Customer Reviews for

Fantastic Mr. Fox

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It - Instant Classic

    A true wonder. This film is as much for adults as it is children. The voice cast are perfect. Director Wes Anderson's take on Roald Dahl's short book is nothing short of marvelous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sly & Slick.

    A favorable review: engaging & funny entertainment. Action, adventure, daring, and cunning are all in this movie. Mr. Fox is the sly fox of this movie and he has more master plans than you could imagine. The characters make you think of marionettes come-to-life. As Mr. Fox says, "All of the animals are wild by nature and it is hard to change your nature." Therefore, we get to go along with Mr. Fox and watch his "wild" nature at work. This is LOL! entertainment adults will enjoy. This movie was a pure riot! Adults will enjoy this PG movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastical

    I can't say enough good things about this movie- it's classic Wes Anderson, though, that sort of humor that is random and ridiculous and hilarious. I wasn't too keen on The Darjeeling Limited, but if you loved all the previous films (The Royal Tenenbaums, The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou, Bottle Rocket, Rushmore) you're gonna love this one. It is quite different from the book in that characters and plot points were expanded to fill a couple of hours. But that only means it's entertaining to a wider range of ages, perfect for parents and kids. And the animation! These movies always have a great vintage tinge, and Mr. Fox doesn't disappoint. Just great. Great, great, great. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A brilliant adaptation of a children's book. I haven't been won

    A brilliant adaptation of a children's book. I haven't been won over by Wes Anderson's previous movies, but this film forced me to change my mind about what he's capable of. It's chock-full of excellent cast members for the animals' voices, amazing attention to detail in the stop-motion animation, phenomenal comedic timing and, oh yeah, great song choices that always add just the right texture and mood to various scenes. A smash hit, in every sense of the world - it's terrific escapism as we watch humans and animals vying to show who can get the final word, but it's also a statement on behavior since we see the primary human characters (the farmers) act in a far more destructive manner than the fox even though he repeatedly tells his wife he captures and kills other creatures because he is, after all, a wild animal. Recommended most highly for children as well as adults!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    An enjoyable watch - but mostly for teens and adults than kids

    As a teenager I LOVE this movie. The animation is great, the characters are interesting and entertaining, and the story is wonderful. I have never actually read Road Dahl's original story, so I can't judge it solely on that. But from what I saw, it was easy to understand and genuinely appealing. The humor, for me, was one of the most memorable parts of the movie. Actually, this might be one of the funniest animated movies I have ever seen. The humor is sophisticated and witty, with memorable jokes and great comedic timing. The only issue I really had, though, was the demographic that the makers of the film were going for. The jokes and how the characters interacted seemed to feel more for teenagers and adults than little kids. Younger viewers may not understand half of the humor in it, but the jokes aren't dated or filled with pop culture references, so they will probably understand it when they get older. In short, Fantastic Mr. Fox is a wonderful film and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1