Customer Reviews for

Glee - Season 1, Vol. 1 - Road To Sectionals

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Breathless

I have a hard time finding the words to explain exactly why this is the ONLY --- I mean the ONLY --- show on tv that my daughter and I (or anyone else in the fam, for that matter) schedules into our lives.
What is it? It leaves me breathless.
If you are at all vocall...
I have a hard time finding the words to explain exactly why this is the ONLY --- I mean the ONLY --- show on tv that my daughter and I (or anyone else in the fam, for that matter) schedules into our lives.
What is it? It leaves me breathless.
If you are at all vocally or theatrically inclined, this show is the most compelling phenomenon since the Cellblock Tango number in Chicago.
I know they use Autotune (but not as much as Akon or Cher do!), and I know the performance situations are often implausible, but there is also something so captivating and compelling and gut-plucking about this show that makes it absolutely a not-to-be-missed event. Every Wednesday.
Be there. Or be a Cheerio.

posted by harmonygirlCT on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

And now for something completely different....

I admit, I watch Glee primarily for the music numbers. I certainly find the show itself amusing from time to time, but with a cast of stereotypes instead of characters, the show can tend toward storylines that seem half After School Special and half soap opera. And sinc...
I admit, I watch Glee primarily for the music numbers. I certainly find the show itself amusing from time to time, but with a cast of stereotypes instead of characters, the show can tend toward storylines that seem half After School Special and half soap opera. And since I'm not really anything like most of those stereotypical characters, I don't really identify with any of them. So while the show can be fun to watch, most of the enjoyment I feel comes from the music. Which Glee does very, very well. I'm amazed, actually, how much music---and of so many types!---the show manages to squeeze into each episode. As long as they keep doing that, I'll keep watching!

posted by slimikin on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Breathless

    I have a hard time finding the words to explain exactly why this is the ONLY --- I mean the ONLY --- show on tv that my daughter and I (or anyone else in the fam, for that matter) schedules into our lives.
    What is it? It leaves me breathless.
    If you are at all vocally or theatrically inclined, this show is the most compelling phenomenon since the Cellblock Tango number in Chicago.
    I know they use Autotune (but not as much as Akon or Cher do!), and I know the performance situations are often implausible, but there is also something so captivating and compelling and gut-plucking about this show that makes it absolutely a not-to-be-missed event. Every Wednesday.
    Be there. Or be a Cheerio.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not only a soundtrack....

    (Though the music, in a word...phenomenal!) It's uplifting, unpredictable, ridiculously hilarious, and unlike anything else I've seen on TV! And it's sooo addictive.... I couldn't miss an episode (I'm not usually a religious show-watcher, if you will). Just watch and become a gleek, haha:-)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    <3

    Glee is simple THE best show ever! There are so much talented people on this show and they deserve all the hype. It may seem old fashioned at first, but in reality, it's actually not. The whole plot is really interesting and the character relationships in the Glee club are all intertwined.
    So summing it up; WATCH IT! You won't regret it. Trust me. :]

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    And now for something completely different....

    I admit, I watch Glee primarily for the music numbers. I certainly find the show itself amusing from time to time, but with a cast of stereotypes instead of characters, the show can tend toward storylines that seem half After School Special and half soap opera. And since I'm not really anything like most of those stereotypical characters, I don't really identify with any of them. So while the show can be fun to watch, most of the enjoyment I feel comes from the music. Which Glee does very, very well. I'm amazed, actually, how much music---and of so many types!---the show manages to squeeze into each episode. As long as they keep doing that, I'll keep watching!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Gleeful!

    I found Glee relatively late, so was missing the background from the initial episodes. It has been a pleasure catching up on the beginning, and filling in the parts I missed. It is a rare show that I can enjoy with my children. Even when the subject matter is over their heads, they still enjoy the music. With our hectic schedules, it has been great to have the DVD so that we can watch it when we want to, and without commercials interrupting the flow. I'm not usually one to watch TV shows in DVD, so I have been surprised by how much I have enjoyed this one. Cannot wait to see what else the writers come up with for Jany Lynch to say or do!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Love this Glee.V.D.

    I wasn't too gleeful over the show in the beginning. I saw it as a High School Musical spinoff that was taking up half of Fox's commercial space. But once I actually watched the show, I was hooked. Some may call Glee cliche (and that's what I initially thought), but the combination of unique music arrangements, exciting choreography,clever touches , romantic moments, and drama makes for a multilayered viewing experience. Even if you don't become a "Gleek" after viewing one episode, watch a few more, and the show's charm will begin to wear off on you. Glee is highly replayable, and I found my appreciation for the show to grow with every viewing. The characters' quirks, snarky comments, and sentimental moments helps them to become much more than the stereotypes which they are intially revealed to be. The show has its shortcomings (forgotten plotlines, overdone drama), but the characters are so offbeat and amusing that I found myself caring less and less. My hope is that adults aren't repelled by the High School Musical-esque facade--they will be missing an comical and heartwarming treat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Heart Puck

    I love Glee one of the best shows of 09 it was funny and the music was really good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Glee Rocks!

