BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hairspray

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    lovely movie. funny, cute, lots of songs you want to sing with.

    lovely movie. funny, cute, lots of songs you want to sing with. dancing is spectacular. you follow the storyline anad root for tracy the whole time. colorful adn so fun. i could watch it over and over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    A very beautiful movie Indeed. I really enjoyed the whole movie

    A very beautiful movie Indeed.

    I really enjoyed the whole movie, the story and the I really really really love the songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great movie

    i loved this movie i would definitley reccommened this movie to anyone! in loved it on broadeway too. is saw it in London on their kind of broadway which was amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    very good

    I loved this movie. t was very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lots of fun

    This was a feel good, fun movie to watch. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hair raising!!

    Althought I am a fan of John Waters version of Hairspray, this one is also excellent. I thing John Travolta did a great job as Edna, this role is a hard one to pull off since he had to do this in drag and wear alot of pounds. I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hairspray

    I loved this movies because Zac Efron and John Travolta. Zac was so good in this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    FLAWLESS MASTERPIECE !

    There is nothing bad I can say about this wonderful musical film ! It is much better than the original. Cast is perfect, songs are so beautifully sung & orchestrated, cinematography & direction is amazing. The 50s & 60s are my favorite era. Nikki B. does not disappoint in her first major role. She was made for this role ! Absolutely stunning ! Zac Efron was wayyy better in this film than any HSM films. John Travolta in drag is just PRICELESS. A great movie to watch with everyone !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Old Fart gives 5 stars

    I think that I'm a lot older than the other reviewers, but I gotta say that Hairspray made me feel as young as they are! I grew up in the 60's, and the film had me coming out singing, like when I was a kid and saw Mary Poppins. Great feel good movie. I also remember that I had the chance to see the play here in Las Vegas COMPED, but at the time I turned it down. What an MOOK!!! A truly sublime suprise for all who watch it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hairspray

    I love this movie. It is a great movie.. In Fact, this is my favorite movies out of all the movies in the world that should tell you how good it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a good movie

    In this movie, a girl has a dream of dancing, which nobody believes she will acheive. But, when she is seen dancing in a crowd, she's invited to be on a television show directed towards dancing. Her life seems to be turning out to be everything she wanted, until she needs to choose between doing what she thinks is right and her dream of dancing. This movies is very good with a good plot and better music. The coreography is good, also. It could be a bit corny sometimes, and some songs are a little old fashioned, but it's still a good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hairspray Rules!

    I love Hairspray! It rocks! I also like that Zac Efron is in it. The cast has a lot of legends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FOUR THUMBS UP!!!

    That's how good this is. And how good is it?? I got this for myself for Christmas and watched it with my son. My soon to be six year old has watched the movie at least 10 times and has opted to go see Hairspray on Broadway for his birthday instead of having a HotWheels birthday party with 30 of his friends. This is a BIG deal for a six year old!!..and a testament to how good this movie is."It's a HUGE deal for his Mommy who wasn't too keen about planning that party anyway :". This is a movie for all ages... and the songs.. oh so singable and fun. Dancing... incredible. So, MY two thumbs up and my son's two thumbs - FOUR THUMBS UP!! A WINNER!! Good Morning Baltimore!!..step aside High School Musical :"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fitting tribute to original John Waters movie

    I'm not keen on musicals but this movie blew me away from the opening sequence on. It's a fitting tribute to the original John Waters movie. Yet the plot is revised for a few nice surprises - so it's not precisely the same story. John Travolta as Edna Turnblad is ideal casting. He delivers a comic performance without peer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This is my all time FAVORITE movie! How much do I like it? My family has kept a count and I have seen it over 35 times! The songs are amazing, the casting/characters could not be better, and everything else about it has exceeded all standards. This movie is recommended for anyone who loves to come out of a theater smiling and wanting to see it again. Anyone who has ever seen my room knows I am a fanatic! I think everyone needs to see this movie at least once in their life !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    OMG I love this movie. I've never seen the original move nor the Broadway show but just this version. It has become my favorite move now I'm so glad I got!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    can't get enough hairspray

    the first time i sat down to watch this movie i couldn't get into it. imagine my surprise, since then i'm sure i've watched this movie about 100 times. i love it. it's infective, it gets into your head in a great way. it just makes me smile. plus my 8 and 6 year old BOYS can't get enough either. enough said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OUTSTANDING 20 STARS!!

    Loved it and best songs that i ever heard in long time since "dreamgirls"! great great movie and had to dance to the songs haha.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I've seen it 8 times...

    i am 14 and i went and saw it with all of my friends and family 8 times and it was amazing!!! it is definatly an uplifting movie and i left the theatre feeling like i could rule the world everytime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This Movie was an outstanding musical for the whole family. It is an classic oldie brought back to life in this new age remake. Adam Shankman really out did himself when he made this movie. John Travolta is oustandingly Hilarious. The quality, and the upbeat genre is a film that everyone in the family can honestly enjoy. It has the taste of theatrical sophistication of a broadway musical, yet has that comedy factor that everyone enjoys! Tracy Turnblad anold character brought back to life by the acting skills of Nikki Blonsky is truly a movie that shows you to follow your dreams. No matter what the cause. Tracy, the main character followed her dreams although allthe people around her were telling her it was impossible, and she couldn't do it. This however did not stop her from persueing her dream of becoming a dancer/singer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4