Customer Reviews for

Grave of the Fireflies

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    This movie is excellent. It's not "brutal," it's touc

    This movie is excellent. It's not "brutal," it's touching and honest. The viewer who purchased it for his seven-year-old daughter and then gave the movie only one star because it was more than she could handle should receive one star as a parent. Did he not read the overview before purchasing it for her? Just because he was careless as a parent doesn't mean the movie only deserves one star. It is the most poignant movie I have ever seen, despite the fact that it's animated. It reminds the viewer of what truly matters in life. It inspires empathy and depth. Great for any person twelve and over.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Brutal Film - Don't Let Your Kids See It

    We rented this film for our 7 year old daughter who loved other titles from Studio Ghibli. The film portrays the death of two Japanese children, a boy and his younger sister, in World War II. Bombs fall, the mother dies, and an aunt takes on the children. But the aunt exploits and starves them, and they go off on their own. From that time until their death they suffer at hands of everyone they meet. They are abused and ignored, and no one offers them an ounce of compassion. Finally, when they fall ill and die, even their corpses are treated with disrespect. This film is possibly the most inhumane and cynical film I've seen. Humanity is portrayed as cruel and totally devoid of compassion. With the exception of the boy and his younger sister, everyone in the film is at best selfish and uncaring and at worst exploitative and vicious. The suffering of the children is graphic, horrifying, depressing, and seemingly interminable. My daughter was sobbing throughout the film until we stopped it close to the end. If I had to do it again I would never have exposed my daughter to this horror. In fact I wouldn't even view it myself. This is a film to be avoided.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Most moving cartoon...

    The movie is so real and the characters come to life so vividly one almost forgets its a cartoon. The movie tells the story of a Japanese boy given the responsibility of both his and his sister's survival. Beautiful landscapes and scenes of both life and destruction combined with the two adorable children who are the story's leads makes for a sad, but amazing movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Heartwarming and heartbreaking

    My cousin refers to this as the saddest movie ever made. It is heartbreaking in the losses and the cruelty they endured by others. It is also heartwarming in the love and care the brother has for his younger sister and how they find moments of happiness in their situation. It is hard for me to believe that anyone could steal from and starve children and not have a conscience about it, but it happens everyday, even here. The only issue I had from a technical persepctive is that there is this little film icon symbol that stays at the top of the screen throughout the movie. It can be distracting at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's a learning experience. The movie for those who don't know Japanese history

    I see and read lots of reviews here in the States and feel very sad about how this movie has been viewed and wrongly understood.. oh, not only this movie but other Miyazaki movies as well. Perhaps that is owed to the fact that many Americans do not know anthing about Japanese history. I am Japanese, born and raised in Japan. For those who watch this movie should consider this movie made NOT to entertain the animation fans!!! - believe me, but its true purpose is to give and teach the CHILDREN IN JAPAN how not to repeat the terrible war once our ancesters started in the First World War... remembering how many people had to die for the terrible and grave course of fate the Japanese history once underwent. My uncle died in Hiroshima when the atomic bomb fell from the sky. I know so many women and children were killed during the war, just like those kids in the movie.. thousands !! Unfortunately, today in Japan, the new and young generations of population have no recollection on those wars and lives lost in the past. Sad ! Simply because they were born in the peaceful time. Mr. Miyazaki said in Japan when this movie was made that the story should tell our kids "in Japan" a single but the most powerful message that "we shall NEVER go to the war". So now in Japan, we have the Amendament Clause 9 in our constitutions that we Japanese never possess nuclear weapons, will to the war and any supportive deads which cater or trigger the war that will end up repeating our past mistake all over again. This movie is showing our country's dark-side hisotry, but we the young people who don't know wars will definately get that message. I don't want to be any part of any war after watching this movie. More Americans and kids should watch this film hopefully America stops wars and there will be no more wars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This will stay w/ you forever.

    I'd say it's been 11 or more years since I watched this at my Japanese gradmother's house. I was probably nine or 10 years old. I still remember most of this movie and the way it made me feel it's a haunting sort of feeling. My little sister watched it as well and she was probably only six and she still remembers this movie, and I'm telling you, that girl can't remember yesterday. Yes, it's not really a childrens' story, but it's something children should know about in history. Not everyone has been as fortunate as they are today. This is truth, and unfortunate things can happen to the most innocent of souls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I was only four-years-old when I watched it...

