Customer Reviews for

Gone with the Wind

Average Rating 4.5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    There's a reason....

    that many people consider this the best movie ever made...unless you happen to be used to what comes out of Hollywood today... most of which is junk! Great story....great history....great love story...great acting.. and for it's time....extraordinary special effects....especially the burning of Atlanta. A classic that should be in any respectable video or DVD collection.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Favorite Movie Ever!

    Gone With the Wind is the film that is closest to my heart. It manages to move me like no other film can. From the opening credits, with its great musical scoring, I immediately become overwhelmed by what I see in front of me. I begin to get sucked into the riveting world of Scarlett and Rhett. I literally begin to live every moment of the film through Scarlett. I completely love Scarlett and Vivien Leigh's portrayal of her. Scarlett really is the star of the story and Vivien's great acting makes the film twice as good as it is. Scarlett, even with her character flaws, is truly one of my personal heroines. Watching GWTW always makes me wish I was her. I really don't know why. I guess I can attribute this to the fact that I somehow see myself in her. I could never emphasize how much I love this movie. Needless to say, it is my all-time favorite movie and I think it to be the best. If I could drag everyone I know to watch the movie in its almost 4 hour glory, I would. Watch it and for sure it will occupy a special place in your heart. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Most Classic Romance of America...of the WORLD!

    I really liked this film...No wait, I LOVED THIS FILM and always have. Every time the opening title comes up I get goosebumps and I grin. This movie has humor, romance, sorrow, mourning, and makes you really appreciate the life that our ancestors had to live through. It touches me so much and I just can't get enough of this movie. I reccommend it to every single person out there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Exceptional Movie!!!

    This was one of the best movies I have ever seen!It is pretty long, but it makes you laugh and cry and keeps you hooked till the end.A story of love, passion, tragedy and it has a good historical backround.All in all it was a great movie. =)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    IT HAS TO BE THE BEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME!!!

    The first time I saw Gone With The WInd when I was six I fell in love!!! This movie is awesome!!! Vivien Leigh and Clark Gable take my breath away every time I watch this movie!!! This flim is a abosolute MASTERPEICE!!! It will alawys be my favorite and it touches me and makes my heart menlt like chocolate everytime I see it!!! Vivien is a AWESOME Scarlett O'Hara!!! They knew what they where doing when they chose her!!! Whenever this was first seen it has been a classic and is still getting more fame as the years pass by. It has the best acting of all time!!! Clark Gable was just as an awesome character than Vivien Leigh. Every actor in this flim is just right for their role. It was the role of Scalett O'Hara that made Vivien Leigh the remembered Hollywood legend that she is today!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    Awesome!!!

    I loved it.Really good movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I bought this for my daughter as a Christmas gift. She loved it. The movie classic was awesome in Blu-ray.

    I would recommend this to all Gone With The Wind fans. It is a true classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    They Broke the Mold When They Made This One

    Over 70 years have passed yet Gone With The Wind remains the yardstick by which all subsequent film epics have been judged. This Super Production of 1939 was the last word in Hollywood entertainment, a sprawling, bigger than life melodrama that was first and foremost a soap opera with the American Civil War as its enormous backdrop. With a then unprecedented running time of 3 hours and 40 minutes, including intermission, the film was an overpowering emotional experience for moviegoers at the time and it continues to enthrall viewers today. It has the perfect cast, Glorious Technicolor, magnificent sets and costumes and perhaps the greatest score ever written for a movie. To top it all off, it features the most indelible romantic pairing in the history of movies : Clark Gable and Vivien Leigh. Gable Was the epitome of author Margaret Mitchell's conception of Blockade Runner Rhett Butler and Vivien Leigh, up until then a relatively unknown British actress, was Scarlett O'Hara right off the pages of Miss Mitchell's magnum opus. To this day, Vivien Leigh's performance as Scarlett is perhaps the most revered piece of movie acting by an actress in the History of Film. Acting styles may have changed drastically over the years but this remains a brilliant performance in any era. Producer David O. Selznick spent the rest of his life trying to duplicate his own masterpiece but was unsuccessful. His heavy breathing western spectacle Duel in the Sun was overripe kitsch and a late 50's remake of Hemingway's A Farewell To Arms was uninspired. His Portrait of Jennie in the late 40's came closest to an artistic achievement, a haunting romantic fantasy starring his wife Jennifer Jones. The enduring appeal of Gone With The Wind boils down to this : for nearly 4 hours the viewer is witness to life being lived, to characters experiencing the good and bad in life over a span of years, to a teeming semblance of history taking place (no matter that it's Hollywood History, the Reel thing as opposed to the Real thing). Other films have tried to duplicate its success : Lawrence of Arabia is a Thinking Man's epic, a triumph in its own right ; Ben- Hur, the 1959 remake is an enormous creation and the most moving of all biblical films; David Lean's somber Russian epic Doctor Zhivago comes close but its wintry romance pales in comparison to Rhett and Scarlett's fiery passion. All in all, Gone With The Wind is a movie monument, an indestructible artifact of Hollywood's Golden Age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2001

    An American Classic!

