BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Gladiator

Average Rating 4.5
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Awesome

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    Best Russell Crowe Action Movie Ever

    Best Russell Crowe Action Movie Ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    Never saw this all the way expect here and there. Finally saw the whole thing. Acting was at times over the top but still good. Setting and soundtrack was also good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Waited 36 years for this film!

    Following the budget-busting CLEOPATRA and the less-than-successful FALL OF THE ROMAN EMPIRE in 1963 & 1964, it seems that Hollywood decided to take a long break from the "sword and sandal" Roman epic. But Oh, What A Comeback! This was such a great film to see on the big screen...and I was glad to see it win Oscars for Picture and Actor. I would have given it much more: Joaquin Phoenix follows the distinguished line of actors playing crazed Roman emperors (Peter Ustinov's Nero, Roddy McDowell's Octavius, Jay Robinson's Caligula) and absolutely deserved the award. Loved the script...memorable lines which were even quoted on HBO's SOPRANOS. And the technical aspect of the film are simply outstanding. This is the kind of film that cries out for Blu-ray and it is great to have both the theatrical and extended versions available. This one is a "Must Have".!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good action sequences and fantastic sets

    Great action and emotion. Many of the weapons and armour historically accurate while the story line is not. Do not try to learn history from this movie. However, if you enjoy great action, a good story of love, passion, honory, and bravery, then this is a movie for you. The sets are wonderful and the action scenes intense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The gladiator in all of us

    Simply the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You Cannot Stop Watching

    Seeing the world of a gladiator through their eyes was so terrifying to me. I could not imagine the feeling of someone telling you that without a doubt you were going to die, just some quicker than others. There were so many different emotions, following such complicated characters, I felt the need to keep my mind focused at all times on the story, without straying at all, for fear of losing a whole piece of it. I miss Oliver Reed, he was such a character, and played his part equally as well in this. Joachim Phoenix was perfect, as a jealous, spoiled "Caesar". The choreography, to get the fight scenes so perfect, had to be quite the job.<BR/>You just wanted to help the gladiators along, like watching a football game, and thinking you can get in there and move the guys along to get the down, or to score. I would recommend this for the beautiful cinematography, music score, the fine acting, and the story itself that will bring about all kinds of emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Icon of the Modern Epic Movie

    I¿m not usually a fan of big Hollywood fodder, which this clearly is ¿ great hero driven into the dregs away from family and all he knows by the unscrupulous leader, to later rise and claim revenge and redemption. Yes, there are grand battle scenes, over-the-top bad guys, a big Hans Zimmer score, and lots of ¿hero¿ talk in English accents. But I really enjoyed this movie. And, I found the score by Hans Zimmer to be wonderful enough to purchase. Zimmer¿s ¿big¿ recognizable and often monotonous style, reaches its creative peak in this film. The tried and true formula for epic revenge movies works well for this. The production doesn¿t take away from the important stuff ¿ the story, the drama, and the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Movie.

    I found this movie to be incredible. Never have I seen a better movie. I believe this is one that will always be my favorite. For those who are giving it low ratings based on historical inaccuracy are, in my opinion, being too critical. Yes, there are probably things that are inaccurate, but one must remember that it is in fact Hollywood, and they rarely make movies that are exactly how history depicts it. They do make movies for entertainment purposes, because that is what sells. So regarding history, if you believe that you would dismiss a movie based on its accuracy, then this movie is not for you. But, to everyone else, it is wonderful and you should definitely make some time to see it. Stellar acting, incredible visuals/graphics, and a beautiful soundtrack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best gladiator movie ever!

    I saw Spartacus in the movie theatre, It can't compare to "Gladiator". This movie has everything you can imagine, love, hate, intense drama, courage...this is a true gladiator movie. The best ever. Contrary to another review I read, Russell Crowe plays Maximus, not Marcus Aurelius... Russell came up with the name himself. The script was barely started when he reported for work. It's a miracle the movie was even finished. A wonderful movie. It will become a cult classic. This extended version, will be a terrific addition to any movie library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best ever!

    Great movie. Destined to be a classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "What we do here echoes into eternity"

    A remarkable film for the action genre. It develops its characters in a way that is very subtle for this type of genre. Marcus Aurelius, played by Russell Crowe, is an historically inaccurate portrait, but this fictionalized version of him is more fascinating. Great battle scenes and the perfect foil of Joaquin Phoenix makes this film irresistible. Don't forget the animals!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Extreme action for all!!!!!

    This movie rocked, the action was top notch and the story was awesome!!! I don't see why some people have to ruin a movie by sayin' it was inaccurate in history. WHO CARES!!! THIS MOVIE WAS AWESOME!!! Don't go in to this movie looking for all inaccurate pieces of history, go in knowing you're up for a great movie from start to finish. Ridley demands almost 3 hours of your time with this movie and he did not waist a second at all, not at all!! Along with Peter Jackson he's one of the greatest director's of our time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best movies ever

    Who cares if it's not historically accurate? Obviously, it wasn't made for historical accuracy, it was made for entertainment and drama. By the way, someone mentioned that thumbs up meant death, but that fact was only discovered this past year, while the movie was made in 2000. So during the filming of the movie, thumbs up was considered "live". That being said, Gladiator is a fantastic movie and shouldn't be thought of anything less. Great fight scenes, nice plot, and some brilliant acting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Extended Movie Not Great, but Extras Are

    I watched the other night, hoping that the additional footage would be seamlessly integrated into what was already a terrific movie. It was, for the most part. Some of the new scenes worked and might have made the film better, but others seemed tremendously out of place. The worst part about the whole movie, though, was the editing of the scenes into the movie. The music wasn't changed and the scenes didn't really help any of the characters develope. However, the extras provided in this extended edition may be the most thorough ever put onto a DVD. Overall, this was a worthwhile purchase, especially considering that the DVD includes the original theatrical version of the film as well. A great DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must have for any collector of Epic type films

    This will always be a top favorite. I have watched my old version so many times, along with those listed below. I can not wait until the new version comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best movie ever written!!

    For me, this is the all-time best movie EVER! When I first saw it, I could not stop crying. Russell Crowe did such a wonderful job and I wasn't prepared for his death at the end. I cried even after the movie ended! It was just so beautifully written and words can't describe how much I love this movie. It has plenty of romance, drama, adventure, and more. THe relationship between him and connie nielson is so cute! And during their passionate kiss at the end, I felt more love between them than I had between ryan and rachel in the notebook!! The Gladiator is the best movie no matter what film genre you like!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing! Wonderful!

    I havn't seen the extended version, but the original is one of the best movies ever(It's in my personal top two and gaining)! It is an epic that deserves to go down in history beside Beowulf, The Song of Rolland, etc. Russle Crow is at his best with a performace that makes even the toughest movie goer misty-eyed. The plot is beautiful and uplifting, with a hero you root for and a villan that is one of the best(aka most evil) ever to grace the silver screen. The characters are consistant, never lapsing into goofy moments. I could say more about it but this review would get too long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    This is truly a great epic movie that deserves to have a new, improved extended edition. I'll have no problems discontinuing my original DVD for this edition which looks great. The movie deserved to win the Oscar for Best Picture in 2000 and still holds up today as the prescedent for sword and sandal epics in today's world of filmmaking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    oh my god

    this movie is just like totaly like the best movie well one of the best movies i have ever watch get off the computer and watch it now...........well why are you still on the computer....i said GET OFF AND WATCH THIS MOVIE.................JUST JOKING but really really watch this movie you'll be blow away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10