Customer Reviews for

Ghost Dog: The Way of the Samurai

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Flick

    Entertaining from beginning to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh my DOG! If you don't know, now you know!

    I enjoyed this movie so much I recommended it to my buddy Andrew. He loved it! In fact he loved it so much he bought me a copy on dvd and he got two for himself (one to watch and one to keep in its original packaging!). He even talks about when he retires, he wants to buy in an ice cream truck like the French guy in the movie! We keep talking about the possibilities of a sequel and my buddy has actually written several drafts! It would be great to find out what all the characters ended up becoming nearly ten years later. Does the kid resume the work of the spiritual assassin and teach the ice cream man english? What becomes of the mobsters daughter? Will she fight the kid as a teenager? The soundtrack is also one of the best compiled by Bobby Digital himself. Can't wait for more G.D. and the RZA! See you soon my little Ghost Dog Jr. and thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one of the best

    this is one of the best movies i've ever seen possibly the best, it is just so unique and so smooth that the story and all the other elements that make this movie all flow together like pieces to a puzzle, it is in my eyes perfect, it has a great blend of action, drama, and humor, also the score fits together with the movie very well, RZA should get awarded for the score i would give this film 9/5 if i could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Way of Life

    I can't get enough of this movie. It inspired me to read the books, buy the sound track(which is awesome!) It is an inspiration to a clearer way of thinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Thinking Man's Movie!

    This movie quickly became one of my favorites. Here is the story of a man who lives strictly by the Samurai code in the modern Western world. This movie has many great character personalities, and not just in Whitaker's Ghost Dog. This movie is one to make you think. The best parts of this movie is the way Ghost Dog interacts with the other characters. Whitaker plays a very likeable role. I also now want to read 'The Hagakure' and 'Rashomon.' The soundtrack is also excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A modern samurai masterpiece

    This movie is a masterpiece. 1. The DVD: Good movie transfer and sound. Unfortunately the extras are disappointing - just one tier up from having no extras at all. A little bit of trivia is gleaned from the 30-minute 'in-depth study' feature; the feature is simply an interview with Jim Jarmusch, Forest Whitaker, and the RZA, along with screamingly bad editing and annoying camera angles. Not on a level with the 30-minute 'What is Brazil' which should be a model to all DVD producers. There is also an 'isolated music score' which is interesting if you're into how the music integrates with the film. Apart from that the extras are duds, only 1 deleted scene, no audio commentary, etc. But the movie is a classic, so the DVD is a must-have in my opinion. 2.The movie: A powerful tale of a man (Forest Whitaker) living the Samurai code in a modern ''nameless'' city. A man who belongs to another time (or does he?). A sort of contrast between two ancient tribes, two codes - the italian mafioso code, and the way of the samurai. The film has been described as a fusion between many genres - samurai, urban hip-hop, gangster, and western. This is quite a challenge, and works for most of the film (although the humor and slapstick of the gangster characters goes a little far and doesn't integrate well with the other parts of the movie). I like the fact that Jarmusch didn't cast the 'usual suspects' for his gangster characters, but instead made an effort to use stage actors, actors that haven't been seen widely in these kinds of roles, etc. In the end, this is one of those movies that I find myself thinking about long after having seen it. Not only that, it has inspired me to read Hagakure: The Book of the Samurai, and Roshoman. Jarmusch has outdone himself. Among his work I would rate this second only to Dead Man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    YEAH SURE!! YOU SAY

    Yeah sure !! Forest Whitaker as a Ghost Dog, slip-in-and-out-unseen Samurai !! That's what I thought...but, being a Whitaker fan, I gave the movie a chance. Very much to my surprise, this is a great film !! It seems Whitaker has been studying martial-arts for years, and it takes a scant few minutes into the story before you believe the entire premise - and are mesmerized by it and Whitaker's outstanding low-key, way-cool portrayal. I was absolutely FLOORED by this DVD - truly an unexpected CLASSIC from seemingly the most mis-matched of stories and actors. Kudos all around - but especially to Forest Whitaker - apparently the man can do, and make you believe, ANYTHING !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1