Customer Reviews for

Elizabeth: The Golden Age

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    HORRAY FOR THE QUEEN!

    TERRIFIC SEQUEL---I ENJOED IT TREMENDOUSLY---SINCE MY PURCHASE, I HAVE VIEWED IT OVER 30 TIMES!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best time piece film I have seen

    I absolutely loved this movie. I am not one to normally watch time pieces but I was drawn to this movie specially after it had won an Oscar. The music to this movie, the costumes, the flow..etc etc I absolutely LOVED, enough to actually come on here and purchase the DVD. For me to buy a DVD I have to love it enough to watch it more than once.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Visual Feast, A Tedious Film

    ELIZABETH: THE GOLDEN AGE isn't golden. Expectations were high after Cate Blanchett's first foray in 1998 as Elizabeth I, but somehow this follow-up film, with the same director (Shekhar Kapur) and writer (Michael Hirst with assistance from William Nicholson), does not reach those heights. Visually stunning, with an endless array of knockout costumes for Blanchett, special effects and scenery as majestic as any that have been photographed by fine cinematographer Remie Adefarasin and a musical score by Craig Armstrong and AR Rahman - all of these fine attributes cannot cover the weak script and the general lack of character development that hampers the usually exceptional core of actors. The portion of Elizabeth's history covered by the film is the battle with Spain, England being the only country not participating in the Holy War in Europe under the direction of King Philip II of Spain (Jordi Mollà), complete with the surprise decimation of the approaching Spanish Armada due to the heroism and commitment of Elizabeth with her people. The surrounding events include Elizabeth's dalliance with Sir Walter Raleigh (Clive Owen) and the traumatic (for Elizabeth) beheading of Mary Stuart (Samantha Morton), under the advisement of Elizabeth's trusted Sir Francis Walsingham (Geoffrey Rush). Blanchett is a consummate actress and manages to inhabit the persona of Elizabeth as much with her glances and body language and silences as with the meager material from the script. She IS a Queen reborn. The remainder of the cast is adequate though shallow, and while each has very little to say they maintain an atmosphere of Elizabethan England. This is a DVD that could well be watched without the soundtrack and still be entertaining for the visual splendors. It could have been so much more. Grady Harp

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Cate Blanchett has done it again!

    Not only is this a great conclusion to the first movie Elizabeth, it is an action packed adventure into the life of a woman who changed England's history forever. While the first movie was more of a romance, this one is full of action, love and war. While it is not a family movie as it has a lot of sexual content and graphic war scenes, it is a great movie! Kudos to the director for making the life of Elizabeth I so interesting and keeping you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Elizabeth through Indian Eyes

    Director Shekhar Kapur is executing the Indian ideology of trumping the British; however, India became an independent nation only because the British loved honor more than power and wealth. The Indians mimic the British, but never live up to standard. Nevertheless, the DVD is beautiful and it demonstrates the conflict in the Indian persona of mother-worship vs. virgin worship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    outstanding movie

    I find this a fascinating movie. I saw this BEFORE seeing the Elizabeth movie that came out by the same director before The Golden Age. After I saw that one, I liked the movie even more. Cate Blanchette is just so "English" in her performance. The scene where she inspires her troops, dressed in royal armor, I find captivating for some reason. I wonder if it's true? Regardless, the movie is visually stunning and memorable. I recommend to all that like period piece movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE IT!!

    a must see...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Sequel

    This is a great sequel to the first movie. Cate Blanchett is superb as Elizabeth. Clive Owen is sexy as Raliegh, and Geoffrey Rush gives an excellent performance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2