Customer Reviews for

Firefly - The Complete Series

Average Rating 5
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful entertainment!! Highly recommended

My teenager recommended this Joss Whedon (Buffy-creator) short-lived TV series to her parents (me and my wife) and we've thoroughly enjoyed watching all fourteen 1-hr episodes together several times.

Nathan Fillion plays ship captain Malcolm (Mal) of the Firefly cl...
My teenager recommended this Joss Whedon (Buffy-creator) short-lived TV series to her parents (me and my wife) and we've thoroughly enjoyed watching all fourteen 1-hr episodes together several times.

Nathan Fillion plays ship captain Malcolm (Mal) of the Firefly class 'Serenity', a small spaceship ploying space and planets in search of any cargo paying a fee. The episodes entail the adventures and misadventures of the crew and passengers of the spaceship Serenity. Led by Captain Malcolm (Mal) Reynolds, they encounter adventure, surprise, romance, violence, and terror on route to pick up, transport, or drop off deadly and non-deadly cargo while keeping just ahead of the despot Alliance. Especially worthy episodes are the humourous 'Jaynestown' and those where the scheming Saffron works her 'wiles' on Mal.

There's a touch of romance, and lots of adventure, drama, and plenty of witty humour with this Sci-Fi series. The mix of characters all add up to great viewing. The crew consists of Jayne (he), a gutless jerk mercenary but perhaps likeable at times; Wash, the geniunely funny but inept Serenity pilot and his wife, take-charge ex-soldier Zoe; and Serenity's likeable and unsophisticated genious-mechanic, Kaylee.

Passengers include on-the-run brother/sister/passenger/stow-a-ways trauma-MD Simon and his spaced out fugitive kook-sister, River; Inara, a top-shelf (meaning gorgeous!) galaxy Companion (i.e.- prostitute) who has a soft spot for the ineptly romantic captain Mal; and hitchiking preacher, Shepherd Book, whose religion never seems to get in the way of a good plot. Watch as his hair freaks out the freaky River in one episode!!

This is definitely a five-star purchase if your viewing taste is ecletic, versatile, and you have any interest in Sci-Fi at all.

posted by Bassomatic on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love the series BUT !!!!

while playing the first three disc we found out that there are scratches on them. We are very careful with our DVD's so I am thinking when you order from B&N you do not get quality!!!

posted by lalanaz on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful entertainment!! Highly recommended

    My teenager recommended this Joss Whedon (Buffy-creator) short-lived TV series to her parents (me and my wife) and we've thoroughly enjoyed watching all fourteen 1-hr episodes together several times.

    Nathan Fillion plays ship captain Malcolm (Mal) of the Firefly class 'Serenity', a small spaceship ploying space and planets in search of any cargo paying a fee. The episodes entail the adventures and misadventures of the crew and passengers of the spaceship Serenity. Led by Captain Malcolm (Mal) Reynolds, they encounter adventure, surprise, romance, violence, and terror on route to pick up, transport, or drop off deadly and non-deadly cargo while keeping just ahead of the despot Alliance. Especially worthy episodes are the humourous 'Jaynestown' and those where the scheming Saffron works her 'wiles' on Mal.

    There's a touch of romance, and lots of adventure, drama, and plenty of witty humour with this Sci-Fi series. The mix of characters all add up to great viewing. The crew consists of Jayne (he), a gutless jerk mercenary but perhaps likeable at times; Wash, the geniunely funny but inept Serenity pilot and his wife, take-charge ex-soldier Zoe; and Serenity's likeable and unsophisticated genious-mechanic, Kaylee.

    Passengers include on-the-run brother/sister/passenger/stow-a-ways trauma-MD Simon and his spaced out fugitive kook-sister, River; Inara, a top-shelf (meaning gorgeous!) galaxy Companion (i.e.- prostitute) who has a soft spot for the ineptly romantic captain Mal; and hitchiking preacher, Shepherd Book, whose religion never seems to get in the way of a good plot. Watch as his hair freaks out the freaky River in one episode!!