    If you have never seen Glee, you should definitely buy the DVD set. I thought this show wasn't for me based on the plot, but it's so much more than that. It's witty, engaging, over-the-top dramatic and at times touching. The characters are all in your face, and each of the main characters has a set of character quirks that make him or her endearing. Each episode has a special theme for the songs for that day, which makes each one unique. The songs themselves are a great mix of popular shot tunes (as the series is about a high school show choir) and popular music. Despite my initial hesitance about the show-choir aspect, I found myself loving it and craving more! I even bought the two soundtracks that are available thus far. Jane Lynch is hilarious in her role as the spiteful cheerleading coach, and the guest stars they have are truly amazing. I forget their names, but they had the two leading ladies from the Broadway production of Wicked, they had the singer Eve, as well as some other fun surprises. If you are unsure whether you'll like Glee, just buy it. I was hooked from the first episode, and you'll want the DVD because I find myself watching it over and over! Fwiw I'm 22, by 24 years old boyfriend and my 46 years old mother all love it as well. I haven't run it by any kids, but it's kid friendly above probably age 9 or 10 (they do talk about some difficult issues like pregnancy, though without getting into details about sex, and allude to pot in one episode, but they don't actually say what it is.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Great Purchase

    Glee - Season 1, Volume 1 - Road to Sectionals was very entertaining. The extra features were a nice addition. How this show was conceptualized was enlightening. It was so nice to see that the creators/producers were willing to take a chance on these actors who were not as well known. If you enjoy musicals, this is a must buy. I am looking forward to the release of Season 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    *- Glee! -*

    I Loved Glee Season 1! I Watch It A LOT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Giddy with Glee!

    My favorite new television show of the 2009-10 season, Glee follows a millenial Breakfast Club of sorts as they navigate their tumultous suburban high school experience by singing in their glee club, New Directions. The show's title captures not only its central premise, but how you feel when you watch it. It's a classic underdog, coming-of-age journey set to your best friend's iPod.

    The cast performs multiple numbers in every episode depicting the theme of that week whether it be overcoming obstacles, unrequited love, finding yourself, and every other adolescent experience. Talented cannot begin to describe the glee club, as they provide a fresh interpretation of every Top 40, classic rock, and Broadway song you could think of. Their teacher, Will Schuester, acts as the understanding mentor you wish you had in high school who can carry a tune of his own.

    This DVD set features the show's first 13 episodes on four discs ("Pilot" through "Sectionals"), so you can catch up/re-watch just in time for the season's spring conclusion starting this Tuesday, April 13th!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful

    Great DVD to purchase and watch over and over!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Crazy addictive!

    Despite some of the socially heavy material, the tone of the show is light, refreshing and uplifting. The singing (and the characters' dedication to singing) is wonderful. This DVD set is worth owning because you will keep watching it over and over. The video diaries of the actors in the "Extras" section has enough originality and nosey details for the fanatic. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Absoltuly Wonderful!

    From the moment the first episode played to the exciting season finale, I was in love with Glee! The characters are not only great actors, but unbelievable singers and dancers. I was glued to the screen to see what was going to happen in every episode and couldn't wait to start the next episode. The only bad thing is that I have to wait for season 2 now. Anyone wanting to watch a show with singing, dancing, humor, romance, mischief, drama and a story line thats leaves you routing for the Glee club to keep on "keeping on", this is it! Look no further and fall in love with this show like I have. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Fun!!!

    My family are BIG FANS, so watching the entire first season was a great way to catch up on what we missed and to prepare for Season 2. We'll probably watch it all again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can't wait for next season

    My favorite new show. Very funny, characters are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT...GLEEful!

    Glee is great.
    While some of the storylines are a bit much, what the actors do with them is great. It's also apparent that some of the actors are older than the characters they play, but again, they're actors and they are believable.
    I didn't watch when it first came out...it conflicted with one of my other favorites shows.
    But over time, through youtube and other links I saw enuf and decided that even if for only a handful of performances in the first season, I had to buy the season on DVD.
    Now that I have seen more, it was well worth the expense.
    It does have a tendency to dramatize or overstate situations in the characters lives but the acting overcomes that again and again.
    I am GLEEful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    INNOVATIVE, QUIRKY AND ENTERTAINING

    A REFRESHING SHOW, SOMETIMES FUNNY, SOMETIMES SERIOUS AND POIGNANT, BUT ALWAYS ENTERTAINING!! A FAMILY FAVORITE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love it - very fun

    Glee is a very fun and funny show. I love that you pick up some new subtle humor every time you watch it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Must watch TV

    By far my favorite television show. This is a must watch for anyone and everyone from young to old, male or female. This of course being the show that inspired the Glee flash mob phenom, if you havn't seen the Glee flash mob I suggest checking it out on You tube its awesome. Also, bought both soundtracks one and two. I've been playing them in my car not stop since I bought them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5