Customer Reviews for

Gangs of New York

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They don't speak English in New York any more?

    For a movie that was almost 3 hours, I never managed to get bored. Viewers will love to hate Daniel D. Lewis in this role. What a performance! Many ancestors could have been part of these gangs. How people survive the times is a thought that comes to mind while watching. I can only hope that the violence depicted in the film was somewhat inflated. Have things changed since the late 1800s? Sure, but gangs still exist and corruption is more rampant than ever. In the 1840s. Natives and Irsih Americans fight to the death in New York, resulting in the death of Irish leader Priest Vallon (Liam Neeson) and Native Bill The Butcher's (Daniel Day Lewis) undisputed rule of the city's criminal underworld. Vallon's son, Amsterdam (Di Caprio) escapes. And after growing into an anonymous young man, returns to reap his revenge, yet unwittingly becomes the butcher's protégé... Scorsese was bringing a long treasured project to the screen with Gangs, creating a hype that suffered from setbacks, delayed releases and mixed reviews. In hindsight what we have is no masterpiece, but it remains an undeniably good film, with many fine qualities to make up for its flaws. Scorsese's recreation of the city is stunning: the level of detail completely immerses the viewer into an atmosphere scarcely read of in History books. Moreover, the rich criminal world depicted here maintains a delicate balance of understandability and chaos. Scorsese couples this with his flair for music to create a truly intoxicating mood. The photography reinforces the overall effect tenfold, wonderfully sustained and carrying scattered sparks of pure genius. For example: in one shot, Scorsese pans from newly arrived immigrants who are welcomed, given the nationality, provided a uniform, and enlisted into the Union army to coffins of dead soldiers being unloaded on another peer. Ultimately, a film lives or dies by its screenplay and acting, and herein lies Gangs of New York's polarizing point. Whether you focus on the slightly uneven story (oddly shortened in places by pressured editing) or the fantastic performances will determine whether Gangs makes it or breaks it, but for its sheer visual power and acting it deserves to be seen. Leonardo DiCaprio, Cameron Diaz, Brendan Gleeson and John C. Reilly are all a joy to see when on top form, but the true feast here is Daniel Day Lewis's grand-standing, violent and xenophobic Bill The Butcher. A role that Robert De Niro (for whom it was originally intended over the years) The chances of this film becoming a favorite are slim, but at the very least you'll walk away with an indelible character to remember.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bookends for Scorcese

    Martin Scorcese is rightfully regarded as the director of the modern gangster genre. With the Gangs of New York, Scorcese finally bookended his previous projects with organized crime in New York at its peak and at its fall. Now he describes how it started. It's interesting how Scorcese always is fascinated with the tale of the American immigrant gone afar, whether Irish or Italian (the preeminent immigrant groups pre-Hispanics). Daniel Day-Lewis gives the performance of his life, paying a tribute to his Irish heritage in the process. DiCaprio and Diaz make formidable appearances also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AN AMAZING PIECE OF MOVIEMAKING.

    Martin Scorsese is a true cinematic genius who has woven another masterpiece with "Gangs of New York". Despite detractors, this is the best picture of 2002 that got way too much negative attention. The brilliant characters pale in comparison to the sets and every technical achievement possible. It is sometimes difficult for an epic to provide characterization like this film does. Daniel Day-Lewis is a brilliant actor who should have won the Oscar for creating one of the most memorable screen villains ever seen with a tour de force performance that no other actor could have pulled off as well. The other actors don't pull off their parts as well, but they make the film work fine. People dismissed this film as bad just because it wasn't as good as "Raging Bull" or "GoodFellas". It may not be as good as those films, but those films have become the gold standard of Scorsese that no critic will let any Scorsese film match, but this film is just too good to be pushed aside as a film that didn't live up to Scorsese filmmaking. Don't let the critics get you down Martin, you keep making films the way you want!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST MARTIN SCORSESE FILM I HAVE EVER SEEN

    A great Martin Scorsese film. This is one of my faveriot films I remeber I rented this July 4 2003 and when the film was over i just could not believe how great it was acted and directed and how it didnt win best picture i meen the two towers had a good picture but i thought gangs of new york should of won. Daniel Day-Lewis did great job doing William Cutting aka Bill The Butcher he is one of my faveriot villans next to Hannible Lector. Leo and Diaz also did a great job playing in this film. This film is so interesting you just cant stop watching it untill you have to put in the 2nd dvd. Martin Scorsese did a wonderful job directing this film. This has very good and bloody battle scenes a great revenge and love story. They did a great job showing how life in the five points were like and showing what the draft riots was like and how they had to get the army to stop them. This is the best martin scorsese film this is another on film on my top 5 faveriot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So disappointing...