    This is definitely a five-star purchase if your viewing taste is ecletic, versatile, and you have any interest in Sci-Fi at all.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Firefly

    I love this seris. Its a great combination of old west meets outter space. The dynamics between the character is one of the best I have seen. Have to give them credit in that unlike most shows that take place in outter space when you get a shot outside the ship you hear the explosions or the sound of something hitting the ship. Not in this show. I got to the last episode and could not believe there was no more to watch. Great show, Great movie that pick up about where the show leave off. This is one to watch over and over again.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best Series, Ever.

    Never should have been cancelled. One of the very best series for escapism ever televised. I honestly feel if it came back, it would find a strong audience and enjoy a good run. I highly recommend Serenity (the movie) to go along with this collection.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Firefly

    Not as good as Buffy or Angel, but not bad by any means. I was disappointed when they were unable to continue; remember Angel and Buffy's first seasons weren't that good either. Joss has to build up his world before he starts blowing our's away. But it is entertaining if you watch Sci Fi, and especially if you like twists on cliches. Firefly kept reminding me of what we had learned of the old South, espcially right after the Civil War, only with jet packs. :)

    Warning, though: If you watched the 7th season of Buffy, beware of the character cast. Nathan also plays Caleb, the evil and more than slightly creepy minister wanna be on Buffy, and he did an outstanding job. The first time I watched Firefly, I spent half the time freaking out and thinking No! Don't give him the gun! He's evil! and Why are listening to him! Its obviously a trap! He's evil! Give it some time; his old, Southern charm and bad boy attitude mix will grow on you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    Bring this back!

    Can't stop the signal! This series was absolutely the best I've seen. It had the best of everything: part Sci-Fi, part western, part horror, part drama, part action. I didn't know about it when it was actually on TV because of poor publicity. I saw the movie "Serenity", and then was interested in the series. This needs to come back to television! It has been cancelled for nearly a decade now, but it has still gained a giant following, and continues to gain more people watching it. Bring this back to TV or make another movie! Can't stop the signal!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    BUY THIS SERIES!

    By far one of the most original and compelling TV shows I have ever seen! (and I watch some stuff...let me tell you!) A little Sci-Fi...a little Western...a whole lot of mayhem! With unique and well-written characters, if you're not a fan already, you will be!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the Best Science Fiction Series

    I became a fan of Joss Whedon because of Buffy, but wasn't taken with the series with it first aired. I think partly that was because my unhappiness with the direction Buffy had taken (it was in its sixth or seventh season then) influenced my reaction, but it was also because the network didn't air episodes and didn't air them in the right order--notably the first pilot, which makes the best introduction. Then these DVDs were given to me by a friend, and I found myself completely entranced. The series seems an oxymoron in some ways--a Science Fiction Western with a mixed American-esque/Chinese culture--but it works. All the characters are in their different ways endearing (even if I took a while to warm to Jayne, but he became a favorite). The episodes are always incredibly watchable--sometimes moving, sometimes hilarious. The dialogue is masterful--funny, clever, witty, each character with a distinct voice, the casting pitch perfect. I think it's a crime this series was canceled without even a full first season, although the later film, Serenity, does give it resolution.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply wonderful

    Joss Whedon created a masterpiece with Firefly. It originally aired on Fox and they did everything they could to kill the series out of the gate, including showing the episodes out of order, preempting the show at times, and half-heartedly promotion.

    I don't own TV series DVDs except this one. This is a show about people, not technology. Whedon's characters are edgy, vulnerable, quirky, and likeable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Firefly the Series

    My son recently introduced me to this series. My initial reaction was that this was an odd premise (sci-fi and old western), but I was soon hooked and was very disappointed when I had no more episodes to view. I wish that I had known about the series when it was airing on TV.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    If you like quality entertainment, if you miss the days when clever writing and complex characters were actually important, see it.

    This Western / Sci-Fi Mashup, does a fantastic job of blending all the elements of visual storytelling in the compressed arc of the TV serial timeline.

