Customer Reviews for

Field of Dreams

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    This my favorite baseball movie of all times.

    The reason that I like Field Of Dreams. Because it takes you back to where baseball began. My favorite line is build it and he will come.
    Each time I see corn fields I think of Field Of Dreams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Must see baseball movie.

    We loved this movie. Makes you want to go out and smell your baseball mitt!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite movie of all times!

    There are so many parts of this movie that remind me of my relationship with my Dad. We both loved baseball and played catch a lot. While my relationship with my Dad was not as stormy as the characters in the movie, I would love the opportunity to walk onto the Field of Dreams and play catch with him one more time.

    This is one of those movies you can watch over and over and find something new that you missed before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Much more than a baseball movie.....

    I have been a fan of baseball and movies all my life (33 so far), and I believe this movie can be for everyone, baseball fan or not. The historical and emotional threads that run throughout this picture are unmistakable. Part of my adoration for this movie lies in the fact I too relate to my own father through the common love and appreciation for baseball. But this movie is about how a man in his adult life has struggled to reckon the fractured relationship he had with his father. The pain he and his father both carry haunts them both, in life and death -- and with this magical field, he gets the chance to reconcile their splintered past. How many of us could ever have that chance? None. That is why this movie is so lyrical and fantastical, it is the unattainable second chance many of us wish we could have -- just once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Whispers in a Cornfield

    I just want to respond to what the reviewer said about Field of Dreams being a terrible movie with shallow characters and no story. This movie is anything but subtle, there is no whispering in this movie; there are only shouts that apparently he chose not to pay any attention to. If he were to consider the movie on a thoughtful level instead of simply for his own entertainment, he would realize that the movie is how it is for a reason. The story may be lacking complexity, but this is done so that the viewer can focus on the real issues of hope, sacrifice, and persistance that are so vital to the film; Ray may be a simple character, but this is done so that each of us can identify with him: he is average, he is us. I just dont see how an intellegent, thoughtful person could ever say that this movie had nothing to offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I am Jack's insulted intelligence

    I like baseball movies. I like ''feel good'' movies. I like Kevin Costner. I HATED ''Field of Dreams''. This movies has no story, no conflict, and one dimensional characters. For a much better baseball movie see ''The Bad News Bears''.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ray Kinsella, is a farmer who builts a baseball field on his Iwoa farm in Field of Dreams.

    Field of Dreams tells a story of a Iwoa Farmer named Ray Kinsella (Kevin Costner). One day Ray Kinsella is working in his field when you hears a voice that says ''If you built it, he will come.'' On the prouch of the house is wife Annnie (Amy Madigan) and his daughter named Karen (Gaby Hoffman), he askes them about the voice he heard. But they didn't hear it. One day he working out again in the field, hears the voice again, and figures if he built a baseball field, the Great Shoeless Joe Jason, will come back and play ball again, he threw the 1919 world series and he and 7 others got suspended for life. He got called that, because one day he play himself new shoes, but they hurt his feet, so in the 6th inning, he plays the game in his socks, and the other players callled him Shoeless Joe. And he does appear. He is played by Ray Liotta.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ultimate feel good movie

    Baseball is only the backdrop for this great feel good flick. Incredible waves of nostalgia, mystical as it jumps the great divid, and redemption from past mistakes. This movie is the cure for any bad mood. It can be watched over and over again and you still get chocked up at certain scenes. If you love the movie stop by the actual ball field in Iowa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1