BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fight Club

Average Rating 5
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    i am jack's review of fight club

    i remember my brother watching this movie before i did, and he told me it sucked. so that kind of scared me away from it. then i found it cheap in wal-mart so i decided to give it a try, and wow, my brother sucks because he made me not watch it for awhile. this movie has everything, violence (extreme violence), comedy, mystery. if you haven't watched it yet give it a try, it may not be for everyone, but it is still a good movie with great actors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Extraordinary movie

    If you enjoy a story that you cannot predict, or if you enjoy philological thrillers such as V for Vendetta or The Game, you will enjoy this movie. Fight club is not your everyday movie that is about mindless and shallow violence, with an original plot and many twists in the story it is sure to keep the viewers' attention. Fight club for those who have not seen in it, is definitely a movie you will talk about afterwards. It puts an interesting spin on commercialism and is sure to go down in the history as one of the greatest films ever written and directed. The movie itself is now 12 years old and it continues to be listed as many people favorite movie. With its dark comedy and thrilling plot it undoubtedly is like no movie you have ever seen. In 2003 it was listed as one of the top 50 guy's movies, and in 2004 and in 2006 it was voted as the eighth or ninth greatest movie of all time. The line "The first rule of fight club is you do not talk about fight club" as rated as the 27th greatest movie line of all time. I would recommend reading the novel before watching the movie. Like all books made into a movie it is not quite as good as the book. The book captures the message of story even better than the movie, but the movie does a good job portraying the books overall message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "The first rule of Fight Club is: you do not talk about Fight Club..."

    "Fight Club" is easily one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. This shouldn't be considered a bold statement for anyone who has seen the movie or read the book, as you are most likely to agree with me. But, I know that there are many people who would choose to stay away from the 'Cult Classic' that this has become; I was one of them. For many years I had avoided the movie "Fight Club" with the rational fear of being disappointed. Chuck Palahniuk's novel had been such an experience that I preferred to stay in the dark when it came to the big-screen interpretation. I can admit that I make mistakes in life. This movie is brilliant, and again, this shouldn't be considered a bold statement. Even after reading the book, you cannot begin to prepare for this movie; even knowing the conclusion, your mind cannot wrap around the end. I can watch this movie on numerous occasions and still feel like I am seeing it for the first time. The "Aha!" factor is endless. I won't compare the movie to the book because both are two totally different experiences and shouldn't be examined so closely. I still enjoy and continue to recommend both, often. But, for your consideration: they do have differences as most book/movie adaption does. So, after saying that, I would probably suggest watching the movie first; get your mind blown away, then read the book for the genesis of such an adventure. Even Chuck Palahniuk considered the movie to be an improvement on his novel. I could go on and on to try and convince you how great this movie is, what I can't do is tell you WHY it's so great without spoiling something; so I'm sorry if I seem purposefully vague. But I CAN try to entice you with a shirtless Brad Pitt, a powerless Edward Norton and a delightfully dark Helena Bonham Carter. ;) Watch "Fight Club". You won't be disappointed. You won't look at soap the same way again. And you won't listen to Meat Loaf without thinking of big boobs. Just remember to follow the rules - I heard they're so crucial, that they had to write the first rule twice... :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bizarre Flick, But Totally Cool!

    Brad Pitt and Edward Norton were at the top of their game in this movie...fantastic! This is probably one of my favorite movies from during the latter part of the 90s. I simply had to procure this one on blue ray. I got the other version of the blue ray of this, but it wouldn't, for some reason, let me do up a review on that one, so I had to revert to this one to write this review. Normally, older movies like this that I was previously familiar with I don't bother writing a review on here for...because then I would be writing a ton of reviews, and I already write a lot of reviews. However...this is one from the past that I felt was definitely review-worthy, for sure...and it was an obvious choice for upgrade to blue ray, and in honor of that, I simply had to come on here and share. There are even a few extra things added in this version too...and p.s. to any of you who may have bought the 10th anniversary edition or are planning to buy the 10th anniversary edition, when you pop the disc in and it fires up, don't worry...that first selection screen that shows up is just a gag...it's still Fight Club! You'll see when you put it in. I almost about lost it, but then realized what was going on after a second. There are a few brief elements about this movie I wasn't a big fan of, but nothing big, and definitely over lookable...because this movie as a whole is friggin awesome. One of the best movies ever, no question. If any of you reading this have never seen it, (and that means no younger than high school aged, I might add, because this movie isn't for youngins), I suggest you get on the ball and check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the most aggressively brilliant films ever made!

