BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Frequency

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A weak premise, but still a good film

    This is a very emotional film that deals with my favorite theory about filmmaking, “What if…?” What if an atmospheric phenomenon pushes the Aurora Borealis down from Alaska right over NYC in 1969 and thirty years later the same phenomenon occurs again? What would happen? Well in this case an NYC Firefighter Frank Sullivan (Dennis Quaid) is able to communicate with his son John Sullivan (Jim Caviezel) in 1999, while he is watching the “Amazing Mets” play in the 1969 World Series by way of a HAM radio set. John thinks it is a joke as his father has been dead for thirty years and Frank thinks the guy is a nutcase and breaks off contact with him. When the strange occurrence stirs memories within John, he tries to get his Dad back to tell him how to avoid the accident that kills him. Frank listens and pays heed and does avoid the accident, but there are dire consequences for their toying with time. Those consequences also wreak havoc on John’s life in the future as he is an NYC Homicide Detective investigating a number of murders dubbed “The Nightingale Murders” and are linked to a case that began when his Dad was still alive. This is one of those rare films that actually works better on a weak premise. Obviously no one thinks something like this could be possible, but the idea of a second chance I think appeals to everyone. It is quite a tearjerker too, especially the happy-sappy ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Frequency

    This movie is really great. It's mysterious, dramatic, and exciting...a big rush! You need to see it. It's also emotional and somewhat mind-boggling. It can be a little hard to follow, but I love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Frequency

    This is a great movie. It's suspenseful, and it makes you think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent movie--the best!

    This movie is now my all time favorite. The story is really about is the need for a son who loved his father to have him to love and guide him through his life. It is about how people, parents, can affect our lives, and how losing them can keep us longing for them years later ( in the case of the son in this movie, 30 years). See the movie -- I haven't seen a movie that touched me this way in a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    One of my All Time Favorites !!!

    I enjoy this movie every time I watch it. A sweet little movie that the whole family can be touched by and feel good afterwards. Love the Garth Brooks song. It sounds like it was written expressly for the movie. I catch it whenever its on. So glad that so many others feel the same way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Purchase!

    I bought this for my mom's birthday and she absolutely loved it! Great movie and great customer service when I bought it as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazin' Movie

    I am picky with many movies, but I can honestly say that from the first few seconds of Frequency to the last, I was hooked! This is one of those priceless movies that isn't a classic, but that you can repeatedly watch, remaining just as addicted as you were on that first night! It is now my favorite movie of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Definitely needs a soundtrack

    Frequency kept me on the edge of my seat. This has got to be one of the best written movies that I have ever seen. This is one movie I will watch over and over. There should be a soundtrack CD available

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful

    I found this to be an incredibly beautiful, tear jerking, thought provoking movie - something to behold with your entire family. I normally hate baseball, and I hate sci fi, yet I somehow loved this movie. I could watch it again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best movie ever made

    This was the best movie made. I loved it. I think that it had a great story line. It may have not been realistic, but it kept you on the edge of your seat the whole time. It had a happy ending. It didn't leave you feeling depressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Movie and Music Perfect Together

    This was an interesting movie with a twist. It started and then there was the end. So watch it twice or three times to enjoy. Dennis Quaid is charming as ever. By the way a soundtrack would be great so lets work on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Thriller

    This one is a great one that slipped through the cracks. It makes you wonder could this really happen, and if it did what would you do. I agree with reveiwer from sept WHERE IS THE SOUNDTRACK!!! But I did find the Garth Brooks song its on his new cd Scarecrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome - but where's the soundtrack

    This movie was so intense. Although, completely unrealistic, it had you at the edge of your seat the whole time wondering. I loved it and watched it more than a dozen times. It still makes me say, what if? Anyway, I do have a complaint - where is the soundtrack? I loved the song at the end by Garth Brooks, but can't find it anywhere. Any answers?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Totally Edge of your seat!

    This movie was awesome!! I can't believe that it didn't get as much attention as it did. I know several people who pretty much hate most movies, but they loved this. Everyone that I have talked to that has seen it loved it. I'm about to purchase this on DVD, for this is one I'll tell all my friends about!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great movie!

    why did this movie not get rave reviews when released?! this is a really fascinating, edge-of-your-seat movie - - great acting, plot, everything!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2001

    Great movie

    This movie was excellent - great story (new, not the same old plotlines revisted), great characters, great suspense. I have watched hundreds of movies, and still had no idea how it was going to end. Definitely recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Two Thumbs Up Says Ike and Kris

    On a lark, my fiancee and I rented this movie because the one that we wanted at the video store was sold out. I couldn't believe what an outstanding movie this was! Both of us were completely riveted: what a great sci-fi thriller! I thought that Jim Cazaviel was great as ''Lil Chief'' and was that part written for Dennis Quaid or what? The acting was superb, the script was well written . . . this was definitely one of the best movies we saw this year. Too bad it was such a sleeper; they ought to re-release this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A truly outstanding sleeper!!

    Why Frequency didn't get more attention that it did, I haven't got a clue... This movie is excellent in every way. The script, the directing, the acting all conjure up for a great nail biting thriller with plenty of twists and a tinge of emotional backing from Field Of Dreams and Backdraft. Yes, it can be hard to conceive the story at first - so pay close attention! I loved the way the characters and the subtleties of the family were brought to the screen... I thought this was a perfect role for Quaid. And while it does evoke an emotional ending, it's not nagging on your heart strings all the way through... It also contains some good funny moments too. Yahoooooo. =) A well recommended feel good movie. Great for when you get lost in the day-2-day, and you're trying to figure which way is up... The DVD packs excellent bonuses with deleted scenes, scientific theories and audio commentary. The music of Michael Kamen and Garth Brooks is great 2.. What more can I say - Stop reading and go buy it! =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Soundtrack?

    I loved this movie but is there a soundtrack? Where can I get that great Garth Brooks song played at the closing credits?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sleeper movie of 2000

    We went to see this movie because most others were sold out - what luck! This is definitely the sleeper movie of the year 2000. It's nice to come out of the movie theater and feel as though you got your money's worth. I just got a dvd player - and this is going to be my first dvd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2