Customer Reviews for

Hannibal Rising

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this movie is frikin awesome

    i read the prequel novel about hannibal lecter in a mer 2 or 3 days the book was awesome the movie was just as good as the book the direcator did the book justice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    just as good as hannibal,red dragon,silence of the lambs

    this movie blew me away the book did the same thing also hannibal lecter is one very intresting charecter gaspard did justice to the orginial hannibal lecter actor hopkins the book and movie are both very awesome and are very entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Gaspard Makes Hannibal Sexy!!!

    When I first saw it on the opening night, I was expecting to see the normal sort of 'Hannibal' movie, but this was better! Gaspard Ulliel plays him perfect, the movements were right on, you could tell that Gaspard had studied the way that Anthony Hopkins had turned Hannibal into the insane-physco killer that he "the character" is, he still made Hannibal likeable. The other actors and actresses were awesome! I could watch this everyday!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yes, Thomas Harris Really Did Write This Prequel

    HANNIBAL RISING may not be in the same league with its predecessors, especially SILENCE OF THE LAMBS, but it was written by the same author - both the novel and the screenplay - and so we must accept that the arc of the story of the murderous cannibal is intact. Where this version of how the child Hannibal became the crazed and bizarre man due to his witnessing the loss of his young sister to the appetites of hungry soldiers is less successful than the studies of the grown man is the lack of including the genius mind, epicurean stance, highly sophisticated art lover, and macabre sense of human relationships as shown in the boy to young man period. Filmed in beautiful color and atmosphere the story begins in WW II as stated above and as Hannibal the lad escapes the carnivorous appetites of the Nazi solders (including the evil Grutas as portrayed with gusto by Rhys Ifans!) and becomes Hannibal the young man (Gaspard Ulliel) who with the aid of his aunt Lady Murasaki Shikibu (Gong Li) continues to search out all of the soldiers who ate his sister. And in the end we do discover some hidden secrets about the now mature Hannibal Lecter. Director Peter Webber keeps the pace and the gore going and has at his side a fine supporting cast (Richard Brake, Kevin McKidd, Stephen Walters, Ivan Marevich, and Goran Kostic among others). Ulliel is credible in the minimal dialog is given and it probably is the fault of Thomas Harris that this young Hannibal doesn't show all the key characteristics he will eventually flaunt. It is not a bad film, just not one that will be remembered as well as the originals. Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Alright story, bad connection...

    When I first viewed this movie in theaters I was quite disappointed by attempt to connect this story to the Silence of the Lambs series. I think if they just let this movie be its own entity aside from the whole Hanibal Lector ties it would be more enjoyable, but for any fan of the other movies (at least the original) this doens't seem to fit well in my eyes. Could they have found an actor to play the younger Hanibal Lector that looked less like Anthony Hopkins....doubt it. It was as if they had an idea how they wanted the movie poster to look and fit a story around how they could show the younger Hanibal in a similar mask as worn later and thus the horrible Samuri storyline included. *my 2 cents*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another outstanding Movie for an outstanding series!!

    I have to say, the first 20 minutes or so were boring. I was actually about to walk out of the theater when it suddenly started getting good. This movie is just as or more violent than the others and the actor who portrays hannibal lector is a perfect fit (later on in the movie.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EXCELLENT MOVIE !!

    I was hooked from the first minute of this film. I actually watched it 3 times in two days because it is so riveting. Gaspard is absolutely mesmerizing as young Hannibal and seems to relish his role in this movie. It is totally different from the others in the series but well worth your time. I am going to buy this movie. It is unusual and engrossing and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1