Customer Reviews for

Galaxy Quest

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hysterical!

    The cast interviews are especially enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Never give up, never surrender!

    I've been a Tim Allen fan from the get-go, long before "Home Improvement". I'm SO glad he did this film. Not only did he earn his pay on this piece, the rest of the cast was outstanding. I was surprised at the comic abilities of Sigourney Weaver and Alan Rickman, and Enrico Colantoni's Mathesar was HIGH-larious! I liked the interplay betweeen Tony Shalhoub and Missy Pyle, and Sam Rockwell knew how to make an existential crisis side-splitting (remember all the guys who wore red shirts on the original "Star Trek" who were killed off within the first few minutes of some episodes?). If you've ever been to any conventions, this hits WAY close to home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Similar to another movie

    This reminded me alot of The Three Amigos, where actors are mistaken to have the abilities of the characters they portray, and are forced to deal with a real-life situation. Funny as heck though especially if you have any idea what Star Trek is like. Good for a rental.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    remarkably funny for Trekkies and non-Trekkies alike

    Galaxy Quest is an entertaining, often hilarious, comedy for Trekkies and the uninitiated alike. Everyone knows Star Trek is a pop-cultre icon, spawning legions of faithful fans. From that premise, the movie introduces the has-been crew of Galxy Quest, a defunct TV show whose cast has grown older and more contentious as they attend Galaxy Quest conventions and make appearances before fans. The movie hits its stride in the first scene, intoducing the cast as they wait to make a reluctant convention appearance. Then Tim Allen, playing the "captain," meets real aliens who have duplicated all the technologies from the show, guided by intercepted transmission of Galaxy Quest episodes (what their culture thinks are "historical documents"). The aliens want Allen to help them through negotiations with an evil reptilian alien, and eventually the entire cast, Sigourney Weaver, Allan Rickman, Tony Shaloub, and two other actors whose names I forget join him aboard the spaceship. There they must somehow defeat the reptilian aliens in a series of misadventures including the obligatory space minefield and hostile alien planet. The comedy comes from the cast's bickering (especially between Allan and Rickman, a frustrated British actor who takes exception to Allen's hamming) and from their attempts to actually become the crew of the Galaxy Quest spaceship. Sigourney Weaver is just right as the busty communications officer, trying to make the most of her useless job (on the TV show she repeats the computer's voice updates), and the rest of the ensemble, including the innocently trusting aliens, are a treat to watch. Add in a tightly plotted script that does everything it needs to do without overdoing anything, and you have an intelligent and truly funny movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hysterically FUNNY!

    I absolutely LOVE this movie and yes, if you know anything of the original Star Trek series, it's a real hoot! Sam Rockwell is hysterical in his role as an 'extra' on the show--true to the show! Tony Shalhoub is also terrific in his role--such a class act!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GALAXY QUEST ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this movie!!!! OH MY HECK!!! It is really funny!! I love the alien guys. This movie made me laugh a lot!!!! If you want a realy funny movie watch this and your guarenteed a laugh!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must Have!

    This is a must have for any serious sci-fantasy / enthusiast-- a feel good movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Trekkie Spoof

    This film is very funny. I am sure the the actors had a great time playing their parts. It shows on screen. This film is not only a spoof on the original Star Trek series and its cast, but on sci fi conventions in general. You will be laughing all the thru this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1