Customer Reviews for

Giant

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Elizabeth Taylor is really wonderful in this. Before seeing Gian

    Elizabeth Taylor is really wonderful in this. Before seeing Giant, I'd thought of her as some addicted-to-the-spotlight glamour girl, but this movie instantly changed my mind. She is very impressive in this. Giant is a little slow at times, to tell you the truth, but very much worth watching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Movie

    My wife loves this movie and can watch it over and over!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Grand Tribute To The State of Texas

    Giant was a genuine blockbuster when it first hit the big screen. Fans were lined up outside the theatre for hours waiting to get in. It didnt disappoint. The color, the soundtrack, the bigger than life characters of the story all made for an outstanding motion picture experience. I discover something new each time I view it and, because I was an usher at the local theatre where it played for several weeks, I have seen it many times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Elizabeth Taylor's best movie

    I loved this movie. I remember seeing it when I was much younger. I also love Texas. I recommend this movie if you are a Elizabeth Taylor fan or a James Dean fan. Elizabeth Taylor is absolutely beautiful in this movie. And I didn't realize that Dennis Hopper played their son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Essence of An Epic

    This is the essence of an epic because it has every theme in the human condition. I will not go through the list of all the things in the human condition because we are all part, but this is it. It's got love, despair, hope, charity, evil, filial responsiblilty, racism, poverty, relations between the sexes, honor, duty to country, etc. The performance of James Dean is weary and eerily close to Howard Hughes. You know his own mortality is not too far away. A true American classic among few.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Magnificent American Tapestry

    GIANT represents the apogee of George Stevens' directorial career. The film has elicited diverse responses from both audiences and critics. Adapted from Edna Ferber's novel about a Texas cattle baron family, this lengthy generational saga is deliberately paced, magnificently photographed and superbly acted. If GIANT seems rusty and outmoded to modern audiences that may be due to the dearth of classical-style filmmaking in the 21st Century. Stevens' use of overlapping scene montages to make a story point and his quiet build-up to dramatic sequences is almost unheard of in this day and age. Rock Hudson, Elizabeth Taylor, James Dean and Mercedes McCambridge gave unforgettable performances and the large supporting cast was superb. GIANT joins A PLACE IN THE SUN and SHANE as one of the great American films.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh the yellow rose of Texas

    I love this movie. Its about overcoming prejudice, after many years of being so. James Dean is wonderful, and so are Elizabeth Talor, Rock Hudson, Dennis Hopper, and everyone else. Watch this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome

    Giant is an increadible epic that spans over three generations. Rock Hudson and Elizibeth Taylor's onscreen chemistry is remarkable, and they both deliever outstanding performances. Then you have James Dean, in his last performance before his tragic death. A performance that is without a doubt his best and at most times overshadows that of the veteren Rock Hudson. This Epic is a masterpiece of cinema, and a film that you will watch over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1