Customer Reviews for

Friday

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Dumb Funny

    I love it. Classic on Blu-Ray. Couldn't get better. Will they ever bring Scarface on Blu-Ray?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    True Classic Movie

    This movie will forever be on my all time favorite list. It was hilarious! The sequels were good but they can't compare to this one because it had Chris Tucker in it. Holla!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can I borrow y'all VCR? I need to dub a tape

    I've seen this movie many and I mean many times. It’s very funny and it simply shouldn't be analyzed. A plot doesn't exist in this comedy, nor is this a character-driven vehicle, but it's a wild ride from start to finish without much of a high budget. “Friday” is an urban comedy that depicts a single day in the life of Craig (Ice Cube), who has just been fired on his day off. Craig's off day consists of interactions with various characters in the neighborhood. They include his cantankerous dad (John Witherspoon) his lovable mother (Anna Maria Horsford) his sister Dana (Regina King) his spoilt girlfriend Joi (Paula Jai Parker) his love interest (Nia Long) Deebo (Tiny "Zeus" Lister Jr.) the hulking neighborhood bully Big Worm (Faizon Love) the neighborhood gangster and his token friend Smokey (Chris Tucker). There's not a lot that can be said about the acting and most of the help comes from the supporting characters. Such as, Chris Tucker who steals the show with his landmark role as ultra-pothead Smokey. Tucker has that unrelenting comic energy that only a comedian of supreme talent can possess. Even when the film falls flat, he picks you back up. I also have to commend John Witherspoon, as Ice Cube's father. I loved him on "The Wayans Bros." and I loved him in this movie. Though I was laughing most of the time, the gags are indeed crude--very crude. And sometimes that crudeness just wears out. Luckily, it's not too often, and there are some memorable lines and memorable moments in "Friday." I feel as though this is one of the better movies about the hood. It’ really more than just a comedy instead it puts forth a deeper meaning in life. It is about facing one's fears and becoming a man. In one scene, the father sees Craig with a gun and tells him that holding a gun won't make him man it's having the courage to fight with his fists that will. Now, I know this doesn't sound like the greatest thing for a parent to be telling his kid, but in the projects fighting with one's hands instead of picking up a gun is courageous. This movie is great to own as well as the Ice Cube-based sound track.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nothing But Gut Wrenching Laughter!!!

    No matter how hard you try, Chris Tucker will make you cringe with laughter throughout the whole movie. As this ghetto satire about two young men speding their friday afternoon braving the mean streets unfold, you'll wish you could rewind each scene faster. That is just how funny this movie truly is, Buy it today, you won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    TGIF

    rent it, buy it, borrow it, steal it, i don't care so long as you see it, this film is hilarious

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Friday review

    This is a f**king good movie, it's great. It is the greatest movie I have ever seen. its a must seen movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREATEST MOVIE!

    This is a great movie. It is hilarious. I love it. You have got to rent or buy this movie, AND YOU KNOW THISSS MAN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The funniest Movie I've ever seen

    Man, If you ever want to see something original and something that you will remember forever, this is the movie that you want to watch. Hilarious. You will start knowing the words off the top of your head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1