Customer Reviews for

Fireproof

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A testament to standing by your faith and morals.

Yes, the acting was amateurish. There is only one "professional" actor in the movie. But the message that was put forth in this film transcends any stylish acting, special effects, music soundtracks or Hollywood hype. Being a former civil servant, I truly related to Cal...
Yes, the acting was amateurish. There is only one "professional" actor in the movie. But the message that was put forth in this film transcends any stylish acting, special effects, music soundtracks or Hollywood hype. Being a former civil servant, I truly related to Caleb.
Just like a great sermon, this film felt like it was talking to me, like the Kendricks looked into my life and put it on film.
The fact that this film was made for less than 1/10th the cost of other Hollywood trash and it remained in theaters for as long as it did, and made the kind of money that it did, and is (as of 2/26/09) the sixth best selling DVD on B&N, is truly a testament to the strength and power that Christianity still has in this great country of ours.

posted by Bulldawg on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Uninspiring

I want to first off state that I appreciated Kirk Cameron's vision to come out with a movie about the importance of marriage and the importance of keeping a spiritual aspect in your marriage. Having said that, I found the acting contrived/unbelievable; so much so that ...
I want to first off state that I appreciated Kirk Cameron's vision to come out with a movie about the importance of marriage and the importance of keeping a spiritual aspect in your marriage. Having said that, I found the acting contrived/unbelievable; so much so that I couldn't become emotionally involved with the characters (some of their acting seemed forced & amateurish, like the wife's, for instance). The script was very "sappy", lacking any inspiration. Now, I LOVE spiritually-based movies with a good message, but my husband & I just couldn't get into this movie at all. Sorry, Kirk!

posted by anonymousKU on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A testament to standing by your faith and morals.

    Yes, the acting was amateurish. There is only one "professional" actor in the movie. But the message that was put forth in this film transcends any stylish acting, special effects, music soundtracks or Hollywood hype. Being a former civil servant, I truly related to Caleb.
    Just like a great sermon, this film felt like it was talking to me, like the Kendricks looked into my life and put it on film.
    The fact that this film was made for less than 1/10th the cost of other Hollywood trash and it remained in theaters for as long as it did, and made the kind of money that it did, and is (as of 2/26/09) the sixth best selling DVD on B&N, is truly a testament to the strength and power that Christianity still has in this great country of ours.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Inspirational

    Wonderfully inspirational and thought-provoking for any adult, young and old, whether thinking about marriage or already married. Teaches not only respect towards one's partner but self-respect as well. The movie focuses on Christian love and respect, and teaches that divorce isn't always the answer. It portrays where the focus should be: placing one's relationship in God's perfect hands, not our own faulty ones. I highly recommend this movie for anyone even remotely thinking about divorce or already in the process, and even for couples in a healthy relationship. I was reluctant to watch it just because I was at the point where I couldn't stand my husband and I actually didn't want my marriage to improve. I was actually scared to watch it just because there was a chance my marriage would improve after viewing it (which is absurd, I know, but hey, sometimes you get so fed up with things that you just don't want to put any energy into it anymore. That's where I was). I knew that I had no more energy, I was ready to give up, but instead, I needed to give it up to God - just like Kirk Cameron's character in the movie. I talked to God about my husband and told him this when I was at my wits end and quite frustrated and hurt, "Okay, you created him - he's yours. I can't change him - only YOU can. Please, either change me or change him or take him out of my life. I give him and my marriage to You!" And what do you know? He changed us both (but mostly him <grin>). Maybe that's not the path God would lead you to, but the bottom line is, this movie could be the tool to teach you where to place your priorities or at least give you another option, then God will make the tough decisions for you. All you have to do is follow His lead.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Where Is Your Heart?

    This statement is from the DVD and it speaks volumes, quote: "You never leave your partner behind." Is your marriage fireproof? This is a profound question that each married couple should consider. *This DVD mentions many of the facets/dimensions of a marriage. *Great for those thinking about marriage. *Draws you in. *Emotional. *This is a quality marriage/relationship DVD on lessons of love, listening, and caring for your marriage partner. *Offers insightful advice. *Do a house, a car, and/or a nice employment position determine that a couple will have a good marriage? How does all this hold up when it is gone? These are just some questions to ponder. *This DVD offers quality advice to strengthen a marriage. Also the DVD "Not Easily Broken," is good to watch.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    fireproof

    My husband and I went to watch this movie when it first came to theatres.
    We enjoyed the movie so much, we recommended it to our son and daughter in law. they went and said it was the best movie they have ever watched.
    It's a movie that brings you back to what is important in a marriage. Respect, love, trust, and most important of all....God.
    It's also very refreshing to go to the movies and walk out feeling "Good". When the movie ended, almost everyone was clapping.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very few movies help to transform relationships; this one helps to do so with flying colors.

    Fireproof is a love story that includes the three most important people in a marriage, the husband, the wife and Jesus Christ. With a solid marriage of 32 years behind my husband and me, it added a boost to our own. Also the movie gave a renewal feeling to my children's 3 year marriage and also gave my soon to be married daughter and her fiancée something special to think about in this high pressure world. It was a great tool for learning and spiritual dialog.
    The acting was good but it reminded me more of a made for TV movie then a major motion picture. Don't let that stop you from seeing it. I would like to see more movies like it and applauded the producers, actors and all involved for their contributions.
    Worth every penny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Marriage Turmoil

    It is a passionate story of marriage. The work and effort that goes into preserving marriage is an important social activity and the story gets emotionally involved for anyone in a commitec relationship. The plot goes deep into a basic cultural activity of western civilization. Marriage is never to be entered into lightly and when ruff water strikes, "Fireproof" will bring your focus back to what is truly important.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not to be missed

    This is a good movie to see. Whether you are having trouble or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Fireproof

    Kirk Cameron should be commended for producing this film. The acting and script are a bit suspect at times, especially in the early going, but this should be expected from a film that is largely a labor of love and not budget. Once the initial awkwardness is over you get caught up in very real issues, very real pain, and the fact that it doesn't just tie up in a nice neat Disney-esque package. At times, even with best intentions and effort, their lives still don't work the way they hoped. But, there is a profound spiritual message as well as a strong point about what marriage must be if it is to survive. I would recommend this movie to anyone, but especially to anyone who's relationship is struggling or needs hope.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    FIREPROOF

    My husband and I enjoyed this very much. It is a low budget film and is slow in spots. The over all message is one that all married couples should think about and act out for a successful marriage and partnership.
    We would recommend it to anyone interested in having good relationships in their lifes.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1