Customer Reviews for

Flags of Our Fathers

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good movie

I enjoyed this movie, although I disagree with one reviewer that it was intended to be antiwar. I do not think that was intentional, but when you depict comabat it makes you antiwar. should have nominated for best picture over little miss sunshine.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

NOT ONE OF THE BETTER WWII MOVIES I'VE SEEN

If you read the book then watch the movie, you're going to be horribly disappointed. The characters in the movie are nowhere near like they are in the book. Ira Hayes was actually the quietest man of all of them and in the movie he is a drunken, pyscopathic idiot who bl...
If you read the book then watch the movie, you're going to be horribly disappointed. The characters in the movie are nowhere near like they are in the book. Ira Hayes was actually the quietest man of all of them and in the movie he is a drunken, pyscopathic idiot who blubbers and yells all the time. Doc Bradley only has like two lines in the movie and he is supposed to be the main character, making him very boring. Rene Gagnon was fine, they cast him well. It was almost as if Mr. Eastwood was trying to make it look like no one believed in fighting the war in the Pacific. Doc Bradley says "maybe there are no such things as heroes maybe we just make them up." Very uplifting. This is not Platoon, (a good movie, by the way) Mr. Eastwood. Find another screenwriter and another director.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great War Movie

    This movie is a favorite of mine. I enjoyed watching this film from start to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    NOT ONE OF THE BETTER WWII MOVIES I'VE SEEN

    If you read the book then watch the movie, you're going to be horribly disappointed. The characters in the movie are nowhere near like they are in the book. Ira Hayes was actually the quietest man of all of them and in the movie he is a drunken, pyscopathic idiot who blubbers and yells all the time. Doc Bradley only has like two lines in the movie and he is supposed to be the main character, making him very boring. Rene Gagnon was fine, they cast him well. It was almost as if Mr. Eastwood was trying to make it look like no one believed in fighting the war in the Pacific. Doc Bradley says "maybe there are no such things as heroes maybe we just make them up." Very uplifting. This is not Platoon, (a good movie, by the way) Mr. Eastwood. Find another screenwriter and another director.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good movie

    I enjoyed this movie, although I disagree with one reviewer that it was intended to be antiwar. I do not think that was intentional, but when you depict comabat it makes you antiwar. should have nominated for best picture over little miss sunshine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Film the Polarizes the Audience: Intention Versus Impact

    To give a less than shining review of Clint Eastwood's FLAGS OF OUR FATHERS is tantamount to being labeled un-American. That is sad because for this viewer the result of the film is not whether or not Eastwood's nonlinear development of a story that bumps and spurts and reflects and meanders and shadows reality lets us get to know the 'heroes' cast in the roles of the three men who survived a single incident in the atrocity of WW II: this is a film that hopefully will be ultimately seen as one of the strongest antiwar statements made to date. Eastwood does not preach to us, but he rather pulls the curtain back to see the staggering atrocities committed by both camps of soldiers on Iwo Jima - a mirror for every other battle that tore the world apart during WW II - while showing the true venom of the politicians and high mucky mucks back home, those rather insensitive men who elected to create mannequins out of the three men who just happened to be photographed in one of the most infamous photographs of the war and made them sell war bonds, cashing in on emotions to get the big bucks needed to keep the war machine well oiled. That aspect is the more terrifying. As the writers place the words in the mouth of James Bradley: 'Heroes are something we create, something we need. It's a way for us to understand what is almost incomprehensible, how people could sacrifice so much for us, but for my dad and these men the risks they took, the wounds they suffered, they did that for their buddies, they may have fought for there country but they died for there friends. For the man in front for the man beside him, and if we wish to truly honor these men we should remember them the way they really were the way my dad remembered them'. The cast is very good: Ryan Phillippe, Jesse Bradford, Adam Beach, Barry Pepper, Jaime Bell, Paul Walker, Joseph Cross as the young men and bit parts of the older men played by such luminaries as George Grizzard, Harve Presnell, George Hearn and Len Cariou. The battle photography is staggering and gruesome. No, we never really get to know the true personalities of the boys named as heroes, but having been through a war this viewer can mention that backgrounds and character studies somehow dissolve when young men are thrown into the horror of survival. They were all heroes, whether they survived or not. Eastwood is asking us to look at the heinous futility of war and the depersonalization war causes - except in the tortured memories of those who come home. Grady Harp

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Actually kind of boring and nothing like the other great war movies I have seen. (Apocalypse Now, Full Metal Jacket, The Great Raid, Saving Private Ryan. If I were James Bradley, I would sue Clint for screwing up my book and warping the characters from the novel. Eastwood I don't think had any idea where he was taking this movie. Was it a recollection? Was it told from the island? Did America even capture Iwo Jima. The characters are indescribably boring and bland. Mike Strank should have had more screen time and when the other flag-raisers die, the audience doesn't even feel sad. We don't even know that they were one of the flag-raisers, they just get shot and someone goes "Franklin!" and the audience asks, "he was one of the flag-raisers wasn't he?" The action is mediocre and could have been worlds better. Spielberg was the producer, he should have been sitting in the director's chair. And they should have sent Eastwood on a permanent vacation back to Alcaltraz for destroying a great chapter in American history. Thank God we have the novel and had it long before the movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best WWII films ever made

    Clint Eastwood did a very good job in the telling of The Battle for Iwo Jima. I would have to say this was better than LETTERS FROM IWO JIMA even though it was good too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Proud to be an American

    Outstanding Movie to watch with my Dad a true WWII Vet. It was also a research project for my son"s school report and he needless to say recieved an A+ and learned more than a history lesson. This Movie made me proud to stand here and feel what a true soldier sacrifices for his fellow comrades and the Love of his Country and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Clint: Go back to being a mayor. Your acting & directing days are over. This historic event was trivalized with choppy scenes, too long, phony characters & many other faults that destroyed all sense of value. Won't waste time on the follow up film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fair

    This movie isn't what I expected it to be. Granted, it's a good movie. But the scenes are too chopped up between the battle and stateside issues. The battle scenes are excellent but there doesn't seem to be enough time devoted to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Both book and movie are excellent

    Saw the movie on DVD on 2/07 and read the book last year. As best I can remember from reading the book the movie is very close to the book. In fact the movie seems to bring out the real life of what took place with the Flag Raisers. Not much different than the book. What the movie brings out and does it very well is the emotional side of the Flag Raisers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2