BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

First Knight

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This movie is full of romance, action, and self sacrafice. It is wonderfully acted, and was filmed in a beautiful location.
    It is not suitable for children under twelve, due to the whole Lancelot and Gwenever thing. Thankfully they don't go all out like they do in Camelot. The worst thing they do is kiss.
    So it me, it is a wonderful family movie, that is perfect to watch with a fuzzy blanket, coffee and a special treat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    FIRST KNIGHT

    FIRST KNIGHT: With the leading cast of Richard Gere, Julia Ormond, and Sean Connery, this had to be a #1 Movie... Plus the fact that I am fascinated by the Scottish-English-Irish wars and way of life in years past. These people are portraying our ancestors back in the old countries. Sad but true. An absolute MAGNIFICENT film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointing

    The King Arthur legend has been done many times as a movie, and I've been willing to see several of them. I had high hopes for this one, as I love both Connery and Gere. But I was disappointed in this movie as a whole. Connery was good (not great, as he usually is) but Gere was nothing exceptional, as he usually is. Certainly it wasn't the story, as the Arthurian legend is what it is. I think it was the combination of the screenplay, the lackluster performances, and something else I haven't figured out. There are better Arthurian legend movies out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    A lackluster, modernized version of the Medieval tale. This budget production has both uninspired settings and poor costuming, as well as a simplistic script. Lancelot is a cross between a court jester and a country bumpkin, though given his sex appeal, and youth, who would not choose him over Sean Connery's middle-aged King, dressed in blue velvet over what seems to be a surgical truss?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant!

    A wonderful adaptation of the Arthur legend! Outstanding acting, cinematography, and score by screen musical legend Jerry Goldsmith. When Ormond and Gere are together, they burn a hole through the screen! The action shots with Gere are terrific -- he's Bruce Lee with a sword! Ormond is one of the true beauties of contemporary film! This is a must-see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful family film

    This story has been told many times and this is a more quasi-historical more Celtic version filmed beautifully on location in Wales. Great performances. My kids liked at as much as Flynn's Robin Hood probably more. That's the picture this reminds me most of. My daughter and I watch this together at least once a year. Great family film, romance, right and wrong, tragedy, heroism, action. Fine acting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Mockery of The Myth

    A rather unimpressive adaptation of the Arthurian myth with a script adapted to modern voices and values. There isn't a shred of Medieval lore or chivalry in this glitz production. Gere, Connor, and Ormond deliver unimpressive performances that are rigid and without emotion. This has to be one of the worst versions of the King Arthur stories I have ever seen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Good Medieval Movie

    As far as adaptations of the Arthurian legends go, this movie is not good at all. However,it is an example of excellent film-making. It had an almost old-hollywood feel, the cinematography is wonderful, and it is a really beautifully made movie. I was not so thrilled with Richard Gere, but I thought the other members of the cast were fantastic, and the ending has to be one of the best endings I have ever seen. So,if you can get past the fact that this is suposed to be a retelling of Arthurian myth, then I believe you will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    This is a wonderfull tale of King Arthur and Camelot. Sean Connery is great as Arthur so is Gere as Lancelot. The ending is fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2001

    the first knight rocked

    The First Knight was probaly one of the best medieval based movies I have ever seen in my life. I thought that Sean Conerry did an extravagint job as king Arthur and Richard Gere probaly did a better job as lancelot then any other actor has done before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1