BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Equilibrium

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A fantastic story!

    In keeping with the tradition of futuristic dystopian societies Equillibrium excelles in bringing a fantastic philisophical and action packed tale to the screen. The movie is set in the future after a major world war that put the world into chaos. The solution they come to: eradicate all human emotion with a drug known as Equilibrium. The story borrows ideas from both Bradbury and Orwell in their novels combining both stories into a singular tour de force. The movie will attract the attentions of both action lovers and critical thinkers alike. The eligantly choreographed scenes of actions are reminescent of a sped up Matrix film. Bale gives an excellent performance in his portayal, though the rest can't be said for other cast members. Taye Diggs sorely stands out with his weak performance in the film. Casted more than likely as a pop culture token boy than an actual actor with skill. The direction in the film is done well, but not perfect. The settings and special effects do a good job of accurately reflecting the mood and time of the film. This plot is a timeless classic of intellectual thought dating back to the elder days of Plato and his perfect society. The movie will leave you questioning the future of mankind and the power of government. If you liked this movie I highly recommend you look into the books: Fahrenheit 451, 1984, and Brave New World.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie.

    This was definitely an awesome movie. It captures your attention. The acting was also amazing. The action scenes were also very well done. The movie is really great in all aspects considering its rather low budget. What I enjoyed most about the movie, besides Christian Bale, was the message. If you like movies that make you think, you must watch this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Equal to The Matrix

    This is one of most fascinating sci/fi films I've watched since Blade Runner. In fact it's now become my most favorite. There hasn't been a really well made sci/fi movie in ages, but this one has a great story line and cool action unlike any other. A must for a serious sci/fi buff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A professional critic

    I rated this with 4 stars which means recommended which is exactly what it is. I won't say it is a superberb movies because then you would see it and think it was a waste of time. What I will say is that it is worth seeing. I would have never been interested in watching it from the cover graphics and backside synopsis but it came recommended from a friend of a friend of a friend. My enjoyment of the film came mainly from a combination of low expectations, both from the fact that my friends said it was ok and the fact that I had never seen any previews before, + the fact it seemed a good combination of two classic books, Farenheit 451 and the Giver with improvments. There are some ridiculous action scenes but unlike the other reviewer, I was able to suspend my disbelief on the basis of the context of the movie. I do say that the end is rather predictable and, having had storytelling and television productio background, I would have done a little more with the ending. But, overall, it is worth seeing and even being a part of one's library. It has no inappropriate sensuality and only 4 profane words.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I finally got to see it...

    My friend had been telling me about how awesome this movie was but I wasn't aloud to see it, since it was rated R. Years later I saw it and was blown away! Christian Bale is an exellent actor, you could really see how his emotions and thoughts started to take over him. The plot is amazing too, not to mention the tons of action. Even though it's rated R, there is hardly any language and no profanity. Forget the Matrix, watch Equilibrium.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Matrix who?

    Christian Bale's performance in this movie was spectacular. Great fight scenes, dialogue, plot. "Forget the Matrix" the DVD case couldn't have said it better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Over the top performances!!!! fully packed with action!!!

    Who marketed this film? i totally agree with other reviewers: he should be fired on the spot!!! This is a great and stunning film that could have been an instant hit. It is much better and credible than matrix sequels. Mr. Bale is superb, 'as always'. This DVD now joins my exquisite collection!!!! i strongly recommended it :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Sci-Fi Classic

    I wanted to see this film in the theatres but I blinked and it was gone. After watching this film on DVD I was angry, very angry. It wasn't because I didn't like the movie but because of the people who marketed this film. They should be fired on the spot. This is an amazingly beautiful and moving film. Yes it borrows from other films but it does so lovingly. Take the bad film Charlie's Angels and you'll know what I mean. This is now one of my favorite films and should be in everyone's collection. The DVD itself is an excellent transfer with 5.1 Dolby. I wish it would have come with DTS though. There were no liner notes and no cast and crew biographies. It does come with a cool preview of ''kill Bill'' and I can't wait for that one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    One of the best movies ever released

    The acting is superb, the storyline great, and the martial arts out of this world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    okay film

    this is one of those movies with the story a bit weird or confusing but the fight scenes make up for it. pretty cool fight scenes and love bale and bean. this is the story of a world with no emotion and secretly there are people who think otherwise and plot. it was alright and i would rather watch this than the matrix any day since i don't like that film much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Depends on what you're looking for

