to prejudge someone just because they don't look the "norm".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you haven't seen it, you must now.

    For the very few that never saw this movie, need to see it immediately. This movie is such a great movie to observe the different kinds of people and how easily we turn someone into the villain. Johnny Depp does a wonderful job as well as Winnna Ryder, Dianne West, and Anthony Michael Hall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS IS A GREAT MOVIE!!!

    Edward Scissorhands is an absolute classic. Directed by the brilliant mind of Tim Burton, this bizarre tale takes place during the late 50's early 60's in a small suburb. Of course Tim couldn't resist anything short of crazy for this town, as all the houses are brightly colored, almost identical in shape and structure, and nothing short of amazing. The town itself with its bright colors and cheerful design sharply contrast that of the mansion on the hill, where we begin the movie. Inside the dark mansion, we meet the Inventor; played by the brilliant Vincent Price who creates a human out of loneliness, who is fully functional, save for the temporary substitution of scissors for the human's hands. Edward (epically played by Johnny Depp), as he is later known by, is discovered by Peg Boggs(Dianne Wiest), a travelling Avon saleswoman, who desperate for a sale, cruises up to the dark mansion at the top of the hill. Peg takes Edward home where he soon meets the beautiful Kim (Wynonna Ryder), and her ignorant boyfriend Jim. At first, and throughout most of the movie, Edward is accepted by the community because of his unique abilities with his Scissorhands (haircutting, dog grooming, landscaping) But his lack of completion, due to his creators death, becomes his undoing. He is convinced to help Jim break into Jim's house in order to steal some money for Jim and Kim, where he is abandoned as the police arrive. From this point, Edward starts to turn for the worst. The climatic shift comes during Christmas Eve, where Edward, while climbing down from an ice sculpture, accidentally cuts Kim's hand. Jim then tells off Edward, which infuriates him. Edward then goes on a rampage, destroying the same creations he once made for the town. He is eventually chased back up to the mansion, where he and Jim have a dramatic fight scene resulting in Jim's death. Kim, also present at the mansion, kisses Edward, and walks out of the mansion with a scissor contraption and claims that both Edward and Jim died when the roof collapsed. Overall, Edward Scissorhands is an excellently performed, amazingly designed movie that should be watched by everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    just watched this movie for the first time at my friend's house. it was great! johnny depp did an awesome job playing edward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my top 10

    Good, but weird film that really sparked my interest because of it's director Tim Burton. He just can't really make a bad or terrible movie. Usually, he always hits a home run with his films. This is also Johnny Depp's film role.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Hot Guy with scissorhands? That's hot.

    Ok, so I just watched this movie today for the very first time in my life and I fell in love with it. People it will make you cry your eyes off..if you have a soft mushy chick flick side like me.I loved how Johnny portrayed the role of Edward and he did a fantastic job. It makes me wish they would make a sequal to it now...like that's gonna happen. Oh well...it's nice to dream.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Touching

    I love this movie. Johnny Depp was wonderful with Winona Ryder. I remeber seeing this movie when I was little and liking it. One of the few who loved it before they (I) knew who the heck Johnny was. More importantly this movie can teach you about life. Two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WHATS THERE TO SAY?

    wow doi love this movie. i have made all my friends watch this movie and they loved it too. i will never forget the scene in the end where kim tells edward that she loves him.he has never been told that in his life. you WILL get tears in your eyes, even if your as tough as me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Most Wonderful Thing Ever Seen On Screen!!!

    Edward is portrayed as a real outsider trying to belong, but once you've seen the whole movie, for women especially, you see this handsome, sweet gentle man and you just fall in love with him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    my fave movie

    i love this movie from the bottom of my heart it's very touching and funny....very sad but it has an amazing cast(johny depp as edward,the man that can't touch anything wtithout destrying it,winona ryder as kim the girl he love and vincent price(rip) the man who invented edward)....watch this movie and love it like i do

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i love this movie, its basically flawless!!!...a perfect flick

    i saw edward scissorhands as a young child, and thought it was great.but now that im older and into movies, i appreciate it more. never has a movie been funny, sad, happy,etc. all mixed up with tim burton's dark filmmaking. and YES it made me cry, with just two little words at the end, nothing has ever moved me more than this movie,its perfect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tim Burton's Best

    This is Tim Burton's best film. I love it. This movie is sweet, scary and hilarious. The music is wonderful, and is a work of art all on its own. When Tim Burton and Danny Elfman get together, they make something that just cant be explained in words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfect...

