Customer Reviews for

Food, Inc.

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must for Anyone Who Eats

    This movie is a must for anyone who eats or feeds a family meat. I gave up meat years ago because of how it made me feel. I do eat chicken and fish but do cook meat for family and friends. I have gone organic and after seeing this movie - everyone I know who thought I may have gone "over the top" is now grateful. This movie is enightening considering TV commercials by Mr. Purdue who claims his birds are fed marigolds and nothing with hormones or antibiotics. Quite an eye opener and I applaud the female farmer who showed the read Purdue story. We as Americans have the right to decent, healthy food without worrying if we're about to kill or sicken our children or grandchildren with tainted food.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Food, Inc.

    I wasn't sure that I would want to see this film, as I feared it would focus upon the violent and gruesome nature of slaughterhouses. I also do not enjoy self-righteous diatribes or paranoid propaganda. Although there certainly was some provocative footage, the tenor of the film was not sensational. We watched it with our college-age children and had a great discussion how our eating habits impact the world. I don't think that anyone could ever look down the rows of food at a grocery store the same way again, after viewing this film and gaining a bit more perspective about the role of business in our country's food production.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Film

    This is a wonderful film and a must see for anyone who eats.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie

    Very informative and well told; compliments Omnivores Dilema and In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan as well as the book Fast Food Nation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Food Inc

    Have you ever wondered what goes on behind the scenes with your food before it reaches your plate? While most of us might not realize exactly what goes into our food, or at times not even think about it. But director Robert Kenner and his production team seek to bring out the truth about what goes on behind the scenes of the food industry and make it transparent so we all know the truth about what goes into our food so we can make more decisions about what we put into our body.

    There's a lot of mystery in what goes on with our food. Whether it's ingredients we have no idea what they are, or whether it's the general process through which our food goes through, there's a lot that we don't know. The food industry hasn't really helped us in finding out either. Shrouding the farms that work for major industry markets in secrecy, and restaurant chains fighting tooth in nail to avoid giving us nutritional values for the meals we eat it seems as though the food industry as something to hide.

    As depicted in Food, Inc. the food industry does have a lot to hide. Not only do the ingredients that go into our food seem less than savory, but their deplorable treatment of stock animals, farmers, and workers are enough to make anyone sick to their stomach. The filmmakers don't just attack their query though, they try to present both sides of the story from the consumer to the market leaders, unfortunately in the case of the market leaders they more often than not decline to be interviewed. And while this documentary might not answer all of our questions about the food industry, it definitely does a great job at helping us realize that things must change.

    In the end Food Inc. doesn't just tell us about our food, but how the industry has changed things in America altogether. From appointed government officials who formerly worked for big name corporations and have influenced legislation on their behalf, to the food industry's influence on illegal immigration this film approaches all aspects of the trade. I highly recommend this film, not only to open your eyes to what your eating, but to help you understand how and why things need to change.

    5/5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Food is very important!!!

    This movie is a must see and would be great to have it as an educational requirement starting in the 6th grade!!!!
    This information needs to be shared and shared!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I believe a must see for everyone, if more people were to view this movie/book, we will be able to make change

    I was very hestitant to view this movie, but am very glad I did. Some parts were very disturbing and I had to fast forward through. I highly recommend this to everyone, and have told many friends and family to view. As with myself, most are hesitant to watch it. Ones that have are wanting to make a change. I know I have made changes in the products I now select for my family and am very glad I have. We all have a choice and as the gentleman said in the film, every time we go to the store we are voting, and I want more and more people to vote-that way our voices will be heard, and we will be able to make a difference in our food!! Again, a must see for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Food Inc. = Food for Thought

    This is a great documentary for anyone who is trying to make thier life a little greener. An in depth and informative source of information on the food we eat and the way it is produced. The film also shows the corporate giant influence of power over production and the farmers. It also shows you what you can do to help start making changes, as well as, the effects your purchasing power has. It will show you what is in your food and introduce you to some companies and people who are making changes for a better and organic product. Watch this movie and it will have an influence on your shopping list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Information you cant ignore--

    Absolutely riveting.. felt very sad for our country and its politics.. makes you look not only at food but the agencies that we trust to protect us.. one must ask, is money more important than humanity?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    This is a must see. You need to know the truth. Very interesting

    This is a must see. You need to know the truth. Very interesting and kept me watching the whole time. Great! Highly recommend! Don't miss this chance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    A Must See

    Everyone should see this. The truth about where your food comes from is so powerful that if everyone in America saw this MAYBE we would see some changes in food production. The truth is ugly and will truly change how you view food in the supermarket and could help us all make more informed choices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Food Inc will change your mind

    I teach culinary art at a high school level and some of my comrades that teach science turned me on to this film. I am by no means a tree hugger or a veg head but after watching this movie I thought I should share it with my class. I grade them on the notes they take, as well as their participation in an open discussion on the film. As a chef I had been trying to use local farmers for organic or as close to organic produce for some time and continued to do so after leaving the industry. I had already been a big fan of wild game but more so now. I would also like to use organic proteins if possible and if they were more affordable. Watching this film has redirected my family toward a healthy path for our future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Watch and you too will begin to eat differently

    You will not want to think of all the things you have eaten prior to seeing this film. Once you see it, you will never eat the same again--not if you care about yourself or your family. I bought the book after seeing the movie, but the book loses something without the video to make it crystal clear. This is film is so well done that you will forget you are watching a documentary. Luckily I live in an area where farming is still a way of life for some. As such, I have access to organically grown produce, grass fed beef, free range chickens and so much more. Most big grocers are now bringing quality food to their produce and meat sections. We should all be taking a stand against what we are being given for options at our grocery store.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Sure makes you think.......and act!

    I have seen the author on tv and wanted very much to see the movie. Not only does it make you think.....you will never look at chicken the same way. I shop somewhat differently and am much more aware of what I should and should not be eating. It is not easy to just stop everything you do for a lifetime but I will forever feel the effects of this information!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3