BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Generation Kill

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

This show was great! My Marine friends said this show was the closest thing they've seen on t.v. to the real thing. The book is great and HBO helps to add to great visuals. Awesome show!

posted by Rugger on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Awful

I don't mind realism, and sometimes that means vulgarity - especially with Pay cable - and every show has good guys and bad guys, smart guys and stupid guys but to make a show about our own US military and make them out to be stupid, ungrateful, mean, killers who don't ...
I don't mind realism, and sometimes that means vulgarity - especially with Pay cable - and every show has good guys and bad guys, smart guys and stupid guys but to make a show about our own US military and make them out to be stupid, ungrateful, mean, killers who don't care about anyone but themselves is disgusting. I could barely force myself to watch after two episodes but I hoped there would be some decency or goodness somewhere within these characters. It was rare and barely there. That's just not accurate. No matter how you feel about the war, this is appalling to characterize all of our soldiers in a negative light.

posted by 589849 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Recommended

    I love this movie. It is not a movie for people who don't know anything about the military and is not a movie for kids but if you know anything about the USMC, you will most likely like it. Anyone who does not know the difference between a Marine and a soldier should NOT watch this movie and this movie is based on fact. If you don't like it, don't watch it but DO NOT disrespect someone who will go risk their life for you and your family.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Generation Kill

    My father is one of the men in this book. I know the soldiers are rough around the edges but when you know who they are they're not as rude as you see them in the book or tv series. The book is great in my opinion but only because I know its all true. I hope this review changes anyones mind on the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome

    This show was great! My Marine friends said this show was the closest thing they've seen on t.v. to the real thing. The book is great and HBO helps to add to great visuals. Awesome show!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Awful

    I don't mind realism, and sometimes that means vulgarity - especially with Pay cable - and every show has good guys and bad guys, smart guys and stupid guys but to make a show about our own US military and make them out to be stupid, ungrateful, mean, killers who don't care about anyone but themselves is disgusting. I could barely force myself to watch after two episodes but I hoped there would be some decency or goodness somewhere within these characters. It was rare and barely there. That's just not accurate. No matter how you feel about the war, this is appalling to characterize all of our soldiers in a negative light.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    I have watched this series multiple times and I love it!  Does a

    I have watched this series multiple times and I love it!  Does a good job of portraying the many aspects of a unit in a down range environment. There are parts where things are exaggerated but it was still great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    oorah Gen Kill

    Currently serving in Kandahar Afghanistan and I can tell you this, this is the most realistic, accurate portrait of how the chain of command really works. The jokes are all the same as you could expect to hear if you were here, the personalities are also. I love this show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    My review of Generation Kill

    Generation Kill was written by an embedded reporter named Evan Wright who spent a tour in the Iraq war with Marine reconnaissance and went through life as they did excluding the fighting. He and the Marines started off the war stationed in Kuwait and once the war began they crossed into Iraq advancing from town to town in order to reach Bagdad. Through out the book Marines dealt with fighting and killing the enemy, fatigue, hunger, thirst, civilian casualties, and much more. The author not only records the fighting but also recollects conversations he has with the men. The marines give their opinion of America, the war, religion, and much more. This book offers a perspective on Iraq that is never shown on the news or in the paper. It tells all about the good and bad about Iraq and on war in general.
    Themes of this book include war, killing, and death. The marines experienced all these throughout the book. At first they were uncomfortable with these but as the Book went on they became indifferent. What I liked about this book was it was a real experience of the war. I learned what was really happening in Iraq and didn't just get my information from the bias news stations or the paper. I got real stories from real people. I also liked all the action and battles and now have an idea the mentality of fighting in war. The only dislike I have with this book is sometimes he recollects Marines going on rants that were irrelevant to the story.
    I would recommend this book to a variety of people. I would mostly recommend it to people curious on the Iraq war or the Marine Corp life style. If you are not interested in the Military or war in general this probably wouldn't be a good choice for you. I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars because it was very entertaining, action, packed, and very realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome.

    Funny, heartbreaking and above all enlightening. This will stick with you long after you've watched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining and informative

    This is the most honest mini-series I have ever seen about the marines and Iraq war. The dynamics of each character pull you in and the humor between the men is both raunchy and eye opening at the same time. It's complete honesty thruought the whole series. Yu get to know each character on a more human level. I've watched the whole series over 200 times and I still laugh, see something new, and fall in love with each and every character. I'd recommend this to anyone who is a military enthusiast, has a son or daughter in the military or just wants to laugh at honest humor in a tough situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Moving Realistic!

    a window inside a soldiers life, moving, sad funny, the actors are amazing, some of the real life Marines appear in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    absolutely aweful lmao

    Hilarious, This movie is about marines, not soldiers. Great, serious, very accurate, this shows exactley what marines were bred to do, thier job. Very accurate movie, shows how close marines become through combat, and everything they go through 100 percent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2