    Fight Club doesn't pull its punches, it doesn't sugar-coat the truth. It gets in the smug faces of everyone and tells them how life really is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    Better than the previous VHS and DVD versions. Brad Pitt and Edward Norton play simply unforgettable roles in this eye opening movie. 2 thumbs up, BUY THIS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant

    The best movie I have ever seen. It is great not only for it's cinematography, but because there is a great story backing it up. If you have not read Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk, then you definitely need to go find it and read it. Palahniuk is my favorite author and I'm glad Fight Club was made into a big movie. Watch the movie a lot, you always get more out of it everytime you watch it, and read the book..... you won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    wow a cool movie

    Fight Club was a deep movie mostly a comedy and Brad Pitt did a great job as the charcter Tyler Duhmore where he has fight clubs down in the basement and Edward Norton did a good job as the guy who could'nt sleep this is a real good movie there must be a book on the movie if there is somebody please let me know cause i enjoyed the movie!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "3 minutes, this is it, ground zero"

    From the jump this movie sucks you in and dares you to try and get away. a must have for any movie collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    so cool!

    ahhh the day me and my friends saw this movie. we used to have backyard fights before this movie. and the whole networking in the movie was like what we did. good times. but yeah this movie was cool fresh and new atleast at the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    1: you don't talk about fight club!

    An intelectual understanding on life, while contradicting the outlook of most. Overcoming all fears with making new ones. THE best movie in the WORLD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "Our Great Depression is our lives..."

    "Our Great War is spiritual." And so you know the premise of my generation and why Fight Club has hit the nail on the head, so to speak. We have no World War II or Vietnam, our War is a travesty, as Tyler Durton recounts. What this dark comedy drama makes compelling is the darkness of the urban life as tragedy and dross turned into violence and inspiration. Wait, did I just say those two words in the same sentence: inspiration and violence. Yes, I did. In the almost fascistic environment of Fight Club, the nameless corporate robot played well by Ed Norton meets charismatic soap salesman Tyler Durton played by Brad Pitt (in arguably his best role), they start an underground movement of frustrated males longing for meaning, even if it means a punch to the face. Rule number one: Never talk about Fight Club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The first rule of Project Mayhem..

    ...is you MUST watch this movie. This is a brilliant adaptation of Chuck Palahnuik's work. Plus. It's fun to watch Edward Norton beat himself up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Project Mayhem

    I don't think there's any guy in this country who doesn't secretly want to be a part of fight club. The Ideals of Tyler Durden make complete sense in his own, twisted and neurotic, way. Fight Club is a definative film with a definative message. I recomend it to everyone above the age of 13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one of the manliest romantic comedic thriller action dramas

    fight club is probably one of the greatest films ever(just my opinion).one of the darkest comedies ever.some parts are very emotional, other parts grotesque, but they all come together to make one of the most interesting films ever.david fincher is a provocative director, and i look forward to more of his films

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    budoka98@yahoo

    I thought that fight club was an exellent movie. I think that the average person can say that he wishes that he could fight anyone who needed to be humbled at will. And not get into trouble for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    From the Mind of Chuck Palahniuk

    This film is simply a masterpiece. Not because of any dazzling special effects, or high profile actors. What makes this movie a masterpiece is the stunning originality and the amazing intensity of the storyline, and filming style. Author Chuck Palahniuk takes us where most people would never dare to venture on their own...inside the mind of an average Joe psychopath. The story is intense, thrilling, and unique from start to finish. And director David Fincher portrays Chuck Palahniuks story with a unique style of intense surrealism. All of the "obvious but not to obvious subliminal messages" along with the shockingly real portrayal of the American Consumer, makes this movie a must see for all movie lovers, no matter what genre they prefere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the greatest movie ever made known to man!

    Fight Club has changed my life since seeing this outstanding movie. Fight Club is absolutely my favorite movie of all time. I heard about this movie from my cusin and I have told so many people about it and had them watch it. The book that started the movie is the greatest book in my opinion, it cured me of my hate toward reading. Fight club is the altimate guy movie! The movie has moved me like nothing before, it was what made me have the desire to become a writer and director! I definatly recommend this for every man and women who is depressed, ANGERY, or just wanting to see a movie that is perfection! NOW GET OFF THE COMPUTER AND GO RENT IT AT BLOCKBUSTER, NOW!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is Your Life & It's Ending One Minute at a Time

    Wash Your Feminine Side Clean Off! If you walk away from this movie with a good feeling in your stomach, you didn't get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Was a mind blowing movie

    Many of my friends recommended this movie to me, and told me that is was an excellent movie. When I saw it, I was blown away at how good it was. I just didn¿t want to stop watching it over and over. I have watched it so many times that I probably have the whole movie memorized. I couldn¿t wait to buy it when it came out on DVD. After waiting so long for it to come out, I was one of the first to buy it. I was so excited. The actors were awesome. The ending had such a twist in it that I just wanted to watch it over and over so that I could catch specific details. I am so happy with they way that it was written. I recommend this movie to anyone that likes movies with big twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7