    I used to live in Japan when I was little, and around 95 or so, I saw this. My mom and dad were going to the party, and I never saw the end, but I've been dying to know what movie it was since. And I'll say this--the movie will be forever imprinted in my mind. Especially for a child, it's emotional, when you see the fire, when you see what happened to their mother, and how the boy ended up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unsurpassed

    Before watching 'Grave of the Fireflies' I was told that the movie was very sad, but I effectively dismissed those comments as irrelevant as if they were coming only from those who cry easily. Once I began watching, though, I realized that 'Fireflies' was heartbreaking like no other. I was deeply shocked by how tightly the opening scene in the train station gripped me. More than a year after seeing the film, I can still feel my initial reaction to the mournful premise. Grave of the Fireflies suits anime aficionados and newbies alike. The characters educe empathy and the animation is extraordinary. If you have not seen it yet, then be prepared to watch a film that will surely move you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not a film for young children!!!!

    Here is an example of why you should closely monitor what your kids watch, and be especially careful of movies that are marketed to children, because they might not be at all suitable. Although this movie won first prize for best animation in a children's film festival in Chicago, it is not suitable for young children to watch. Yes, it had technically wonderful animation, and a good musical score. But the topic was beyond anything I'd let my kids watch. It's about two Japanese children in 1945 near the end of WW-II. Their dad is away in the Japanese navy. Their town is being strafed by Allied planes. Their mom dies after a firestorm. They are on their own. Relatives initially take them in, then throw them out after taking their rations because they don't want to share food with them. They are starving. No one gives them food or help. The boy is badly beaten. They get sick. The boy finds that the entire navy has been sunk, meaning that their dad is dead. The girl dies of hunger and malnutrition in a damp cave. The boy later starves to death in a railway station, and his body is carted away with dozens of other kids by the janitors. This is not entertainment for children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Grave of the fireflies, the most emotional and human film in the world

    The grave of the fireflies is based on the novel by akiyuki nosaka, this movie shows the experiences of 2 young kids as they struggle to survive in world war 2 japan, this movie is the most humane in feeling, i enjoyed the direction of the movie as well as how everything that happens is really 'simple' but it is shown in such a way that its magnificent, completely enjoyable by older audiences and kids 12 plus, younger kids might not understand the nature of the film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best In Show

    The best in show in the catogary past films is going to 'Grave Of The Fireflies'.The movie just blew away I like to cry and so I love that movie!With its witting of cleverness to try and survive on his own. Seita and his sister just move on and it shows you how hard it was during war and why we should stop war.I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely touching...

    Cannot even begin to describe all the emotions that I felt throughout this movie. It touches simple human emotions in its purest form. Especially for those who have siblings, you can relate to the main character without effort. This is definitely a MUST SEE MOVIE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A deep and wonderful title

    Grave of the Fireflies is a great anime. I saw this one in Japanese many years ago, and could not resist to give thumbs up for the story. It has a deep and complex meaning and touch everyone's heart. It is a one to have type of thing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One the best anime movies I have ever seen....

    Truly a remarkable anime movie. Grave of the Fireflies is so moving and so realistic as you see both brother and sister struggle to survive from day to day during WWII. With the loss of both parents there is no one to turn to as distant relatives mistreat both children. Focing Seita to fend for his younger sister Setsuko and find ways to keep both alive and good health. By the end of the War, not only does he lose his sister, but finally Seita gives up hope for living and eventually dies alone. A perpective view of the war from the eyes of the Japanese people....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A film that will leave you in tears...

    I have seen many aname films, but this one has got to be the best and most emotional one of all. I considered myself and very masculine type of guy. Never would I thought that a aname can bring me to tears. Grave of the Fireflies have made me appreciate my life more now than ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What anime is truely about.

    For those of us who enjoy anime on a regular basis, we tend to lean toward the rather entertaining things. Like Inuyasha, or Ranma 1/2, the things that keep you laughing. But this, Grave of the Fireflies, convinced me that this is what anime is truely all about. Stories like this one, are supposed to pull at your heart strings. Just because it's animated, makes it no less the tearjerker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Praise for Takahata

    Grave of the Fireflies is a beautifully rendered, honest and tragic account of the true victims of war. I've never seen a movie so touching and so realistic. Takahata is a superb animator with unmatched vision and understanding for his audience and for the characters. Completely moving, and I highly recommend it for anyone who is skeptical in regards to the genre of Japanese anime. This film will convert even the most critical of movie buffs. A story of true survival and unconditional love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Animé good or bad?

    I never liked animé. I don't know if I ever will completely like animé. Two movies changed my view of it: Grave of the Fireflies, and Spirited Away. Grave being one of the most tagic and sad movies I have seen....ever. It is a great war movie, and I don't usually like those either. It fits tragedy, love, and perseverance during two children's trial. It's a good movie, I do reccomend it. ---Joe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Sad and Tragic Story

    This anime proves why animation is not only for kiddy stuffs. This show is very sad and tragic, telling the story of two children trying to survive in the Allied-bombed Japan during WW2. The drawing is top-notch, even by today's standard. A classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must see for any anime fan

    I high recommend this soon to be classic, it is a powerful story of a brother and sister surviving during WWII, great animation and strong characters give tis its own life. Something to be watched time and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2