Customer Reviews for

Gattaca

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!

    This movie is one of my favorites. I watched it in my biology class in the beginning of the school year and i fell in love with it. It is one of those "what if" movies, that really get your mind thinking. It has amazing actors, its funny and there is even romance. This movie just is amazing awesome, i can't get enough of it. It really shows the direction in which our world is going .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jude Law. 'Nuff Said.

    We watched this in my science class and it was amazing! You should watch it just to see Jude Law and his beautifulness. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A hidden gem

    I don't remember what I expected when I first saw this film over ten years ago. What I do rememeber, however, was being blown away by how poignant and spiritual the movie turned out to be. It may be an everyday story of someone who is unsatisfied with his lot in life, and chooses extreme measures to attain that which no one said he could. Do not let the science fiction backdrop of the story fool you this film is about human nature at it's most ambitious, exposing parts of our psyche that have been there since there was an "us". The synopsis is a click away, so I won't go into deep detail about this movie. One may read about the conclusion and think it's not worth seeing because the end is spoiled. Actually, it's the journey the characters take to get to the end that is most appreciated. How each one has their own personal demons to deal with, even in a society where perfection is afforded to those who can afford it. This movie is most definately underappreciated in these days of remakes and adaptations and reality tv. I would recommend it to anyone who aspires to be more than they were born.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Fiction becoming more relevant. Gattaca was a fictional movie a

    Fiction becoming more relevant. Gattaca was a fictional movie a decade ago and the idea of genetic engineering
    had been science fiction for quite some time, but here they show us a future where a science team set to 
    explore a moon in space is upbrought almost entirely through artificial insemination, using the best genes
    as a requirement for employment. They quickly began to shun "god child's" as primitive forms of procreation,
    but find out that the highly motivated godchild is able to compete and is even selected to be an astronaut. Nowadays, it is becoming more and more common to see people selecting genes to upbring children and even paying a hundred grand for a chance to have genes mixed in for their baby. Although the movie is pretty dark it still displays a cutting edge idea that was manifested by authors like Aldous Huxley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Highly recommended - you must see it

    Gattaca is the perfect example of mans cognitive dissonance with progression and imperfection. The battle between wanting more and being your best and then realizing you are your best. You have to watch it. It will change the way you see yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    AMAZING MOVIE! THIS MOVIE I HAVE WATCHED OVER AND OVER AND IT DO

    AMAZING MOVIE! THIS MOVIE I HAVE WATCHED OVER AND OVER AND IT DOESNT GET OLD. THIS MOVIE IS ONE OF MY FAVORITES OF ALL TIME. ITS ABOUT SCIENCE AND HOW SCIENCE HAS EVOLVED THROUGHOUT HISTORY AND THIS MOVIE SHOWS A SNEAK PEEK OF THE FUTURE WE COULD BE HEADING TO. GREAT MOVIE, GREAT ACTORS. GREAT FILM.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A look into the future

    I love this movie, I can watch it over and over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Gattaca

    Gattaca, a film by Andrew Niccol and starring Ethan Hawke, Uma Thurman and Jude Law is a sci-fi thriller with the power to inspire! The world of Gattaca is the not too distant future in which genetic engineering turns discrimination into a science and creates a genetically inferior underclass. Hawke's character Vincent, strives against all odds and ultimately inspires with his will to overcome and his determination to show the potential of what it is to be simply human. He defies the naysayers who insist he has limited potential and astounds everyone on his way to achieve his dream to one day travel into space as a mission specialist for Gattaca. The film is filled with memorable scenes that are empowering and motivating. This is one of my all time favorite movies. A very amazing film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I often refer to Gattaca as a glimpse of what our future could become or as a film adaptation of Huxley’s' "A Brave New World". Perfection or rather striving toward perfection is all around us. We're constantly bombarded on television, radio and print with images of the "ideal" person. We see the effects that such media has on children and adults alike eating disorders, cosmetic surgery, etc. Now imagine a world where parents could systematically choose the gender, height, skin tone, and hair color of their offspring a world where diseases are eradicated at the genetic level before birth. This is the world that Gattaca presents a world of the have’s and the have not’s. Really, I loved Gattaca because of the struggles presented between Vincent and his genetically gifted brother Anton Irene and her flawed heart Jerome and his crippled body. Gattaca does a fantastic job or displaying the human spirit and the aspirations of those born to lesser means. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mesmerizing Sci-Fi

