BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Gosford Park

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    gosford park

    this was a pretty interesting and good murder mystery movie. love clive owen's perfromance and thought he looked nice with Mary. Anyway, this is about people staying at a house where a murder happens and everyone's a suspect. its revealed what goes on upstairs and downstairs with the servants. the dog was adorable and the ending was a surprise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Watch it twice--the second time is the best

    The first time I saw this movie, I found it difficult to follow--thick accents, large cast, and lots of brief encounters that didn't seem to mean much. I'm not sure why I watched it again, but I'm so glad that I did, because that's when the genius of this film becomes evident--all the snippets of fit together, and what appeared to be just another whodunit is revealed as an amazing mosaic, an intricate web with all the threads held in perfect tension by a superb cast. As expected, Helen Mirren is pure gold, and Maggie Smith is a delight, but many of the lesser-known actors deliver outstanding performances. If you weren't certain about this movie the first time, give it a second chance--that's when it shines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Gosford Park is an intriguing mix of mystery and drama.

    In the midst of a stereotypical 1930s British shooting party, the host turns up dead. Stephan Fry is the bumbling detective who leads the half-hearted investigation while the guests and servants attempt to deal with each other and their secrets. As a result, the movie plumbs the psyches of victims, witnesses, and murderers alike. It's a profound look at motives for lying, leaving, and killing, as well as class dynamics. If you're looking for a feel good period romance film, there are better choices; however, it is a must-see for those who want to see both sides of the story: upstairs, downstairs; murderer, victim.

    Be sure to watch this one more than once! The entanglements of so many people with so many secrets makes it hard to appreciate the intricacies of the characters, plots, and period atmosphere in just one viewing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Powerful drama

    Excellent period piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Altman's Gosford Park: We Shall Never Find that Lovely Land of Might-Have-Been

    The Ivor Novello song that emerges as the theme song of this movie is a throwaway, disposable romantic trifle of a song, but in the course of Altman's treatment of this script it becomes a deeply moving, deeply felt and tragic theme. Helen Mirren, near the end, delivers the knock-out punch, but in so doing she builds on detail after telling detail added by each cast member. Kelly McDonald, playing a novice maid, new servant to a snobbish anti-Semitic aristocrat, serves as the instrument by which the mystery of the relationships below stairs, and of the murder above, is revealed. The murder is used as what Alfred Hitchcock called a McGuffin: a plot device by which the characters can be revealed. Jeremy Northam is splendid as Novello.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie!!

    I loved this movie. The cast was wonderful and the plot had interesting twists and turns. The only problem I had with it was that at times I couldn't understand what they were saying. I would have to go back over the conversation again to hear it clearly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Movie

    I was really impressed with the movie not only because of the plot but also because of the combination of Maggie Smith and Kristin Scott Thomas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Perfect Film

    'Gosford Park' delivers the perfect period-piece for today's movie-goers: it is quick and witty without sacrificing striking character development, pinpoint historical accuracy ('jimmies' as delivered by Maggie Smith), sweeping cinematography, and a veritable feast for the eyes. It follows in the proud tradition of such films as 'A Reversal of Fortune' (Jeremy Irons, Glen Close), great chiefly for the same reason: we get to see how 'the other half' lives. Admittedly, one must get around the linguistic and plot barriers on the first watch (accents, especially downstairs, are a little challenging, as is remembering character names). But watch it again, and the beauty begins to unfold: it's a fun mystery every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Like a Tapestry

    This is a movie to view many times. There is something new to discover each time. The scenes are like a tapestry. If ever you have visited places such as The Builtmore Estate you can picture the life style of the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Quality, but terrible to watch

    If you watch films to relax and enjoy yourself, this is not the film for you. Once you do get past the dialect, a long, boring, drawn-out plot ruins the good execution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Quirky and Twisty

    I bought the DVD before renting it and I'm not sorry I did. I've watched this flick over and over again and everytime I see something that I missed before. One of my absolute favorites. You might need to watch it with subtitles the first go around - the dialect is a little strong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It captures you each time....

    Gosford Park is not your average Blockbuster hit, but it is. Infact, should we call it a BLOCKBUSTER hit? Maybe not. But it is for sure a time life classic. I for one found the movie clever in the first viewing, and witty in the second, third, fourth, and so on. It has been a long time since we have been given such great cinema. Being only 18 I have not seen as many movies I have wished, and seen to more then what I have wished for. (LOTR Spinn Off) I am glad to have seen this movie though, and hold it in my personal collection. It is age breaking, and should be viewed by all movie lovers. And that is my two cents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    didn't think i'd like it

    WOW! I didn't think I'd like this movie at all! Before my friend bought it he said it was two and a half hours long, but that it was suppose to be like clue. When i heard two and a half hours long I was like ''oh great''. And now look at me! I'm about to buy a copy for myself! Based on an ''idea'', this movie is absolutely gorgeous! The costume design is beautifully subtle, the characters are well developed even though this is a really large ensemble cast. The plot and story line is written so well I wish i had wrote it! I really don't want to detail the story line- just watch it! Yeah it's long- but trust me you will not be wasting two and a half hours of your life watching it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing and Incredible!

    This movie was one of the best movies I've ever seen. The plot and story was incredible, there were so many subtle nuances that you had to actually ''think'' while watching the movie. Though it is a story about rich people on a hunting weekend, themes include class discrimination, sexual issues and murder. Costumes were great, actors were great plus its got Ryan Phillipe!!! Don't miss it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Intelligently Done

    The movie opens a bit slowly and the viewer has to pay close attention to all of the interaction of the characters. However, the movie eventually finds itself in the drawing room ''whodunit'' genre. The characters are very real, and their portrayal of the relationship between master and servant convincing. And in the spirit of any good mystery, the elements of revenge, jealousy, and motive are plenty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tedious, grating, predictable

    As a movie that focuses on the complex relationships among what seemed like 50 characters, this movie is a success. The problem is that few of the characters are likable, and that grating quality spreads to every facet over the two-and-a-half hours that Gosford Park runs. Over the course of this movie, all that happens is a bunch of people who don't like each other get together, annoy each other, and leave. The much-hyped murder has no consequence in this movie other than to reveal another (predicatable) twist in the nature of the relationship of a few of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    4th Best Movie of the Year

    Gosford Park is a great movie about the interaction of people in a a great mansion in the 1930's. The film is more about charachter and situation than being tied down to a plot. It's a film not about what happens, but how and why. This is a charchter driven movie. You feel like you know everybody at the party, because they have their own strong presence even if some of them have very little screen time. About the first half of the movie is nothing but people getting used to staying in this huge house and it seems like they talk about things that you could care less about and stuff that has nothing to do with the story. They're really building motives for every charachter, so when a murder happens, everyone's a suspect. You really have to play close attention to this movie. It's so realistic to the point that the actors seem like they're real people just sitting in a house chatting. They don't say everything clearly. It's as if there's no camera and we're watching this story unfold. I really had to watch it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Gosford Park Is not To Be Missed!

    For anyone who likes a good old fashon who-done-it,this may be for you. The characters are delightful and surprisingly human. The whole interplay between upstairs and downstairs is wonderful to watch. The director let the actors become the characters not just actors playing a part. The fact that he had ''tech'' assistance from people who entered service during the same time as the movie is set in, was a stroke of genius. It gives a real feel to all they say and do. The only disapontment was how the budding love story between Milly and Robert worked out. A promise of seeing these two characters together would have been a much better ending. However, all in all this is one of the best movies to come out of Hollywood in a long time. It is orginal, entertaining and fun to watch, with just a touch of tears to give it body. I highly recomend this work to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2