Customer Reviews for

Fantastic Four

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great actors, mildly enjoyable movie

    I watched this mostly because of Ioan Gruffudd and Julian McMahon. After discovering them in the Hornblower films and Profiler, respectively, I really wanted to see more of their work, and since a lot of their other stuff isn't quite my cuppa tea, I thought Fantastic Four would be a perfect opportunity. In a way it was: I liked them both in their roles, and I certainly enjoyed looking at them. But I didn't really like the movie. The action sequences were a lot of fun, but the characters seemed flat, their development disjointed and awkward. And while I understood why the characters were at odds, I didn't feel as invested in the resolution as I wanted to be. I'll probably still watch the sequel, but this isn't one of my favorite comic-book adaptations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Four

    This is a great action-packed show.It has humor,romance and lotsa action.It's way better then the sequel.A definite must watch!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sequel is much better

    This is not a good movie in general, and you can practically feel the cash-in on the idea. They mishandled the characters in some respects and it just feels empty. Watch the sequel involving the Silver Surfer- it's a better movie by far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An insult to the work of artist Jack Kirby.

    This film's utterly idiotic mishandling of Dr. Dooms character with it's needless origin changes, added powers, and doofy explanation for his trademark facemask is enough of a travesty by itself. Factoring in the obnoxious Mountain Dew ad take on Johnny Storm combined with a totally emascualted Reed Richards and blandtastic Sue Storm it joins the ranks of Schumachers last Batman outing. Ben Grimm "The Thing" fares slightly better. Seems to be the only aspect of the film where anything about the core concept made it from the comic page to the screen though the same can't be said for the characters look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It was fantastic!

    It's been a long time waiting for this comic book team of heroes to hit the big screen, and it was worth it! I loved this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FANTASTIC!

    I enjoyed seeing my favorite superheroes coming to life on the big screen. It's full of action, laughs and...love. I am looking forward to seeing a series of sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent action movie

    The critics tore "Fantastic 4" apart when it was released,but they missed the point.This is nothing more than a good old-fashioned action movie,and on that level it works wonderfully.It's got a good story,fast-paced direction,solid production values,and terrific special effects.And thanks to great performances,it's also got some depth and humor to the characters.Jessica Alba,Michael Chiklis,and Julian McMahon are wonderful, and Ioan Gruffdd is good.But Chris Evans steals the movie in a rousing and delightful performance,and he's the best thing in the movie.The whole thing is a lot of fun!Sit back and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not Your Typical Superhero Movie

    Many critics didn't give this superhero movie the time of day, but it's not the typical superhero movie. Fantastic Four is the exact opposite of all the rest, with some comical and flashy moments, and some dark scenes to break up the comedy. Those who follow the orginal series of the Fantastic Four knows that you really can't take the superhero stuff too seriously, other wise it's no fun, and that's what this verson was all about. Fantastic Four is a funny, exciting, light hearted approch to many dark superhero movies already out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not The Best Movie Ever, But Still Good

    Now, while Marvel has put out some phenomal dramas and in-depth (messed up) heroes, you can only see a certain side of the comic book story. Fantastic Four finally chose to do what comic movies were probably meant to do - a quick, in-and-out movie that made you laugh and enjoy the action, but didn't really impact you. It was meant to be enjoyable, and I loved the humor (particulary the Torch who else?) It tries valiantly at a deeper plot, but still retains an interesting comical innocence. The humor was humorous, the acting was good, the action and special effects phenomenal, and the soundtrack wasn't bad either. While it may not be on-par with the X-Men movies, I still enjoy it enough to watch it as a quick action-drama-comedy. All hail to comic movies that remain true to their origins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Funny, but cheesy

    This movie had some genuinely exciting and funny scenes, but suffered from a somewhat inferior script. Invisble Woman was great and so was Mr. Fantastic. Recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good movie

    The first part of this movie is a little skimpy on character development, but as it goes on the relationships evolved to my satisfaction. The special effects are second to none. Give this movie a spin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointing...an action hero movie right? It was a romantic movie!

    Fantastic Four fails and I knew it would: Jessica Alba, Ioan Gruffud, Chris Evans did really good acting, and I was very, very bored. It felt like 45 minutes, and was slow and boring. My grade: 4 D+ *

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2