    This is my favorite movie. I bought the DVD without seeing it first because I knew I would like it. And I was right! This story is very emotional because most people can relate to Edward: the person who wants so desprately to fit in but never can. He loves everything, but hurts whatever he touches. He wants people to see him for what he is and not what he looks like (his hands). This film is very personal to Tim Burton, because he felt what Edward felt for most of his life. It's not all sad though, a lot of this movie is pretty funny. It made me laugh out loud. The music by Danny Elfman is wonderful, and Johnny Depp did a perfect acting job. Watch this movie, you'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesomest Movie EVER!

    I rented this movie, and I watched it 11 times in those 10 days (I rented it twice!). I cried every time I watched it, and I don't cry for just anything! I bought the soundtrack, and since I watched the movie so many times, the movie just rteplays in my head as i listen. The music is very beautiful and has alot of emotion. I LOVE THIS MOVIE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Fable of True Creativity

    This movie was the second Johnny Depp movie I saw after Pirates of the Caribbean. I truly fell in love with him by the end of this movie. The soundtrack is unbelievable. I listen to it every day! I rented this movie for a week. By the time I had to return it, I bought the movie, and I had seen it over twenty times(Trust me, I counted)! Johnny Depp is truly an amazing actor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Unusual Fairytale

    This movie is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Johnny Depp is my all time favorite actor and this movie shows how greatly talented he is. This is a heartwarming fairytale. It made me laugh and cry and the soundtrack is absolutly beautiful. If you are a true Johnny Depp fan you need to see this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Was Johnny Depps First Grate Movie

    Even though I have only seen this movie once when i was really young I still remember. It was funny and sad and also frightening. (I accually was kind of scared at first). When he gave all the dogs the haircuts I laughed really hard because it was funny. And the end was really scary too because he killed the guy and he fell out the window that scared the tar out of me. Johnny Depp was really good in this film portraying a man with no hands. Another funny part was when Edward Sissorshand got all the face cream on his face and he looked really funny. All in all this was a really good movie and really good acting to it. The brain would probably have something to say but he wasn't here so Its just me Pinky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Fairy Tale All It's Own

    The dark scenes, the resonating light effects, the props, and the directing. Tim Burton makes another startling movie of gothic film noir perportions. The camera work in the ice sculpting scene was well done, it presents itself in an almost kinetic form. This movie is mainly famous for it's incredulous acting done by the then rookie, Johnny Depp. Depp was able to create a character that seemed hideous and repulsive, but he won the audiences' hearts over by creating emotion for his character, he is understandable. The dreamlike state and perposeful fakiness make the real star the director, Tim Burton. Burton creates a modern fairytale in ways no one could possibly comprehend, he blends cult film status with morality lessons and he has his painting. This movie will live on in the hearts of millions, just like E.T. did a decade ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Fantastical Tale

    This quite possibly, in my opinion, is the greatest fairy tale ever told. There is nothing but pure beauty and splendor in this film. It shows you how disgusting civilization can be and how it can take away from innocence. Tim Burton is one of the few genious filmmakers and I'm thankful he made this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Family of Johnny Depp movie-watchers

    If our whole family had to pick one actor that we spend the most time watching, Johnny Depp wins, hands down. My son, E.T was born in 1990, and grew up watching it (nice to have a 10th Anniversary Edition!). My husband and I grab every film he makes for our library. This is a favorite Depp flick of all time. The cast was great, the story was fairy-tale like, but you would believe anything Johnny Depp did on screen. Even though this is one of Depp's first films, it is one showcasing his many talents and characteristics of the Oscar winner he will indeed be in the very near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6