Customer Reviews for

Flyboys

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    There havent been too many movies made regarding this subject. T

    There havent been too many movies made regarding this subject. The last one that I can remember was The BlueMax. This movie is a pleasure since the dog fight scenes have been done in part with CG graphics which wasnt available back in the day. The air battle scenes are with a look alone not to mention that the real Escadrille Squadron had a group of American volunteers who fought the Germans on a voluntary basis. A true story of American and French heroism. Check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Highly recommended for all young men .

    I have encouraged all my 10 Grand children to see this film and to think about serving their country . Also knowing some of those men who have served in the past ...My father served in WW ONE . There are two many young men without GUT's or as they say today Balls.
    Major Frederick C Meier ,Combat Veteran

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Worst Film I Have Ever Seen

    I hated Flyboys. The decision to shoot digital was ill-informed. Try again, Tony Bill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    WRONG ACTORS LISTED

    Jesse James, Reiley McClendon, and Stephen Baldwin are listed in the cast for this movie, but that is incorrect. They are in a movie titled THE Flyboys. theflyboysmovie.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Movie Is The Bomb...Dropped Out Of The Plane!

    This is a fantastic movie that captures all of the excitement, fear, and sorrow of WWI dogfights. Because of all the elements it displays, it is safe to assume it is the finest in its class. Viewers will be delighted to see the fantastic aerial photography, and the culturally diverse characters within the film. Although the film was developed around a low budget, it is a excellent movie, and it shows the true attitude of American WWI pilots. All these reasons show why this is a must see for aviators and other people fasinated by flight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST MOVIE IN A LONG TIME!

    Wow! This movie was great! There really hasn't been any great movies lately, but this was just superb!!!! I LOVED THIS MOVIE! Plus you can't forget how HOT James Fraco is!!!! LOVED IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A very good film, Finaly.

    Hollywood has put out a bunch of trash lately, but this film is well worth seeing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love FLYBOYS it is the best movie in the history of movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An outstanding WWI film even students like

    I used this film as a culminating activity to our study of the World War I classic novel All Quiet on the Western Front. My seniors loved the film, and although some viewers may think the characters were not "real enough," the film led to a good discussion about stereotypical characters (like Rawlings' "cowboy" ways right to the end, Skinner's unfair treatment, Lowry's elitism, etc.), racism, and heroism. I can highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Amazing, Breathtaking movie that puts you on the edge of your seat!

    The movie is puts you on the edge of your seat every second of the movie. It shows love between Rawlings and Lucienne and it also has great bravery. Every single person has their own story in this movie ,which makes it even better with all these different people coming together for a masterpiece. I would recommend seeing this movie if you have not you are truely missing out. Also, this movie is based on a TRUE STORY ,which makes it even better for those people who love those true stories even if they are a little jazzed up. This is a movie to see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Old-Fashioned Period Piece Makes a Fine Film

    FLYBOYS is a pleasure to watch - going back into World War I history that deals with actual events yet takes the time to introduce unforgettable characters and romantic situations while giving the viewer a spectacular view of the first flying fighter planes. Yes, it has its flaws in technical lines, but it has a strong, committed cast and a storyline that flows seamlessly to the end. Tony Bill uses his resources from his countless cinematic experiences in adapting a story by Blake T. Evans (screenplay by Phil Sears, David S. Ward, and Evans) to recreate the legendary Lafayette Escadrille, a disparate group of young Americans who volunteered for the French military to become the country's first fighter pilots before the USA entered World War I. He manages to find the world atmosphere during the Great War, a time when young American boys who had no chance for significance in the tough times USA to go 'over there' to fight the Germans. He begins with the lad Blaine Rawlings (James Franco) who has just lost his family's farm to the bank, with William Jensen (Philip Winchester) who must live up to his family's fame as heroes, with Briggs Lowry (Tyler Labine) whose father sees him as a complete loss to his wealthy gentrified family, with Eddie Beagle (David Ellison) who leaves for war with his sweetheart's picture against his breast, with frustrated black fighter Eugene Skinner (Abdul Salis) - a crew of boys who become bonded through the efforts of the French Captain Thenault (Jean Reno) and the loner flyer Reed Cassidy (Martin Henderson). Planes are designed, the boys are rigorously trained, and off they go to missions never before flown, missions that waste some, and make heroes of others. Along the way Rawlings meets Lucienne (Jennifer Decker), a French girl who speaks no English but whose heart emboldens Rawlings to feats of heroism. The fighting scenes are terrific to watch as they seem to be done with toys, so light are the aircraft that started flying fighters. Yes, there are problems in depicting these missions because there are no stunt men who would dare fly such machines even for a movie. But Tony Bill keeps our attention with his direction and with the aerial cinematography of Henry Braham. The costumes are excellent and the musical score by Trevor Rabin recalls the period well. James Franco and his fellow actors offer solid performances. This is a bit of the past that is well to re-examine: FLYBOYS provides an evening of nostalgia and a fine story though at 140 minutes it could have been edited). Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1