Customer Reviews for

Family Guy, Vol. 2 - Season 3

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    awesome

    When this series first came out I didn't like it at all. I found it crass & just pointless. After watching the whole first season I realised that it was the sick kind of humor that I like. Cutting edge & new presented in cartoon form. Brilliant! You really have to wonder what the station was thining when it opted to cancel the show not once but twice! Now Mcfarlane is top of the class. I would recommend this series to anyone looking for a great horse laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the funnest seires

    all i have to say is this show is funny watch it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Family Guy vol. 2

    This season was okay although some of the episodes were alright. Stewie is also funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Funniest Show

    I've seen most of the episodes before and seeing them over still makes me laugh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Simpsons have nothing on this.

    Yes the Simpsons is a very funny show indeed with it's quick wit and humorous antics, but Family Guy has the Simpsons beat. Family Guy has got to be one of the funniest family television shows cartoon or sitcom in history. It's twice as irreverent, twice as witty, and twice as controversial as the Simpsons will ever be. There are similarities between Homer and Peter though; they're both big, fat and stupid, but Peter is practically brainless and he has funnier one-liners than Homer. But unlike the Simpsons, Family Guy has a lot of celebrity and political lampooning, like this episode where Peter makes fun of Dick Armey; Peter says, 'Hey Armey, what's your wife's name, Vagina Coast Guard?' All in all, Family Guy's twisted humor can only be compared to one other cartoon......South Park.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SO FUNNY!!!

    I laughed my butt off while I watched this. It is some of the funniest stuff in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Humor. Neglected when aired on TV!

    When this show was aired on Fox, I passed it up as childish and stupid. Now that it is on DVD, I gave it a second look. This show is consistently funny and original. If you are a fan of the shows on Fox's current Sunday lineup...you will love this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Funny Show in It's Own Right

    While drawing similarites to The Simpsons is to be expected, Family Guy is certainly more a homage than retread. It's easy to see elements of some FG show plots cribbed from Simpsons episodes (and possibly vice versa), but they always are given a uniquely FG spin. Animated sitcoms allow the use of the absurd that would be poison to a convential sitcom (anyone remember Herman's Head?) and FG delivers it in large and often hilarious doses. Prime examples are the urbane talking dog Brian and the preternatural infant Stewie, the shows funniest characters, but also the hardest for most viewers to grasp. No, even allowing for differing tastes, this was not the funniest show on TV. But if your a fan of animation and missed these on broadcast (which was easy given the typically shabby treatment by Fox) these shows should be a very pleasant surprise. One caveat, these might not be the shows for viewing by the whole family as many contain very adult elements. While far from South Park extremes, some unwanted questions could be elicited from pre-teens.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Luckily There's There's a Family Guy!

    Family guy is possibly the greatest cartoon of all time. It appeals to all audiances(not young children)12 and over. Theres never an episode that will not make you laugh. Take the 'pancakes' episode. You know, the one where meg says stewie is a crack addict and that her deadbeat-husband doent pay for anything. That one, kept me laughing for a full half hours straight. Now, simpsons and futurama are two other excellent cartoons, bur family guy might beat em all. I hope you enjoy Family Guy as much as I did!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Funniest Show in the History of Television

    The Family Guy was the funniest show that has ever aired on television in my lifetime. It does not get as much credit as cartoons like the Simpson's many because it initially had a cult following, and then FOX changed its night and time of airing routinely during the season. No wonder they didn't get the ratings they wanted. This is a can't miss DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST...SHOW...EVER

    I am a die-hard Simpsons fan but I must say The Family Guy knocks them out the box. Alot of jokes will go over the head of some but everybody will find something to love about this series. Maybe one day FOX will get smart and bring it back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Family Guy RULES!

    Here's the deal...it's quite plain and SIMPLE folks...if you love the Simpsons, you MUST check out the Family Guy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Even surpasses Sienfeld

    Family Guy is the greatest comedy show in the history of television, bar--none. It is often more clever than Sienfeld, and even more out-there than The Simpsons or even Futerama. And even the commentary tracks are entertaining. Any worthwile DVD collection will have both sets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wittier than the Simpsons... IS THAT POSSIBLE???... yes.

    People treated this show like the bast@rd son of Matt Groening, accusing the creators of following the working class nuclear family formula of the Simpsons. Aside from the fact that this formula goes back to the days of The Honeymooners, Seth McFarlane and his team created an entirely different world, and argueably catalyzed into popular humor a new wave of fast, witty, sometimes esoteric- but always hilarious comedy. They took chances, laughed at racism, homophobia, terrorism, religion, and even when you didn't get the joke you laughed. Their following of what appeared at first to be just a Freaks and Geeks band of TV junkies, spread the good news of Peter Griffin and his antics and the world is a better and funnier place for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Comic Gem!

    The Family Guy is a hilariously funny show, and its a shame it was ever canceled. There are so many one liners from the show that are just priceless. Sometimes you miss them because you may be already laughing at a situation, so be aware these shows should be watched OVER and OVER again! Also if you are from the MA or RI area (as I am) you will find the little regional comments and sight gags wicked funny! Buddy Cianci Junior High :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Family Guy is a comic gem

    If you haven't yet seen an episode of The Family Guy than you haven't truly lived. The animated television phenomenon revolves around the life of an ''average'' family and all of the hilarious adventures they encounter in their everyday lives. Probably the most notable feature of this show is how completely random it is. The jokes are incredibly funny and the show itself is truly entertaining. Be sure you don't pass up on this awesome DVD pack!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best Jerry, the best.

    Family Guy is the best show ever. And anyone who says otherwise is either wrong or a liar....a rotten dirty stinking liar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    um, best ever.

    all i have to say is that the family guy is and was the greatest cartoon show ever, and fox made a huge mistake cancelling it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2