    This is one of the best films if not the best film in movie history. It's all about Southern belle Scarlett O¿Hara, played to perfection by the gorgeous Vivien Leigh and the trials and tribulations she faces in love and life during the Civil War and Southern reconstruction. This excellent film also stars Clark Gable as Sgt. Rhett Butler, Leslie Howard as Ashley Wilkes, Olivia De Havilland as Melanie and Hattie McDaniel as Mammy. This film gets better with age and is able to hold the viewers' attention and keep them spellbound without letting go.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    superb, highly recommended

    the south is the south time haven't pass, same attitudes, same pride, makes
    you wonder if something was gained if something was learned . acting extraordinary, especial effects without equal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    Great historical fiction

    I am truly amazed at the short attention span of some and that everything and everyone needs to relate to them.Life is long and boring sometimes that is two reasons why movies were made.Historical fiction is exactly that HISTORICAL FICTION! If this movie was made today relating to modern issues with modern thinking and reasoning,it wouldn't be HISTORICAL but just FICTION. Great story,great acting,great cinematography and great diolog. A must see for the 21st century movie lover who tries to place himself in the era and not the era in today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Still a classic

    You can't improve too much on a classic like this one. If only the south had as many soldiers as shown in the railroad depot, they'd have won the war. Good fiction, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Classic

    This movie is one of the greatest movies made. The story and the actors put on a very poignant performance . The civil war was a very important time in this country history and laid the foundation for civil rights.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    excellent

    excellent movie

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    American classic.

    Gone With the wind is an American classic in which a scheming Southern Bell and a Wayward Yankee carry on a tumultuous love affair during the Civil War and the rebuilding of the United States after the war.

    The love between Scarlett O'Hara and Rhett Butler is the man subject of the movie. The acting is superb. The cinematography, set and costume design is perfection.

    The theme of slavery was not fairly depicted. It does not really reflect the harshness and horror of slavery. However I am judging from a 2010 view. By today's standards I think the slavery aspect of story would be portrayed differently.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My all time favorite!

    My grandmother introduced me to Gone with the Wind. She always told me "you should have seen it on the big screen like I did." She died two weeks prior to me getting this blu ray set. I had been looking everywhere for the set so we could watch it together. The viewer does get to see the movie in its true form. The rich colors, the amazing wardrobes the actors all come to life. It is an epic movie that no one should miss. I am so ever greatful to my grandmother for inviting me into Rhett and Scarletts life through first the movie then later the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This was a present for my mother - was the best version of the 100 times she's seen GWTW yet!

    DVD arrived quickly, and in excellent condition. Was very pleased to find this so easily at B&N.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can't get over it!

    Beautiful! The acting is as good as you can get! Clark Gable brings Rhett Butler to life! It's amazing! I've seen Scarlett, but I still consider Gable to be 'the Rhett Butler.' None ever has or ever will portray Rhett the way he did! Vivien Leigh is amazing as well! She's just Scarlett! That's all I can say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A wonderful movie! A must see film!

    Wow! Before i watched this film i thought that i wouldn't like it, but i decided to watch it and after I saw this movie for the first time and i love it! I have to say that it is one of my favorites. All the actors and actresses do a wonderful job. Scarlet O'Hara(Academy award winner Vivien leigh)is a southern woman who loves on the southern estate o f Tara. Scarlet is a woman who loves a man named Ashely Wilkes(Leslie Howard) but she will come to her senses. Clark Gable plays handsome Rhett Bulter-a man who grows fond of Scarlet and loves her. Melanie(Academy award winner, the wonderful Olivia De Havilland) is a woman who loves and marries ashley and she is friendly, caring, women. I like all the scenes in this movie but my favorite is when Scarlet and Rhett are together. The only thing that i wish is that the ending would be different. At the end, I wish that Scarlet and Rhett would stay together still married. I'm definitely going to read the book. The music is wonderful also. I love the theme to the movie. This is a wonderful film and a must see film. It is a sad, happy, and romantic. A recommend this film to everyone who is a fan of movies. You won't be disappointed. Well done to cast,director, and everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4