    Every episode has moments of anxiety and humor, warmth and tension, mystery, revelation, and surprising twists of plot and character.

    The camera work and editing are perfectly edgy and fast, surprising but entirely context-appropriate. The music is subtle and clever, and it's clear that this was a labor of love for many of those involved.

    The cast has an unparalleled chemistry that's obvious on the screen, they're all leaving their hearts hanging out, and the nuances they get to, are very perfect companions to the witty and brilliantly crafted script. The dialogue, the plots, ahhhh.... SO good. All of it.

    Do yourself a favor, if you've seen a lot of the cold entertainment crap that's been served up of late, and wondering where all the good times have gone, well, they're sailing the verse in the belly of the good ship Serenity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Just plain good

    A fun crossover of SciFi and Wild Wild West. The characters are a fun blend across the board. The stories have enough holes in the to strain soup, but it's all about a good 40 minute exit from the everyday.
    I rented the series at Netflix and liked it enough to buy. Get the close of the story in the Movie Serenity which is not part of this box set. Worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Future With Roots In The Past

    The rebellion is over, the rebels lost. Former rebel soldiers find themselves unwilling to live under the rule of the Alliance, so they band together in a ship named "Serentity" and head for the edge of civilization, which looks a lot like the "Old West". Ok, I'm a Trekker, so I like being on the edge of known space, phaser in hand. Where Captin Kirk and the crew of the "Enterprise" (almost) always follow Federation regulations, the Captain and crew of "Serenity" go by the "what ever it takes" rule. Warf may growl, but Serenity's "weapons' officer" needs a muzzle. The passengers include a priest and a paid companion--who lends her respectablilty to the crew. Overall, the series is fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Fun/Interesting Series - LOVE it!

    This is a fabulous ensemble cast! We absolutley love these characters and enjoy the storylines. The episodes are filled with fun themes in addition to serious ones. The actors are incredible and work very well together. We would highly recommend these for some wonderful, and often much-needed, escapism. We really wish this series would come back!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent!

    I loved Firefly. I don't watch much regular television but if I had ever watched it in 2002 I would have joined the fight to keep it. Loved the characters, the soundtrack, everything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love the series BUT !!!!

    while playing the first three disc we found out that there are scratches on them. We are very careful with our DVD's so I am thinking when you order from B&N you do not get quality!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Fabulous

    We love this series. The only down side is that it was just one season, although the movie Serenity does answer some questions that would have been dealt with in later shows. It is amusing & engaging for those who enjoy the sci-fi genre (with a western twist).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Light that Burns Half as Long Burns Twice as Bright

    This was an excellent series that was canceled before its time. Thankfully the movie "Serenity" was released to finish things off. The stories, characters, and language all make for an excellent sci-fi series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this series

    Never did catch it when Fox aired it, but heard good things about it. I took a chance and bought the DVD's. I was not disappointed. This is one of the best TV series I have ever seen. It's a shame it was cancelled after a single season.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dang you, Joss Whedon!

    Why do you keep doing this to me??? Every thing this man has created &amp quot Buffy, Angel, Firefly&amp quot has gotten me COMPLETELY addicted! Firefly is awsome. I'm not generally a sci-fi person, but I loved this show. I didn't watch it when it was orriginally aired. I actually learned about it because an actor I liked was going to be in Serenity, and I heard it was based on some TV show I'd never heard of. Looked it up on the internet, and Oh look! It's gonna be on SciFi channel! After the first two episodes I was hooked. HAD to watch the rest of the series, HAD to buy the DVDs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best I've ever had, left me wanting more...

    I've sat here and read many of the comments posted about the Firefly series and agree it was a huge mistake ending the series, as many stated I too never new of the show,and as I found out from other sites it was not pushed or advertised as much as several series at the time what a shame.Love Serenity I watch it over and over,then by mistake I found Firefly and have been hooked ever since.What a huge loss for the people who loved the t.v. show.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9