Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Average Rating 4.5
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is outstanding!

    Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint and Emma Watson shine in this second installment of the Harry Potter series. When Ron doesn't hear from Harry all summer, he and his twin brothers, Fred and George, fly to Surrey to rescue Harry from his barred-up bedroom. Harry is delighted to be with Ron and his family for the rest of the summer. Harry can't wait until school resumes. But someone doesn't want Harry back at Hogwarts this year. He and Ron miss the train to school and end up flying Mr. Weasley's enchanted car to Hogwarts. Trouble abounds for Ron, Harry, and Hermione, as a monster is loose in Hogwarts. Plenty of extras are included in this package: the regular theatrical release, an extended movie version and two extra DVDs are full of information on characters and creatures. The book is better as the movie left a lot of essential character development. However, I did enjoy the movie and I recommend this DVD package for anyone's personal library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Night 2 of my 4 night Harry Potter week! Each time I view these movies, I kick myself that I have not read the books... One of these days... The basic plot is that Harry Potter enters Hogwart's for his 2nd year, even though he is warned not to come back! The adventures start even before he gets to Hogwart's, and continues on as he and his friends try to find the "Chamber of Secrets". The movie is a bit darker than the 1st with scary spiders, students being petrified, and one large basilisk slithering around. It is interesting to see the character growth of the actor's, plus their own growth in real time. Harry and Ron a looking a bit older than their "12 years"... Malfoy is back, and even better is the introduction of his father, Lucius Malfoy, played by Jason Isaacs. One of my favorite "bad-guy" actors. Ever seen "The Patriot"! Kenneth Branagh is also new as Professor Lockhart, a pompous, self-obsessed new wizard. A different take for the usual serious dramatic actor. And Alan Rickman and Robbie Coltrane are once again great, but I wish they had more screen time. And it is very sad to see that Richard Harris will no longer be with us as Dumbledore. Such a loss of a great actor! Now rating the 2 disc widescreen DVD: Disc 1 has the movie, plus 2 trailers " one current and one for Year One". There is also the cast/crew lineup, which once again, I wish they would go a bit more in depth. Disc 2 is great! There are 19 additional scenes. Some good like extended scenes of the "horror" shop, a scene with Lockhart, and talking about the "heir" in study hall. Some were very...huh? "Behind the Hogwarts" has an interview with JK Rowling and screenwriter Steven Kloves. Very good! Also, there is "Dumbledore's Office" which has the making of Dumbledore's office and the greenhouse scene, and a tour of the office. The making of the office was a great docu with alot of wow moments on how they put everything together. There is also various interviews with the cast. Some good and some bad. I wish Isaac's, Rickman's and Coltrane's were longer, as they are genuine funny people. Overall, another great Harry Potter movie in the series, and a great DVD! Highly worth buying and adding to the home collection!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Finally it's comming!!!

    CoS is so far the best HP movie. It's plot is more intricate and dark. The characters get to develop more and it's really fun. I recomend it for everybody not only kids...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Soon-to-be Classic

    Recently releashed fantasy movies prove one great thing:that they are classics in the making.The ''Harry Potter'' movies are a good example.It's both ''The Wizard of Oz'' and ''Star Wars'' because of its many simalarites. Like Dorothy and Luke,Harry is an orphan living with his aunt and uncle who longs to escape the only life he knows.And just like them,he gets his wish and is whisked away to another world,having one adventure after another.One way that it's like ''Star Wars'' is the Yoda-like house-elf,Dobby.At one part Harry goes back in time and it's in black-and -white.It reminded of the colorless and the colorful worlds in ''The Wizard of Oz''.I highly recommend both movies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book is about Harry Potter, a boy who lives with his aunt, uncle, and their son Dudley at number four Privet Drive. There is something special about Harry. He is a Wizard. His aunt and uncle aren't wizards and don't like to talk about magic. His aunt and uncle also never speak about his parents, who were killed by the dark lord Voldemort. I really like this book, it was interesting and I think kids 8+ years old will enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Even better than 'Sorcerer's Stone!'

    I love these movies so much it's crazy. Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, and Emma Watson play the characters SO WELL. This one is even better than the first! I loved the plot, I loved everything! Even if you have not read the book, you have to watch the movies. They're fantastic! Even adults can love them! You're missing alot if you don't watch this movie. This movie is just a tad more violent then the first, just so people know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    BOOKS ARE BETTER

    I read some of the books and movies but the books seem to be better. I think they picked a good Harry Potter cast.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this movie is fun for the entire family

    harry potter is the best the books are great they are not boring and guess what the books are better than the movies harry potter is the best series of movies and the best series of books including the twilight saga and paolinis series of books and even the new harry potter is even going to be just great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Chamber of Secrets was good,but not as good as the first one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    thriling and fun

    i like the part where harry battles the monster in the chamber of secrets

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's Pretty Cool

    This Harry Potter movie was probably my favorite out of them all. Mostly because it stayed with the plot. The only thing I wish it had shown was the part when Tom Riddle imitates Ginny's diary. Again it was in my opinion the best movie but it could have been better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    cool

    the movie was really stoically based on the book but that was good. they included any info that needed to be followed into the 3rd movie (which came out BADDDD). but this one was neat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    DRACO IS HOTT

    I love the first two harry potters but the third one was nothing like the book well i cant say that but it didnt leave alot out. and did u hear there getting all new actors so the Draco malfoy that ilove will be replaced :( i know there getting to old to play the parts but i have to speak my mind and said that from the sencond movie all the others ones are going to suck even though Draco looked really really hott in the 3ed one :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter year 2

    In this one it seems its a bit more better than the first since the first introduced pratically everyone. An okay mystery of why some people got turned to stone and blaming Harry Potter since he's been acting funny and showing up at the wrong place at the wrong time. Entertaining alright.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie

    What a great movie. I own it on VHS. Only 1 problem: this is the last time we will ever see Richard Harris on screen as Professor Dumbledore, as he died right before the movie was released in theatres.(So saaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad!) Anyways, it rocked!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    magical movie with magical creators

    Yes, I'm referring to the successful creators of this wondeful franchise - Harry Potter. This movie is definitely to be loved. I'm quite attracted to the amazing effects that established a harmonious plot within the book and the movie. Truly this second installment of J.K.'s wizarding magical story gave every Potterphile the sense of appreciating Harry's world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Film!

    As great as Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone was, the Chamber of Secret's is definitely the better of the two. Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, and Emma Watson have come a long way, and their acting has certaintly improved. The special effects are amazing, and they alone are worth purchasing the DVD or video. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban should be even better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

    In this wonderful world of Wizards,Witches, Goblins,Monsters,and other strage beings you'll find it is a rather good film. It is very good for everyone of all ages and you'll find you will enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    I love Hedwig! She's so adorable!! 

    I love Hedwig! She's so adorable!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    it is one of the best books I read I read it alot I just cant qu

    it is one of the best books I read I read it alot I just cant quiet reading it i also like the movie hopfuly they come out with a new harry potter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12