BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Eragon

Average Rating 3.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Worst Film Ever Conceived By Humankind!

    This was the worst waste of film ever created! It completely tarnished the original story because it changed the plot of the book, resulting in an absolute horrific abomination that will stain the reputation of the film industry forever. The script was very poorly edited and did not stick to the book's plot. The overall film was way too short and did not give the audience a prolonged sense of excitement that an average film would give. Also, John Malkovich did not give the best impression of being Galbatorix, who was considered to be the greatest evil in the whole series while the guy who played Durza gave a more convincing evil demeanor. The acting was also terrible despite the fact that the film had an all-star cast. They should completely redo the movie so that they get it right next time, but Mr. Paolini does not lift a finger to make the movie as it should have been. I would highly recommend the books, but not this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This move sucks

    compleatly different from the book and ruins eragon completly<BR/>hope they remake it from a diffirent producer because if they acually read the book it could have been a lot better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Reviewer, extremely dissapointied

    I was So pumped About going to see the movie but after I got out of the theater I was like why did I pay money to see that horrible addaptaion of the book. I love the books but don't waste a dime on the movie. YUCK!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another dissapointment

    I didnt like this movie at all!!!!! None of the characters look right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    YUCK!!!!!!!

    I hated this movie! It was a complete insult to the fantastic book. I spent a whole year looking forward to the premier of this movie and it wasn't even PG-13. The story line just skipped all over the place, you could barley follow the plot, and it was set in a wrong setting. Eragon is not set in some primitive world of thatch huts that make up cities. They have actual buildings. It was such a gross interpretation that I could barley watch it. I can only hope that the people watching the movie don't think the books are anything like it because they are about 100 times better!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dreadful Adaptation

    Great book, horrible movie. It plays like a comic strip - no character development and an over-emphasis on special effects. It felt as if they were trying too hard to keep the movie short to hit a budget. I really do hope that the next book in the trilogy, Eldest, receives better treatment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    what?

    This was the worst interpration of a book movie I have ever scene so..so..so..disapointed!They left out so much and please the budget was real small on this why rush something like this book it was great but the movie just leaves a terrible taste in your mouth and I wonder if the director even read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Did Paolini have any say over the content?

    Movies often stray from the book, but this is as poor an example as can be found. Perhaps Paolini should have held out a bit longer for a better offer. Hopefully the next producers and director will do justice to the magnificent material the author has given to all of us. Lord of the Rings (the movie) was different from the books, but true to the plot and descriptions. Can someone give it another try??????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    First of all, let me say that though I read the book, that isn't the main reason for this review. Yes, from the standpoint of the novel it is a farce- aside from the first fifteen minutes it has absolutely nothing to do with the book. With the exception of Jeremy Irons (who is only in the first third or so) the acting is terrible, and the cgi is similar. Don't get me wrong- Saphira looks amazing- one of the best bits of cgi I've seen, but they blew their entire budget on her. The monsters were turned into low budget orcish barbarians (which in the book they are not) and the voice acting doesn't fit. Aside from that, the landscape looks nothing like it is supposed to, and the "Spine of the World" is a couple of hills. Looking at it without a comparison to the book, it is potentially worse. Keep in mind that the book was almost two inches thick, and that they wanted to put all of it into a relatively short movie. There is practically no character development, some scenes are stolen right out of Tolkien (and were not there in the book, so there is no excuse) and the acting is nonexistent. They actually took the volcanic caldera straight out of Return of the King and only put a new color scheme on it. The evil king Galbatorix (who serves no actual purpose) is thrown in for show, and the battles are just sad. If you are looking for a good piece of acting, story, or action, look elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    NOTHING like the book!

    I have read both the first books of the Trilogy and I have to say, the movie was HIGHLY disappointing. The storyline does not really follow the book, Sapphira was made to grow up MUCH too fast in the movies. Many important details which explain the entire story were left out and the flow of the plot is halted many times and not very convincing or conclusive. Very disappointed. Would never buy it much less watch it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    DID THEY READ THE BOOK!!!!

