Customer Reviews for

Goodfellas

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Mob Movie

    Ray Liotta, Robert De Niro great roles. Lorraine Bracco before the Sopranos, wonderful....Soundtrack of the oldies, great to hear.....Overall, one of the most enjoyable Mob movies....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREATFELLAS,GREAT FLICK!!!

    Without question the best film of 1990. Marty Scorsese always could tell mob stories (MEAN STREETS) and depict urban volence and angst (TAXI DRIVER). Both are here in a tour de force by the usual cast of Scorsese stars, DeNiro, Pesci and they are bolstered by Ray Liotta, Paul Sorvino and Lorraine Braco. The violence is heavy handed but it flows with the storyline and you seldom find it offensive (even when Pesci shoots a bar boy in the foot)...unlike the thugs played by DeNiro, Liotta and especially Pesci in his Oscar winning role. This classic epic makes you wish Coppola would have let Marty direct GODFATHER III.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Weird

    The acting was good, but got a little over the top sometimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Top 10

    All of my friends are completely different. All of my friends disagree on everything. All of my friends say this is one of their top five to ten favorite films of all time. Enough said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WTF, and call this a good movie!

    This one is almost as bad as Jarhead!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one of the best

    This is by far one of the best movies I have ever seen, surpassed only by Scarface. You definitely have to like mobster movies to enjoy this one, but if you enjoy that genre, you will definitely love this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great mob movie.

    I thought this movie Goodfellas was a great mob film. Everything in the movie was fantastic. Robert De Niro played his part very well. So as the other actors. it had a real interesting plot, great actors and how the movie went from beginning to end. I was really suprised of what's happening during the movie. This movie is a must see classic for all of those who like mob movies. Because in Goodfellas, you have to pay attention to the plot and you know what's going to happen. Dos pulgrates arriba!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Scorcese At His Best

    Scorcese always had a talent with movies made about violence. Goodfellas is the best version of this. In it, he chronicles the life of a flashy young mobster into a cocaine-laden informant to the FBI. With his ethnicity as his only blocking force, Henry Hill would have become a "made man." Pesci, as usual, was psychotic (I mean that in a good way.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    can't get enough

    I recently lost my fiance in a car accident. And this movie makes me think of him because he and I would watch his DVD at least once a month. It is very well made, has a great soundtrack and makes me laugh so much (we had our own personal jokes from this film). I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    True Crime, has never been protrayed truer!

    Dark, Savage, wildly emotional, a feat of movie making, Goodfellas is like no other of it's genre! Deniro gives a powerhouse performance as the volitile Jimmy Conway, Lioatta radiated quiet starpower, protraying a drug addled mobster, and Pecsi was well...just plain scary! What makes this movie great, is it's daring to show the world the true nature of the modern mob. Explosive, shocking, Scorsese's best,whetever your adjective, Goodfellas is truly one of the best mob movies ever made!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not a fan of Gangster Movies! But....

    I've never been of fan of any type of gangster movies (Scarface, Godfather, etc). But Goodfella's is the exception to the rule. This was an awesome movie. Good all the way to the end. The different points of action, drama, and comedy, mixed with everything else was just explosive. Liotta, Pesci, and De Niro played their characters to perfection. This is definitly a must see movie for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    loved it

    even though this was a long movie, i actually enjoyed it coming off that i really dont like drama movies or cuz i find them boring as hell and way too sappy cuz i usually enjoy action and horror movies. the movie is more interesting because its actually based on a true story of real life gangster Henry Hill. even though GoodFellas is mostly a mobster crime drama there were some humor in parts of the film and Joe Pesci's performance as a psychotic mobster was really great to perfection even though watching him act psychotic was a little bit annoying. some of the oldie songs on the movie were great to listen to. and robert deniro's performance was great. i was actually surprised that this movie turned out good because i dont really watch mafia movies or anything involved in drama but this took me by surprised. the other mob movie that really is good is a Bronx Tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    From the Godfather to Goodfellas

    Probably the best movie I have ever seen. I first heard of 'Goodfellas' about a year ago and I thought that it was just 'another' movie but when I first watched it I was hooked. I personally love gangster-mobster movies because all the members of the mob stick together and that¿s a quality that¿s hard to come by these days. They take care of their own business one way or another. This movie is probably the best mobster flick ever made also. Without a doubt, it¿s hard to capture the raw nature of an organized crime but with the help of Marty Scorsese, (also director of Meanstreets) he captured that quality and made a beautiful work of art. With the help of actors Robert DeNiro, Ray Liotta, and Joe Pesci, Goodfellas has become my all time favorite and I recommend it to anybody but there are some scenes that may be to graphic so put the kids asleep before watching this great movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GOOD movie!!!

    i thought this movie was very well made! All the scenes and story lines fit together and the best supporting actor i thought was JOE PESCI! Great performance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Scorese's Best Film

    Best mob movie ever made. If you like The Godfather trilogy, you'll undoubtedly love Goodfellas. No other movie captures the raw nature of organized crime. Goodfellas also shows how good people can fall in love with the allure of the mob. Five stars, two tumbs up, whatever. Great movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2