Customer Reviews for

Gangs of New York

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bookends for Scorcese

    Martin Scorcese is rightfully regarded as the director of the modern gangster genre. With the Gangs of New York, Scorcese finally bookended his previous projects with organized crime in New York at its peak and at its fall. Now he describes how it started. It's interesting how Scorcese always is fascinated with the tale of the American immigrant gone afar, whether Irish or Italian (the preeminent immigrant groups pre-Hispanics). Daniel Day-Lewis gives the performance of his life, paying a tribute to his Irish heritage in the process. DiCaprio and Diaz make formidable appearances also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AN AMAZING PIECE OF MOVIEMAKING.

    Martin Scorsese is a true cinematic genius who has woven another masterpiece with "Gangs of New York". Despite detractors, this is the best picture of 2002 that got way too much negative attention. The brilliant characters pale in comparison to the sets and every technical achievement possible. It is sometimes difficult for an epic to provide characterization like this film does. Daniel Day-Lewis is a brilliant actor who should have won the Oscar for creating one of the most memorable screen villains ever seen with a tour de force performance that no other actor could have pulled off as well. The other actors don't pull off their parts as well, but they make the film work fine. People dismissed this film as bad just because it wasn't as good as "Raging Bull" or "GoodFellas". It may not be as good as those films, but those films have become the gold standard of Scorsese that no critic will let any Scorsese film match, but this film is just too good to be pushed aside as a film that didn't live up to Scorsese filmmaking. Don't let the critics get you down Martin, you keep making films the way you want!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST MARTIN SCORSESE FILM I HAVE EVER SEEN

    A great Martin Scorsese film. This is one of my faveriot films I remeber I rented this July 4 2003 and when the film was over i just could not believe how great it was acted and directed and how it didnt win best picture i meen the two towers had a good picture but i thought gangs of new york should of won. Daniel Day-Lewis did great job doing William Cutting aka Bill The Butcher he is one of my faveriot villans next to Hannible Lector. Leo and Diaz also did a great job playing in this film. This film is so interesting you just cant stop watching it untill you have to put in the 2nd dvd. Martin Scorsese did a wonderful job directing this film. This has very good and bloody battle scenes a great revenge and love story. They did a great job showing how life in the five points were like and showing what the draft riots was like and how they had to get the army to stop them. This is the best martin scorsese film this is another on film on my top 5 faveriot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie Ever

    This movie is excellent! All though violent it does show the struggles the Irish went through when they came here, my grandmother remembers being treated like the irish are in this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A movie that makes you think

    I loved this movie..... As I watched,it made me realize that even though times have changed.People have'nt....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Second Best EVER!!!

    This is the second best movie of all-time, only second to Seven. I don't like Leonardo DiCaprio, but he was excellent in this movie. The movie was TOTALLY believable despite the remarks on this page. It's called imagination, get one. I suggest EVERYONE see this movie atleast once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just incredible!!

    Nothing sugar coated about this movie. Unforgiving, brutal, dog eat dog exsistence is what life was about so long ago. This movie was great from beginning to end. I'm disappointed that it didn't get an oscar though, this movie definitely deserved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best of 2003!

    Martin Scorsese once again obtains the right to be called the best active director in the film industry with this salute to the epics of yester-year. Nobody else would have been able to make this movie like Scorsese. He gives us filmmaking at the highest level; where most of his films are. He once again gives us a great character of American cinema, Bill the Butcher, played spectaculary by Daniel Day-Lewis. All technical aspects of this film are perfect, and should have won Oscars. This movie will be remembered among critics and movie fans for years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this movie rules!

    This is the best movie ever. ''Bill the Butcher,'' is a dark, vile, rememberable villian played extremely well by daniel-day-lewis. Leo is a very talented actor who portrays his character with grace and style. This movie rocks. Everyone should see this movie, because it tells about how our country started out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harsh Reality!

    All together brutal from beginning to end. A grim look at a life few know about,and a time that shaped the america of today. A modern masterpiece!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST PICTURE OF 2002

    ''Gangs of New York'' is one of the best movies I have seen in my life. Martin Scorsese delivers yet another masterpiece with this long-awaited movie. Every thing in the film is Oscar-worthy, but got passed up, because people couldn't take thier eyes off ''Chicago''. Daniel Day-Lewis is alone worth the price of admission as the ruthless 19th century thug.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best old time movie

    this is my favorite leonardo movie i love this film and all of the actors in it.by far one of the best performances of the year

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''GANGS'' FALLS SHORT ON OSCARS BY WAR

    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie from start to finish and I usually never see a movie more than one time in the theatre. But I was very disturbed that Scorcese was nocked to the side at the awards show, not even recieving one oscar for a great representation of how life WAS in New York City in the 1800's. I find it that way because we are at war, and the academy would rather give praise to the happier and more sorrowful films like chicago and the pianist. Both films were great i bet, but because a piece of work can(in some ways) relate to war times now doesn't mean that it should be forgotten or left out. In my opinion I would rather watch a movie about true times in America, than watch another holocaust film, or all that jazz!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2