    This is one of my favorite films, richly blessed in its directing, acting, and cinematography. As colleagues and lovers, Ethan Hawke and Uma Thurman give elegantly exacting performances, and I believe Jude Law makes his film debut here, as a genetically perfect, emotionally complex man. This movie deserves to be seen a number of times, to appreciate its subtle beauty and flow and the poignant hope that it inspires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Boring, ugly dross

    Pretentious, plodding, tired theme packaged in horrendous cinematographic effect make this dull mess all but unwatchable. People are unhappy with their lives and will do anything to change their lot. This is news? Your time is better spent with stories such as "Harrison Bergeron" in Kurt Vonnegut's collection "Welcome to the Monkey House", which also includes "Who Am I This Time" and "Miss Temptation" for more insight on misfit personalities. Afterwards, if you still miss Gattica, you can get a can of sepia colored paint, pour it on the wall and watch it dry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful movie

    This movie is great, ive loved it since the first time i saw it, and i enjoy it every time i watch it. I think that everyone should see this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awsome Movie

    One of the best sci-fi futuristic movies of all time. You must watch more than once! Good to show students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best movie ever!!

    This movie is outstanding! We are actually watching this movie in my freshman (high school) biology class right now as were are studying genetics. The whole class loves it. It is a very interesting movie. A lot can be learned from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must see for all biology students

    I have been using the film Gattaca in my freshman high school biology class for ther past four years as an introduction to bio - ethics. The themes brought forward in the film lead to great discussions in class. After viewing the film, I have the students then ''decode'' the film's title - which is made up of the four different letters of DNA base pairs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awsome Awsome Awsome!!!!

    Gattaca was an excellent movie, in which Vincent takes on the personality of Jerome Morrow to fulfill his dreams... going to space. It tells the story of how the technology of the future will shape the way that we could see human beings.. only by the DNA that they have and their chances of inheriting certain traits. Jerome falls in love with Irene one of his co-workers, and you see all the situations that they go through together, and how their relationship grows stronger. However while all this takes place, a murder is committed, and you see the government comes in to solve the crime. To see if Vincent gets caught stealing the identity (that is stille illegal in the future) of the Jerome Morrow, go rent the movie today!! you will be glad that you did!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Entertaining and Thought Provoking

    From a younger standpoint, this movie was very good. It was entertaining and interesting to see a possible future for mankind. Then it brought up some excellent points on genetic engineering. I really enjoyed watching this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Humane Thing.

    It's not hard, if you really want to, to pick holes in this film: the genetically superior employees of the Gattaca Corporation are ridiculously suave, and some of the heavy sibling rivalry of the Ethan Hawke character seems contrived. Still this is a beautiful-looking, imaginative, and humane picture. Ethan Hawke really doesn't handle himself like a great actor here, but it's worth giving him the benefit of the doubt. Uma Thurman is fine and Jude Law's is incontestably the best performance. A modest, thoughtful piece of work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2000

    A brave new world with some brave inhabitants

    I use this film in my university class on Ethics and Technology. It grabs the students' attention with its presentation of a creepy world they may well have to deal with. The film is filled with symbolism, and can be watched on many levels, from dark suspense yarn to philosophical tome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2000

    The triumph of the human spirit

    This is a great movie about a person overcoming overwhelming odds to be all he knows he can be. It can teach us not to let others set our limits. Also a scary look at what we could become...searching for utopia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2