Customer Reviews for

Full Metal Jacket

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    R. Lee Irmey is a scary dude!!

    This movie was brilliant. I never read the book but all the actors were terrific. War is hell, just watch this movie. R. Lee Irmey scared me. He & Vincent D'Onofrio should have won oscars! They were robbed!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I'm marine veteran and the first half of this movie even scares me!!!

    Now, being a former U.S. Marine drill instructer, I have to say I wish the intial training for these new marines was like it used to be. It is very accurately portrayed in this movie and gunnery sargeant hartman even scares the hell out of me!! This movie was the catalyst that made my son want to join the marines. Unfortunatley, we cant treat these new marines like we used to. We have to be soft on them. no profanity, no hitting, no namecalling. No wonder these new marines go AWOL all the time and get caught doing drugs. I recommend this movie for everyone old enough to enlist! But be weary, I now have one foot. I lost my right foot during a training exercise during peacetime. This is what the marine core did for me and I admit it isnt for everybody.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one seriously amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    one seriously amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    All-Time Great War Movie

    What else needs to be said about this movie that hasn't already been said in the 18 years since it's release? But I will add that this movie was filmed in 'open matte'. So the DVD is called Pan and Scan but it's really the ORIGINAL DIRECTOR'S INTENT. Cover portions of the top and bottom of the screen and you have the widescreen picture that was shown in theaters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a disturbed masterpeice

    Full Metal Jacket might be the best movie about the mentality of a soldier in Vietnam. Kubriks characters are nothing short of brilliant. From the dictating Gunnery Sergeant Hartman, played by Lee Ermey, to the nervous, and sometimes paranoid squad leader, Cowboy, played by Arliss Howard, and the characters in between, all of them have there own viewpoints on the war. Some belive that the war is pointless, that America is there to, in a sense, make us look tougher. Others believe that this is the most important foreign struggle in the world. The movie, tough very dark, has its share of humor thanks to Lee Ermey's tough and vulgar comments to his squad. This movie is one for the ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    IGNORE THE 'HISTORY BUFFS'

    TAKE THIS FILM FOR WHAT IT IS...ENTERTAINMENT! THIS FILM IS WORTH RENTING IF ONLY FOR THE BOOT-CAMP SCENE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Th Truth

    This film is unquestionably the best war film ever made. It shows the futility and horror of war without demeaning the characters. The unrelenting imagery is haunting and deeply moving. A must see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great

    The acting is great and the directing is wonderful. It accuractly portrays the trauma of volunteer marines in the Vietnam War. Some grpahic images may still be with you after you've seen it. Full Metal Jacket is without a doubt,one of the great war movies ever made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Loved It!!

    I loved every part of the movie, but more especially the boot camp scenes. This movie is what started America`s love affair with R.Lee Ermy (which was a former Marine and DI). Even Force Recon even said that anyone going to Marine recruit training needs to watch this and take notes. It was a great dramatic and action-packed movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant, just...brilliant.

    The movie deserves 5 stars just for the boot camp part. (A real marine drill instructor was cast as the d.i.) A great depiction of boot camp and vietnam, realistic or not. Kubrick has forgone character development to use his charcaters to present a story of lost innocence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2