Customer Reviews for

For the Bible Tells Me So

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Documentary helpful for friends and family to open their hearts about what it is to be gay.

    I am the Mother of four young adults, three boys and one girl. Two of my sons are gay and have come out about this, four and two years ago. One son struggles, I think, with inner battles more than the other. Both having been raised in a church going family, they have had to overcome obstacles of what the Bible, the Pastor and the church overall says about them. They both also know that their father, my exhusband, doesn't accept that a gay lifestyle is the "right" way to live. Thankfully, I was raised in a nonjudgmental family with understanding for all. Having myself, been raised in this same church, I am saddened at the strong stance they continue to take against my two gay sons. I originally purchased the first two copies, at the request of my son. One for him and one for me. I've shown the video to my parents and my husband who found it helpful. After seeing how informative it was, I loaned my copy to their father, to see if more understanding on the subject might bridge a gap. The jury is still out on that. I have since, purchased yet one more copy to loan to whomever might need it. This documentary is very well done. I think that everyone struggling with this subject or not should see this film. It helps dispel many myths and misunderstandings that people have about gays. Always my biggest question to folks is, "Who in the world, would CHOOSE to be gay?" My kids are beautiful, and I Love them all equally. Hopefully, hearts are changing all over our great country. Thank You for this opportunity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful!!!

    I bought this for my church secretary homophobic mother :)

    I watched it before I gave it to her and I was really touched by this film. It shows all the verses in the Bible that people cling to, saying that homosexuality is an abomination. Then it talks about the neighboring verses that say shrimp is an abomination and mixing fabrics is an abomination. It's funny how people single out things they want to believe and ignore the things they don't.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xWqgD7lGneU

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    If your child states himself as a homosexual, but you are a devo

    If your child states himself as a homosexual, but you are a devoted Christian, would you accept your child, or detest him as a sinner? For the Bible Tells me So depicts the stories of five Christian families with lesbian or gay child and records their reaction towards their children's sexuality based on their religious faith. Several passages in the bible classify homosexuality as a sin: For example, Leviticus 18: 22 says "Do not lie with a man as one lies with a woman: that is abomination". The parents with devoted Christian faith therefore believe that in the eyes of God, their child is a detestable sinner. So as a parent, should they accept their children, or turn away as God did? The film director Gene Robinson states through this movie that this literal interpretation of "abomination" is covering the eyes of many Christians, and what the Bible was trying to say was not to criticize homosexuality. After all, the Bible states that all loving relationships are honored in the bible, although the chapter of Leviticus discourages sexual relationship with families. However the film sends the message across that interpreting the bible in the literal way leads to disgustingly misleading understandings, such as to hate homosexuality. The choice of sex affection is not a choice for a gay or a lesbian, but something that comes innately. To innately hate a human being goes against the Bible, and the film implies that hatred against homosexuality is not what the Bible is trying to get across.
    The film sends this message across by interviewing five families— some with loving stories, and some with tragic endings. The Reitans family, although Christian, were homosexual advocates. This family takes a part of Focus on the Family, and their child Jason goes against the Focus on Family and accuses them of teaching that Bible rejects gay and lesbians. The Mary Lou Wallner family was against their daughter, Anna's sexual preference. They told Anna that homosexuality clearly was a sin and that they were not willing to accept her. Anna, not accepted by her own family and dumped by her lesbian girlfriend, eventually commits suicide. The Mary Lou then finally learns from their daughter's suicide and stands up for gay and lesbian rights. The Poteat Family was the family that was in between: they did not support their daughter's affection towards women, but did not reject her but welcomed her every time she came to their houses. As such, there were a lot of different reactions from Christian families towards homosexuality with their children: God forbids, but it's their family. The families go through the same dilemma, but the different ways of accepting how their child is led to different results: a happy family, or a suicide. It is when the literal interpretation of the bibl leads to a terrible misunderstanding.
    Excessive faith can lead to blindness, and with faith there must be proper knowledge. For example, although people now define abomination as "disgust", at the time when the scripture was written, abomination had a somewhat different meaning of "violation to rituality", which included a lot of other things as trivial as eating some specific food. And throughout the bible Jesus never says anything about homosexuality, and it is too extreme to believe that God forbids homosexuality, ironically when he stated that all forms of love is equal. This movie heartbreakingly portrays the efforts of gays and lesbians to equal their preference with the heterosexuals, and the various different reactions from the five Christian families and thus portraying that the Bible actually does not state that homosexuality is a sin. This movie is highly recommended, especially if you are a Christian who strongly detest homosexuality, or a gay or lesbian yourself who are afraid of revealing yourself because of how other people will think of you as a Christian. Remember, you didn't have a choice, and it is not a sin. It's just the same as how a man loves a woman. The movie, although a documentary, mixes the perfect balance of facts and emotions and delivers a powerful message towards the oblivious and excessively bible-faithful Christians in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Obvious Answer isn't Even Mentioned!

    While the movie is engaging, it's also infuriating at times. The obvious response to Christian homophobia is quite simple...stop being a Christian. That would also be the same answer to Jewish and Muslim homophobia. Leave religion. People walk away from religion every day, and their lives are better for it. It's important to be aware that there are religious people who embrace homosexuality (to an extent), but they're a small minority, overwhelmed by the bigoted majority. If the people profiled in FOR THE BIBLE TELLS ME SO, and their supporters, were to simply leave their churches en masse, that would send a message their clergies couldn't ignore, and their doors would open much, much sooner. But the movie becomes so irritatingly apologetic (offering excuses for what their "holy" books actually say) I could only shake my head in exasperation. Trust me, I understand it's difficult to walk away from one's religion; but in the final analysis, it's what needs to be done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Too focused on just one religion .

    So the Christian Church doesn't approve of Homosexuality. So what? <BR/>Next time do a documentary on what it is like being a homosexual Muslim, the problem is that it would be incredibly hard to find such an individual that is currently living in a Muslim dominated country,such as Iran or Syria. As irritating as the Christian Church can be, you are still protected in America and the UK. At least you have the freedom of your life. Regardless of the Prop.8 fiasco.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1