Customer Reviews for

Gossip Girl - Season 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Engaging and refreshing teen drama

This is not the type of show I usually want to watch: I'm not much for teen angst and too many of these shows make way too much use of soap opera melodrama. But I tried this on a whim and was surprised how hooked I was by the end of the first episode. Don't get me wrong...
This is not the type of show I usually want to watch: I'm not much for teen angst and too many of these shows make way too much use of soap opera melodrama. But I tried this on a whim and was surprised how hooked I was by the end of the first episode. Don't get me wrong, there's definitely a good dose of soap opera melodrama and teen angst, but there's enough freshness to the show that I don't really mind.

The characters are flawed and interesting without being annoying or willfully stupid. And there are a lot of family dynamics and issues that come into play. Which is not to say that this is a family show: I don't know that I'd even want my teenage sister watching this. But as an adult, I find myself fascinated as these characters, and their families, learn about themselves and each other.

posted by slimikin on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is as trashy as Harold Robbins and the OC

This is absolute garbage filled with a ugly blond witch with a b, a michael jackson looking chick and a bunch of androgenous guys who all are like animals and must have sex with each other. This show has no merit to it whatsoever, other than it is a good form of punishm...
This is absolute garbage filled with a ugly blond witch with a b, a michael jackson looking chick and a bunch of androgenous guys who all are like animals and must have sex with each other. This show has no merit to it whatsoever, other than it is a good form of punishment for maximum security prisoners and serial killers. Everyone in this show wants to make me puke from their lack of morality and their ugliness. It is more satanic than spawn and the girls are so ugly they would turn me queer in a second. One look at the michael jackson chick will make you get turned on by the no nose criminal michael jackson. Need I say more? I am warning the human race because I love you all do not EVER watch this show

posted by Rock_Lee on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging and refreshing teen drama

    This is not the type of show I usually want to watch: I'm not much for teen angst and too many of these shows make way too much use of soap opera melodrama. But I tried this on a whim and was surprised how hooked I was by the end of the first episode. Don't get me wrong, there's definitely a good dose of soap opera melodrama and teen angst, but there's enough freshness to the show that I don't really mind.

    The characters are flawed and interesting without being annoying or willfully stupid. And there are a lot of family dynamics and issues that come into play. Which is not to say that this is a family show: I don't know that I'd even want my teenage sister watching this. But as an adult, I find myself fascinated as these characters, and their families, learn about themselves and each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Captivating and Suspensful

    I love Gossip Girl, but now in the third season I realized that i missed a lot by not seeing the first season. I bought the first season, and it is amazing!! I love the details, the betrayal, the suspense, and the love. It is a great show and will always keep you on the edge of your seat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Gossip Girl-Season one

    Gossip Girl season one DVD is just so scandalous,It is really entertaining and intriguing,it keeps you thinking "Who did this?", "Oh my gosh!so not happening!".It is filled with drama,romance and fun.Definitely going to watch season two on DVD!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    xoxo

    A couple of months ago I started noticing this so called "scandalous" show. Parents hated it from the start, teenagers and young adults loved it. I started watching it not so long ago and it left me wanting more. This show is addicting and it is nothing like the bad reviews say about it. It follows the lives of these 6 high school kids from which 4 are snobby and rich but have some sense of decency. I do not think that the show is just about "SEX", even though it is present (but not as much as the reviewers present it), the show also deals with what friends can do for each other and how love can be complicated at that age. The only thing I do not like is that they all go out with each other, all of the boys have been all of the girl's partners in some sort of way; best friends go out with their exes but other than that the show is good, funny, engaging and intriguing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i love it!

    i started reading the books when they first came out, and i was instantly hooked. while the show doesnt follow the plots of the books i love the show. while most people cant relate to rich, spoiled upper east side WASP teens, many teens can relate to jealous friends, cheating boyfriends, wild parties, and divorcing parents. while i am out of my teens, i still find the show relatable and engrossing. and the extras included with the first season is a must for any fan of the show.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is as trashy as Harold Robbins and the OC

    This is absolute garbage filled with a ugly blond witch with a b, a michael jackson looking chick and a bunch of androgenous guys who all are like animals and must have sex with each other. This show has no merit to it whatsoever, other than it is a good form of punishment for maximum security prisoners and serial killers. Everyone in this show wants to make me puke from their lack of morality and their ugliness. It is more satanic than spawn and the girls are so ugly they would turn me queer in a second. One look at the michael jackson chick will make you get turned on by the no nose criminal michael jackson. Need I say more? I am warning the human race because I love you all do not EVER watch this show

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    (:

    what you think of this show really depends on what you like. this was based off of books about rich, snobby, and scandalous high school students. if you don't like gossip and you like more science fiction and dark things such as monsters and vampires, then no.. you deffinately have your TV on the wrong channel. but if you like to see what it would be to live in the characters' shoes, then this is a perfect show for you. it contains some mystery.. some questions aren't answered, such as "who is Gossip Girl?" it also has much drama: sex, partying, drugs, and everything else you could think of hapens to these Upper East Siders. i can deffinately say I am a fan of this show. mainly because it took a different direction than the books. but i also enjoy the books. back to the show.. well, romance and heartbreak is a must in this show. with all the drama mixed in with college, what could be better? I most deffinately recommend this to anyone who can stretch their imagination to as if anyone did the things these characters have that they would get away with it. thanks for reading my review. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love Gossip Girl

    I haven't seen all of the episodes of the first season but I did watch some of the very last ones and I loved them. I'm definately going to buy the season one dvd. I can't wait to watch the season 2 premiere tonight!! I'm excited!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I Love This Show. Also I Love The Books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AH-MAY-ZING!

    Oh my goodness! This is the best TV series since SEX AND THE CITY. It is filled with drama "hence the name", and twisting turns and surprises. It's a WONDERFUL cast of characters and although the plot of the show is not in line with that of the books, it is still amazing, and truly worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    you know you love me

    I've seen every episode about 5 times each and can just tell you that if you are a fan of the books, or anything that has to do with drama then you will definetely get your money's worth. I love all of the characters, and they're all really great actors. Plus all of the guy's are REALLY hawt. If you like shows like The OC(same creator) or shows like Degrassi then you'll love it. And now Ican erase all of them from my TiVo because I'll have them all on dvd! *~XoXo~*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2