BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Eragon

Average Rating 3.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Good.... but only for those who haven't read the book

    I must say that if you have never read the series, this is very enjoyable. The acting is good as well as the special effects. As a fan of the series though, I was expecting a lot out of this movie, and I was a bit disappointed. They got the majority of the plot points but left out crucial ones that would have to know if they were to make the next movies and others they failed to elaborate (Angela's scenes and the prophecy). Plus, Galbatorix, frequently shown in the movie was not even described to us until the last half of the fourth book. They left out Elva, who helps drive the series in book 2 to the end, and they got the location and death of Brom wrong while forgetting to introduce to us a main character: Orik and another important character Jeod.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    DON'T WATCH IT

    The acting was terrible, the plot was stupid, an they totally changed everything that was in the book. Well, except that there was a boy who rescues a dragon. Plus, Saphira looks somewhat like a giant blue chicken.
    The book, however, is amazing. So just forget the movie, read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Do Not Watch If You Have Read The Book!!

    For those who havn't watched the movie , but read the book, i would suggest never watching it. They completely destroyed Christopher Paolini's novel. For those who have not read the book, enjoy. <BR/>Examples of tearing apart-<BR/>* They completely cut out Katrina. <BR/>*Roran is suppose to leave so he can earn money so he can marry Katrina(did i mention they cut her out?), but instead they make it seem like he's leaving because he dosn't want to be recruited for the army.<BR/>*They only mention Horst once, when he actually plays a good bit in the beginning. <BR/>*Eragon is suppose to be injured by Sapjira's scales on his first flight. <BR/>*Where's Gertrude? <BR/>*Brom is suppose to be killed by the Razac, NOT DURZA! In the book, he does NOT go to Gil'ead. <BR/>*Eragon is suppose to be captured at Gil'ead and Murtagh is suppose to rescue him, but no. Oh mighty Eragon can do every thing by himself. <BR/>*Umm, excuse me, but Arya is suppose to be in a magic-indused coma. but nooo, she's up and walking around.<BR/>*People! Arya is an ELF! she needs pointed ears! in the movie she is apparenly human/elf. <BR/>*where's Orik?<BR/>*The big battle was okay, but they completely cut out Durza cutting Eragon's back and -arya and Saphira breaking the dwarf's rose. These to things play a major part in the second book. <BR/>*ARYA GOES TO ELLESMARA BY HERSELF!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This part made me mad, Eragon is suppose to go with her to finish his trainning, but nooo! <BR/>THIS MOVIE STINKS!(only if you have read the book)<BR/>Please, do not see this if you love the book like i do. You will be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What were they thinking???!!!

    When I first saw this movie i thought it was great. I loved it so much that i decided to read the book. After I read the book I watched the movie again, and man did it SUCK!!! They miss so many main events it didn't even make sense, the characters were all wrong, and the acting was worse than my kindergarten graduation play. Lets not forget the ending, now they have to make a sequel even though nobodys going to watch it. And bcuz they missed so many events,the 2nd one wouldn't make any sense. I say they should just make a new one, and this time, for the love of god, plz, do it rite!!! If you look and the story line and characters of this movie and compare it to Lord of the Rings, all Eragon really is is a cheap attempted remake of Lord of the Rings. I think Chris Paolini and Peter Jackson should suit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not nearly as good as the book!

    First of all, there is a humongous amount of violence in the movie that wasn't in the book. The movie was also really hard to follow. I wouldn't buy this movie. Read the book instead. The book is worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Book, Bad Movie

    This film shamed its source material, I came out of Eragon with great joy. But that was the book. I came out of the movie with the feeling of indigestion and the notion that I was a very pretty girl. This is the effect bad movies have on you. I was really very surprisd at how much I hated this film. It had Oscar winning and nominated actors, some good CGI, and a great story, what went wrong? The trailor. Trailors can be decieving. This movie only looked good because the trailor included every good part in the movie. Everything that wasn't in the trailor basically sucked. Don't buy it. Rent it only if your a die hard Paolini fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    At a loss

    Honestly disappointing. Short, rushed, and might as well be called something else. Wasn't anything even close to the book. I'm a little surprised they didn't just make the dragon human as well, everything else was turned into just that! Not only was the movie a mess, it blows any chance at a movie for Eldest. I'm almost thankful! Now they can't ruin that too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Highly Disapointed!!!!!!!!!

    This was a very disappointing movie! If you are a fan of the book you will hate the movie. They left so much important information and changed so much else. Rohan is not leaving just to leave. Sphira did not name herself. Where was the dwarf that meat Eragon at the door of the Varden and road off with him and so much else. Although I read the book my husband was completely lost and asked a ton of questions. This was like watching Lord of the rings and not telling you about Bilbo's impute or the back ground on the ring you would of been lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointed

    I thought Eragon and Eldest were both good books. The young author definately has talent. The movie adaptation however, left me very disappointed. They left out very important pieces of the plot and completely changed other pieces. The special effects were good, but nothing jaw-dropping. (The dragon was well done) I also felt like the entire movie was rushed, not focusing enough on the characters and the audience's connection with them. Bringing a book (especially a longer one) to screen is difficult but I felt like this one could've been handled better. Entertaining movie, but I wouldn't buy it. I'll stick with the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Book, Awesome. Movie, Not So Great.

    The book was amazing. The movie, personally I hated it. It didn't follow the story line at all. Of course, its a must-see for all Eragon fans, but it is disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Caveat Emptor

    Buyer Beware! If you're a fan of the book as I am then you will be sorely disappointed in this movie. It's like a cheap Readers' Digest version. Ever read Cliff's notes? Imagine LOTR condensed to an hour and a half. I guess if you've never read the book then you might get some amusement out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eragon

    I haven't read the book but heard of it and when i watched the movie I instantly thought of the lord of the rings and stopped the movie knowing how any action adventure fantasy movie ends. Someday I'll read the book but I do like dragons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I absolutely loved the book when i heard they were making a movie i totally flipped i watched the movie and it kinda sucked they moved it along way to fast changed tooooooooooo much and took out to much i just didn't like it but if you haven't read the book like my sister you may like it she did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The movie is horrible but a must have

    I would have to say I was very disappointed with the movie. That fact that it rushed through and skipped some of the most important parts was horrible. The worse thing was some of those parts were supposed to set up something for the next book. Like Eragon getting the wound on the back and Murtagh apparently being dead. However, ERagon is Eragon and as a die hard fan of the book I would still get the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1