    On one hand, this movie has the coolest gunfights I've seen in a long time, including all three of the matrix movies. The choreography is awesome, the camera doesn't move too quickly for you to watch it all, and just about every "wouldn't it be cool if . . ." moment I've ever thought of while watching another action movie (and tons that I never would have dreamt of) is included. On the other hand, the story is comically unoriginal. The screenplay is basically a combination of Farenheit 451 and 1984, without Bradbury or Orwell's sense of subtlety, and the main concept (that the government regulates people's emotions through a drug everyone is required to take) is so preposterous that I simply couldn't let go of my disblief long enough to get involved in the story. Even their attempt at a "twist" at the end is lame and over-used, and even if the viewer doesn't see it coming the first time he'll still probably be so distanced from the characters that it won't really shock him anyways. It pains me to give this movie such a low rating, because its action scenes simply ooze cool in a way that I've never seen before, but the lack of any originality whatsoever in the plot and characters kept me from getting into it. If you've never read anything by Ray Bradbury, George Orwell, or Phillip K. Dick, then this movie will blow you away. If you have, it will still be the best action movie you've seen in a long time, but you'll finish it feeling slightly unfulfilled

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    For you matrixhaters.

    For all of you Matrix-haters, heres something to chew on. Picture a movie with Matrix-like action, fight scenes to die for(literally) and a believable storyline. Thats what you'll find when you watch Equilibrium.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Equilibrium better than Matrix 2!

    After watching this movie I found that the Matrix 2 was dull in comparison. Only one part of Eqilibrium that may appear a little out there for sci-fi. But hey you can't have everything. Action, good story, and some great acting is what you will be getting with this movie. I would recommend it over the Matrix 2 any day. Trust me you will love it. I would veture to say that if any movie critic says this movie stinks, then I say you need your head examined.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Really great!

    Loved every minute of the movie. Saw it in theatres and have been waiting for it to come out and here it is. Even though it was a sleeper, it's a great movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Concept, but.........

    In theory, this concept of not being allowed to feel anything is a facinating idea. However, the movie is about 3 hours too long. The story does move incredibly slow, and it is so to the point of being painful. The way the movie moved, it was extremely painful to have to sit through it at a friend of mine's house. However, as I said, the concept was facinating, just didn't play out well in movie form.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Action Film with a Plot as well!

    This film is the best movie no one saw in 2002. For reasons unfathomable to film and action fans everywhere, Equilibrium was not marketed and was only played in a few theatres in a limited release. This film has some of the greatest action scenes in history. The acting and plot are done well too! This film is always compared to the The Matrix, although true action fans will realize they should not be. The Matris was all about great special effects, slow-down action, and wire-fu. Equilibrium is all about speed and style. Christian Bale is great, and the direction is wonderful. A few corny lines here and there, and sometimes the low budget does show through, but anyone who gives this film a chance will NOT be disappointed!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    If you liked the Matrix, you'll love this!

    This is excellent and entertaining masterpiece. It is a must see for any one who enjoys future-themed films. The action and the story keep you glued to the screen while the ending leaves you stunned and wanting to see more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    1984, THX-1138, Fahrenheit 451! The Gang's All Here!

    This film is a unique pastiche of Science Fiction. It seems to have taken from some of the finest literature and films that the Sci-Fi genre has produced and blended it all together with a nice twist of action and great camera work. I believe that this film really was in the shadow of grander projects like THE MATRIX, but that's not to say it's not as good. This is a surprisingly meaningful film with heart, and some good performances. Overall this film is a Sci-Fi fan's dream.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best action films ever.

    For those who've wanted their action movies packed with not only adrenaline-pumping gun battles and fight scenes, but also interesting plots and character development, Equilibrium is a dream come true. Christian Bale delivers a wonderful performance and the action sequences are seriously among the best ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    True Creativity is Unleased

    This movie as far as story is not as new as I was saying. But it's very good. The idea of the Gun-Kata is spectacular. They truely blended martial arts with guns. There is a lot of creativity with the action set ups. They were totaly fresh and unexpective for me. The acting was superb (Christian Bale once again proves that since American Phsyco). Any sci fi or action fan do yourself a favor and see this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2