BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Friday Night Lights

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    In the book, Friday Night Lights by, H.G Bissinger, I think the

    In the book, Friday Night Lights by, H.G Bissinger, I think the book was a good book. I like the book not only because I am a football player but also it kept me on my toes the whole book. My favorite character is Boobie Miles he the one of the biggest pieces on the football team, and getting plenty of top-notch colleges attention. I was kind of bummed about what happened to him and how he ended up. I can relate from Boobie Miles just from being a running back on a football team. The story was mostly about how a football team can make it to the top even with Africans on the team, because back then there were was racism in Odessa, Texas. Also how stars can loss so much in one second or in this situation, in one play. I think the theme of the story is that life is not always fair, for example Boobie miles went from being a high school hero to an average player/ kid. I think this book is for people that like sports, football in particular. I liked the book because it has a great story behind it.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Best serious football movie

    If you want to see some hilarious football shows, check out The Replacements and Adam Sandler's remake of The Longest Yard. But FNL is gripping stuff: like its surroundings, Odessa was mired in an economic wasteland and the people looked to a group of teenaged boys to inspire them. Billy Bob Thorton's performance as Coach Gaines was terrific - I often wonder if the real guy was that skilled at turning on the animal just before and during games and then switching it off to be 100% calm and composed as soon as the final whistle sounded. Then we have Miles, the supremely gifted athlete who puts down teammates and opponents until he suffers a life-changing injury and finally learns the world isn't just about him. Mike was interesting as the QB, trying to lead his team despite a very difficult family situation. Garrett Hedlund did a great job portraying a fumble-prone fullback dealing with a mentally disturbed father - even in public. That made the last scene between those two exceptionally powerful. Also, the coach's final speech and the song used at the end of the title game were perfect - all, of course, due to the crazy intensity of that matchup.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Friday Night Lights

    H.G. Bissinger was born in New York City in November of 1954. He spent time writing for the Philadelphia inquirer. Friday Night Lights by H.G. Bissinger is about a small town in Texas called Odessa. Permian High school football is a way of life and almost every kid dreams of wearing the black and white under Friday night lights some day. Permian's goal in the 1988 season was to reach the state championship. The competition is high and the road is tough, but will they find a way to get it done? What I found interesting in the novel Friday Night Lights was the descriptions of the characters and the setting. For example, in the beginning of the novel they described Odessa (the town) and Boobie Miles (star running back) extremely well. The descriptions were always clear, and I felt like I knew the characters and I lived in the Odessa. I also found the point of view changes very interesting. In the novel there were many point of view changes; in one chapter the point of view was from Boobie Miles. But the next was from a former Permian High player from the 1960's. Next I found that the language was interesting because the novel was based in Texas and some words I have never seen before or spelled differently. For example morning was spelled as mornin. Finally I thought that the plot was interesting and it had twists and turns. The weaknesses I found in the novel were that there wasn't too much plot about the football games, more about practices and the day of a game. In the novel there was not much game plot. Another weakness I found was the racism. I realized that people are still racist and it made me feel uncomfortable. The next weakness was that there wasn't a main protagonist. It was many peoples point of view and the book could have been better if it had a protagonist. Finally a weakness that came to my attention was the adjectives. Even though the novel Friday Night Lights had many weaknesses, it still was one of my favorite books. The strengths towered over the weaknesses and it was very enjoyable to read. I am looking forward to seeing the movie this weekend. If you love football like I do, I would recommend reading this Friday Night Lights, by H.G. Bissinger

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the worst movies of 2004.

    I went to this movie in the theater, because I thought it would be good. But it wasn't. It was like a boring documentary. I went to this movie thinking I would like it, because I really liked "Remember the Titans", "The Rookie", "Miracle", and "Radio". But the movie was extremely boring. If I could have walked out of any movie in 2004, this would have been the one. This movie was absolutely horrible and I would not recommend it to anyone. During the movie, I looked at my watch a lot to see how much was left of the movie. Nothing can explain how horrible this movie truly was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just an OK movie....

    This movie was just "OK". It didn't build up the characters enough for you to really care about them. The action was good but you just couldn't care enough about these characters. Why was Billy Bob selling his house? Why did his wife ask him to move to Alaska? If you want a good football movie with great character depth and action, get "Remember the Titans".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    This is an awesome movie, it goes in depth describing Texas high school football. In Texas it is either life or death. The movie shows the struggle of high school players who want a championship for their town, coach, and themselves. Great movie for any football player no matter what level. Highly recommend watching if u like football.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SEE FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS!

    I have seen fridaynight lights and it was good .The movie is about a small town in texas and how thyat the football games on friday where relly big every one went to the football games on fridaynight's. It all so gives you a look of how some perents might be if they drink .Tim McGraw plays a father that well is abusive and drinks a lot because he just want his son to do good and what he did not do on his high school football team when he played for the high school that his son gose to and plays for in the moviejoanna

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EASLIY ONE OF THE BEST SPORTS MOVIES EVER

    Friday Night Lights is easily in the class of such movies like Field of Dreams, Remember the Titans, Hoosiers, and Miracle. The name of this class would be 'Best Sports Movies of All Time.' Friday Night Lights has a great story, great acting, and one of the best movies containing shots of the game of football. A must-buy for any football fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Greatest Football Movie Ever

    Friday Night Lights is easily the greatest football movie ever made and ranks in the top with other great sports movies. If you buy one sports movie all year, make it this one. The acting is superb, the story is deep, the football scenes are intense and realistic, and it is a real life look at a town that revolves completely around high school football.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I'm a big Billy Bob fan!

    Great movie! Billy Bob's performance is top-notch! The football action and plot twists were really cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great!

    This movie deserves an award for Best Picture. It is sad, realistic, and a surprising ending! I was kind of disappointed at the movie's ending, but when it was over, all I could think about was Billy Bob Thorton's Oscar-Winning performance in this great sports movie. I would give this movie 4 stars if it would have had a better ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1