    Martin, what happened Martin!? Scorcese goes from movies like Taxi Driver and Casino to this piece of garbage? The story was awful, I felt NOTHING for the main characters, and the ending was stupid and out of place. The only redeeming quality was the direction, Martin still knows his stuff. I think what happened was Scorcese decided to make a history lesson in stead of a good movie...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie Ever

    This movie is excellent! All though violent it does show the struggles the Irish went through when they came here, my grandmother remembers being treated like the irish are in this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A movie that makes you think

    I loved this movie..... As I watched,it made me realize that even though times have changed.People have'nt....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazingly Awful

    This long awaited film from one of the finest filmakers in history was thoroughly dissapointing. Poorly written, bombastic, terribly miscast (save Daniel Day-Lewis's performance) and lacking any semblance of character development. I had a difficult time sitting through this film. I had a difficult time watching a supposed ''romance'' brew between Leo and Cameron. I had a difficult time not predicting the entire movie after 5 minutes. I had a difficult time finding anything redeeming about this movie except the sets and a few glimpses of wonderful cinematography. A lousy movie indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Second Best EVER!!!

    This is the second best movie of all-time, only second to Seven. I don't like Leonardo DiCaprio, but he was excellent in this movie. The movie was TOTALLY believable despite the remarks on this page. It's called imagination, get one. I suggest EVERYONE see this movie atleast once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the worst i have seen

    i really disliked this movie. The battle scenes were so unreal it was like i was watching a sci-fi movie. their faces were just so odd and insane-like. it wasnt an i-loath-you insane but like they were all on speed. It was also REALLY blood-and-gutsy. and were we suposed to cry at the end? if we were, that bombed too. i felt nothing, and i cry in EVERY movie. i just kept wanting to turn it off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the worst movies ever!

    This movie was a great example of horrible acting, a horrible script, a weak plot and the most unrealistic story I have ever seen. The attempt to make it historical and ''deep'' was pathetic. The disgusting violence and eye-rolling action sequences is probably the best part of this movie. Not worth anyone's time or money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good

    Although I didn't like the violence, GANGS OF NEW YORK is brilliantly done by Martin Scorcese (sp.). It tells of a history that not many people know about. The costumes are also great as are the sets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just incredible!!

    Nothing sugar coated about this movie. Unforgiving, brutal, dog eat dog exsistence is what life was about so long ago. This movie was great from beginning to end. I'm disappointed that it didn't get an oscar though, this movie definitely deserved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ok, interesting thoughts but lacking a story

    I saw previews of this movie, and thought it seemed interesting. The Irish vs. the Natives. I love fighting movies. However, this movie was interesting at first, but it did not stay that way. Plus, the violence was poorly acted out. If anyone says that it is a bloody movie, they lie. It didn't show any gore at all, thus i give it only four stars. Otherwise, it was interesting...the rivalry, the revenge. Nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best of 2003!

    Martin Scorsese once again obtains the right to be called the best active director in the film industry with this salute to the epics of yester-year. Nobody else would have been able to make this movie like Scorsese. He gives us filmmaking at the highest level; where most of his films are. He once again gives us a great character of American cinema, Bill the Butcher, played spectaculary by Daniel Day-Lewis. All technical aspects of this film are perfect, and should have won Oscars. This movie will be remembered among critics and movie fans for years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this movie rules!

    This is the best movie ever. ''Bill the Butcher,'' is a dark, vile, rememberable villian played extremely well by daniel-day-lewis. Leo is a very talented actor who portrays his character with grace and style. This movie rocks. Everyone should see this movie, because it tells about how our country started out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harsh Reality!

    All together brutal from beginning to end. A grim look at a life few know about,and a time that shaped the america of today. A modern masterpiece!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Overrated

    Traditionally a fan of Martin Scorsese's films, I am not particularly fond of Gangs of New York. When I heard of the film, I assumed it was to be a portrayal of life in NY during the days of Irish gangs and Civil War contraversy. I was displeased at the amount of historical inaccuracy surrounding the entire movie. Casting was poor (Leo is not a very good irishman, Ms. Diaz could have been replaced by a less famous star). Daniel Day Lewis, however, was phenominal in his role. I generally felt that the movie dragged. Mr. Scorsese, what can I say? One cannot squeeze blood from a stone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST PICTURE OF 2002

    ''Gangs of New York'' is one of the best movies I have seen in my life. Martin Scorsese delivers yet another masterpiece with this long-awaited movie. Every thing in the film is Oscar-worthy, but got passed up, because people couldn't take thier eyes off ''Chicago''. Daniel Day-Lewis is alone worth the price of admission as the ruthless 19th century thug.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best old time movie

    this is my favorite leonardo movie i love this film and all of the actors in it.by far one of the best performances of the year

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2