Customer Reviews for

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    pure love

    one of those rare movies you can watch over and over and never become bored of. beautifully thought out, it's a type of movie the more you watch the more little clues you pick out to see how well it was thought of, constructed, and everything brilliantly connected. one of my ultimate favorites.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lost Love

    It is with mixed emotions that I highly recommend this film, because if you still have unresolved feelings and memories about a lost love, this film will hit you right in the heart and make you remember. It is for anyone in that weird place who is caught between wanting to let go of the pain, but being afraid of forgetting the deepest love of your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my all time favorites

    This movie is great mainly because it's very easy to relate to the character's situations and feelings. Anyone who has been in a serious relationship that ended is able to identify. Adding to the story is the cinematography and the amazing visuals Michel Gondry provides. It really makes the movie dreamy and surreal while still retaining emotion. I could watch this movie over and over again. Jim Carrey is awesome in this role.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Whoa...

    This movie is just mesmorizing from the beginning. the first time I watched it I was just intrigued on the story line & the concept. the 2nd time I was awed by the supposed "loop" that it put you in. the third I became a lifetime fan of this film and the production company! I can watch this movie over & over & still find new things behind the scenes & in the background. I must-see/must-have for any collector!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    i'm just a f--ked up girl looking for her own peace of mind.

    this movie is visually, and in content incredibly beautiful. the story is not your typical sunshine and daisies love story, but is the most true and amazing depiction of love i've seen on screen. the pain and the happiness rival eachother's intensity and make for an amazing look into the reality of love and it's madness. clementine and joel are in each of us. they are pretty much yin and yang and are very real and easy to identify with. every performance in this movie is brilliant and every moment is amazing. please, if you haven't seen this - see it. and see it again. and again. each time you watch it, you will notice something you never did before and fall in love with it all over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    brilliance

    this is my favorite movie of all time. the way joel and clementines views and relationship is looked on in this is amazing. you feel like your in the room watching their memories unfold, instead of watching it from a televisioin set. the director has given the term of 'movie' and placed it at an all time geniusly brilliantly high standard. the moment you hear "meet me in montauk" so many things come to mind. even though you may have to watch it twice or more to understand it, you'll realize that the point is really and truly simple all along, that the one person you really and truly love will always hold that place in you heart, and you can never get rid of them, because, the heart is stronger than any part of the mind. fin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another Success for Michel Gondry!

    I first became aquainted with Michel Gondry when, being a Björk fan, I saw Gondry's many wonderful music videos for Björk. So, I expected a lot from Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. The combination of the wonderful directorial job and the stunning cast's performance brings the script to life. And, not only is the movie spectacular but it is paired with a musical score that makes you FEEL everything the characters are feeling. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Minds' ablility to convey so many different emotions in this movie make Eternal Sunshine one of the best movies I've seen in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    how can you not enjoy this?

    The fact is the movie features some of the best cinematography and filming techniques available to even an up-and-coming director. It has great transitions, a flawless soundtrack from Jon Brion, and very fitting actors. They all have eye catching eccentricities that fit tightly to form a dazzling puzzle. The editing was good, and the screenplay was probably the best part. Overall it is one of the most probing and imaginative movies yet, not excluding Burton, Van Sant, and Kubrick's wonderful contributions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best movie of year

    Best movie I've seen this year. Found the first 15 minutes annoying, but all was forgiven after that. A movie that appeals to both the heart and the mind. Winslet was wonderful, as usual, and Jim Carrey played his role well, his acting on pare with The Truman Show, though much more downbeat. He made it possible to forget who he is, which most actors can't do. This movie was made by people who obviously care about getting things right, and for most part they succeeded. All the acting is great, the script wonderful and inventive, and the special effects organic to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a must see now!

    This movie is by far the best movie I have seen in a long time...please pick this movie up...it will change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the title of this movie comes from Nietzsche

    This was a film that has the cinematic effects, stars, and plot that I was looking for. To me it seemed that the whole film was an anology for Nietzsche's philosophy. if you know his philosophy it has a lot to do with time. He says you should make decisions as if you have already made them and you didnt like the results, so you are deciding for the second time to rectify your mistake. The movie even quotes him on several occasions and the movies title is based on one of his quotes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautifully intense

    This film was amazing! After two viewings, I feel as if I could watch it again and again. The cinematography and the plot of the film combine together to make you think and help you to relate to the characters. Even though we try to erase someone from our lives, can we ever really do it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Delightfully brilliant!

    A thought provoking film about the in's and out's of relationships that doesn't take itself too seriously. Probably not a film for everybody but I found it to be highly entertaining and one of the best of 2004. Both Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet are charming in their roles and turn in top notch performances. Those looking for something different than your typical Hollywood movie will really enjoy this gem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enticingly Beautiful

    This movie completely blew me away. The cinematography, the wonderful complexity of the characters --- everything just wound together into a beautiful story about how LOVE is important, not where you end up when it's over. It hones in on those little moments in a relationship that you forgot how much you cherished. It made me so happy, I cried. I could watch it over & over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Movie of 2004

    This is undoubtedly the BEST movie released so far in the year 2004. Not being a Jim Carrey fan, I am amazed to be in love with his character he brings to this fantastic, totally unpredictable movie. And Kate Winslet is gorgeous, sultry, incredible, and unique as Clementine. The plot is perfect, you just never know what will happen next. The minute this film was over,I immediately wanted to see it again. This will be a keeper and with any justice in the world, remembered at the Oscars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3