    All I have to say is WOW. Not wow as in, wow that was good, but wow as in wow that was the most terrible transition from a book to a movie I have ever seen in my 14 years of living. As soon as I saw Arya, I knew I was in for a terrible movie. It said about one hundred times in the book that Arya's hair was BLACK!! BLACK!!! And what color was it? RED!!! Also, Arya needed to be much taller and not so dependant. Arya is strong and feirce, like all the women in this book. She should not ever need to cry to Eragon for help. I can't believe they left out an incrediable scene between Arya and Eragon. Their first duel was amazingly described in the book and would have been amazing in the movie. Also, wasn't Farthen Dur supposed to be under ground? Yes,it was, and not in the tropical rainforest of the Amazon! And what happened to the dwarves? One of the most important groups in the story completly exiled from the movie. Also, shouldn't the princess of the Varden, and one of the most feared women in the world of Eragon have a more elaborat and beautiful style of hair than THAT? Clue, yes. And the vest Eragon wore through pratically the whole movie? Yeah, the same exact one is in my mothers closet. Tory Birch. We call it Eragon Chic. Word to the wise and word from the readers. As a die hard fan of The Inheritance trilogy, and a fantasy writer myself, I say READ THE BOOK!!!!! Don't let terrible acting and even worse writing scare you away. I'm personally sorry they destroyed your work like that, Christopher. SAPHIRA HAD FEATHERS!!!! WHAT KIND OF DRAGON HAS FEATHERS?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ugg

    I was so disappointed with this... I've read the book several times,even listened to the audio book "def. worth listening to, though the voice actor takes some getting used to" so i know it pretty well. the movie, as mentioned by others, was rushed. the lust for a HAPPY love story with Eragon and Arya was annoying because her standoffish attitude is key! and what about ajihaad "sp"? did he live? if so how do they plan on making a second film "if one could even go so far to put it on the status of film"? it was so rushed... i mean, so was LOTR, but it was well done and DETAILED!!! saphira aging so fast was annoying. my family hasn't read the book and THEY said it was rushed. very annoying. perhaps they abused Paolini's youth and just wanted to slap something together to capitalize on the success of the book. -_-'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Who could possibly like this?

    This was without a doubt, one of the worst movies i have ever seen in my entire life. It was nothing like the book, the fight scenes were lame as well as the acting, and it totally bit off of LOTR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    terrible

    I was so excited to see this movie after reading the amazing book from whence it came. However, I wanted to throw the movie out the window after 15 minutes. The acting is horrible, the writers destroyed the story, everything about it just made me cringe. If you love the book, don't see the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointing

    The book was so good and the movie was so rushed! I didn't even think that the characters followed the same personalities as in the book. And things were different and weird, like with Arya! What's up with that?? Some parts were the same but overall I was really disappointed. I guess if I hadn't read the book then maybe my opinion would be different, but to anyone who read the book and is a die hard fan, I'm not sure they should see it. I was yelling at the TV before Roran even left!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the worst movie ever

    the WORST movie ever. i wouldn't even give it 1 whole star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Read the book instead!

    If you have never read the book, Eragon was just barely an OK movie. The special effects were impressive, but the acting was very wooden and two dimensional. If you have read the book, this movie will be a huge disappointment. The plot had very little to do with the book, other than a boy finds a dragon that hatches. Many things about the plot were changed - they even changed the reason that Galbatorix has his black dragon within the first five minutes of the movie, and there was no reason to change that. I can understand leaving some things out of a movie from the book, because movies would be five hours long if everything was included, but that does not excuse rampant altering of the storyline. Do yourself a favor and just read the book instead of wasting your money on the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    What were they thinking? I was so disappointed--there was nothing about this movie that captured my interest. Things that worked well in the book, like Sephira's voice, were not adapted well for the movie, and ended up looking cheesy. None of the actors fit the characters that I pictured from reading the book, and it was distracting. I was so bored that I started reading a magazine. The special effects were good, but not worth seeing the movie for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    flop totally

    It was nothing like the book what so ever and it had terrible acting in it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I was expecting it to be bad, and was still disappointed

    From the commercials alone, I thought it was going to be horrible, and I was still surprised at how bad it was. The plot was totally stripped and changed in completely superflous ways. One of the worst movies I have ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2