Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Average Rating 4.5
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Chamber of Secrets was good,but not as good as the first one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's Pretty Cool

    This Harry Potter movie was probably my favorite out of them all. Mostly because it stayed with the plot. The only thing I wish it had shown was the part when Tom Riddle imitates Ginny's diary. Again it was in my opinion the best movie but it could have been better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    cool

    the movie was really stoically based on the book but that was good. they included any info that needed to be followed into the 3rd movie (which came out BADDDD). but this one was neat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter year 2

    In this one it seems its a bit more better than the first since the first introduced pratically everyone. An okay mystery of why some people got turned to stone and blaming Harry Potter since he's been acting funny and showing up at the wrong place at the wrong time. Entertaining alright.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

    In this wonderful world of Wizards,Witches, Goblins,Monsters,and other strage beings you'll find it is a rather good film. It is very good for everyone of all ages and you'll find you will enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    I only gave it 4 stars because they didn't include some cool things from the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    intresting movie

    i think the harry potter movie was a spectacular fun movie and i would definitley recommend it to friends and family.There were alot of great action schences and i especially loved dobby he was one of best chararcters in the movie be sure to add him in the next movie the prizoner of azkaban. I think more people my age(13) would agree with me when i say that the chamber of secrets was a terrific, magnificiant movie and the only downside to the story is that doumbaldoor won't be performing in the next one which is a real bummer his death was a sorrow for everyone and he was the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wizards Rejoice!

    This was a great movie! The plot was much more developed, the characters more naturally molded, and the intensity much more engaging than the Sorcerer's Stone. There was a few blips though, but the overall heart of the movie overshadows them. The music was a tad unfocused, but the piece that accompanies the ''Dueling Club'' scene was spectacular. I also really enjoyed the greater focus on Quidditch. They don't show in the movies enough, even though in the books they have a year-long tournament. Daniel, Emma, and Rupert made up for their awful performance in Sorcerer, and all of the other actors were also wonderful. Gryffindor for the Cup!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrific book-to-movie transition

    Being a huge Potter fan, I was very pleased with how this movie came out. It was much better than the first. The entire cast is great as Richard Harris gives his final role as Professor Dumbledore while Kenneth Branagh is hilarious as Gilderoy Lockhart. Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson, and the rest of the cast's acting has improved; John Williams's score is as brilliant as ever; and the special effects are more realistic and exciting than in the first. It was a terrific book-to-movie transition, though I could think of some deleted scenes they should have left in the movie. But the darkness and edge given to the movie reflects just how the book was written. One thing that I was really happy--and relieved--with was the special features disc. Unlike the first movie where you had to play aggravating games to get to the deleted scenes, in this one, all 19 deleted scenes are easy to find. I enjoyed the interviews with the cast and one interview with JK Rowling and Steve Kloves. And I was glad to see that there were more behind-the-scenes features. This is a fantastic movie that I recommend to anyone whether they're a fan of the series or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Movie Ever

    Im 13 years old and i LOVE this movie.Its even better than the first . I give it a four because it was great ,but diddnt fallow the book very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

    Harry Potter is a wonderful book for all ages. Every one will enjoy this wonderful movie filled with magic and power. in this Harry faces Lord Voldomort when he was young because Ginny Weasley used the book to create him. Join Harry,Hermione,and Ron as they try to save Hogwarts from the mysterious creature that lies within the Chamber of Secrets. ''Beware the Chamber of Secrets has been opened!!''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2003

    =)

    I was much more impressed with this movie than I was with the first. However, I think that it still needs some help. While I do not think that it compares to Lord of the Rings or Star Wars I think it is a very good movie and will definitely buy the video.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''Chamber'' Good As ''Stone''!

    The ''Chamber of Secrets'' has not broken any box office records, but is even better than the first. This film is very light and funny at the beginning to compinsate for the dark second half. The ''Chamber'' is not great for youngsters, but is long awaited and well greeted from die-hard fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Does anyone monitor these comments?

    I really like this movie, but the review posted by Kate Stockdale tells you one of the major plot twists in her ''also recommended''. The reviews shouldn't give away the end of the movie. It's ridiculous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    amazing

    I thought the second harry potter was better then the first.The actors Daniel Radcliffe,Rupet Grint, and Emma Watson were amazing.I hope the third book(Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban)comes out in a movie soon,because i'll be there to see it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Movie

    It was a really good movie. The second one was much better. Enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

    This movie made up for everything that the first one lacked. The special effects were much more exciting and convincing, the acting was excellent, there was much more comedy, and it was much more edgier and darker than the first. The only thing that was notwithstanding was the forced happy ending which I thought was odd, but this movie is definitely on the top of my list of favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lame line at end of movie

    Movie was great up until one line was flubbed by Harry. It was about the phoenix tears and his injury. Who's the screenwriter? I'll give him/her some tips on adaptation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3