Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Average Rating 4.5
( 191 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I would like to have the option to buy the extended version

I saw it in the movie theater and I loved it. However, I'm tired that Warner Brother does not give us the option to buy the extended version. I get angry years later when I watch any HP movie on Disney channel (for example) and I see that there are lots of deleted scene...
I saw it in the movie theater and I loved it. However, I'm tired that Warner Brother does not give us the option to buy the extended version. I get angry years later when I watch any HP movie on Disney channel (for example) and I see that there are lots of deleted scenes which are not included on my DVD. I believe we should have the option to buy it as we see it in the movie theater or buy it with the deleted scenes.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too much wasted time

As in the third movie, the director decided to extend parts of the movie instead of adding more content. The battle with the dragon was far too lenthy. Wasted footage that could had been used to add substance to the movie. The screenwriter and director wanted to create ...
As in the third movie, the director decided to extend parts of the movie instead of adding more content. The battle with the dragon was far too lenthy. Wasted footage that could had been used to add substance to the movie. The screenwriter and director wanted to create their oun story and roughly base it off the book. Pity, theirs sucks.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Too much wasted time

    As in the third movie, the director decided to extend parts of the movie instead of adding more content. The battle with the dragon was far too lenthy. Wasted footage that could had been used to add substance to the movie. The screenwriter and director wanted to create their oun story and roughly base it off the book. Pity, theirs sucks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I would like to have the option to buy the extended version

    I saw it in the movie theater and I loved it. However, I'm tired that Warner Brother does not give us the option to buy the extended version. I get angry years later when I watch any HP movie on Disney channel (for example) and I see that there are lots of deleted scenes which are not included on my DVD. I believe we should have the option to buy it as we see it in the movie theater or buy it with the deleted scenes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Great movie that has nothing to do with the book!

    At first I hated this movie because it really has virtually nothing to do with the book and my personal favorite scenes were all deleted. That said, I've come to appreciate this film on it's own merit and LOVE it! It has a great deal of humor, action, and the acting is excellent. If you are looking for the book, don't bother. If you want a good movie, then this is a good movie. I say that with the reservation that I only watch it up to when the TriWizard Cup is touched in the Maze and I don't watch it after that. I have never liked the dark story line that started at the end of Goblet of Fire and continued to the end of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    harry potter

    this movie was a good movie because of the designs and clothes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire possesses fantastic raw material. I loved Mike Newell's treatment of the characters, his ability to showcase the various subtleties of behavior, relationships, humor. Even the more minor characters shone---Arthur Weasley especially. I also adored the sense of place this film created: not since the first Harry Potter movie have I felt so involved in Rowling's magical world. (Ron's room at the Burrow, the Gryffindor common room, the dancing lessons, Dumbledore's office, the Quidditch World Cup, all presented with splendid attention to detail.)

    As for what the writers and director, et al, did with this raw material? Huh. I believe there's a plot in there...somewhere...but the movie couldn't quite make up its mind as to which plot it was following. Is it a mystery, where we wonder how Harry found his way into the Tournament and how this works to the evil Voldemort's advantage, or is it an action flick, where we simply sit back and enjoy watching Harry pit himself against Dread Task after Dread Task? In the past, the Harry Potter films have managed to be a little of both, but this film struggles between one or the other and, as such, snags on loose threads of both that add absolutely nothing to the warp and weft of the story. So overall, not a bad film, but not one that does itself justice, either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A bit different than the book

    Well I totally understand that you can't make the movie 100% like the book. However, this was more like 80% like the book. There was several differences in this movie that swayed from the book. The book itself was excellent and probably one of my favorites, which is why I was so critical of the differences. For example. Where was winky Mr.Crouch's house elf? She had several parts in the book, and now that I think about it, where was ANY of the house elfs, or Hermione's SPEW parts? That was worth several pages in the book, yet it made absolutely no mention of it in the movie what so ever. Overall, the movie was decent and I would still recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AS AWESOME AS THE BOOK!!!

    Harry Potter movies are my favorite series ever!<BR/>This movie just made my liking for Harry Potter grow 100 times more. I know it was changed from the book, but even if the book was like the movie, I'd still love it as much as the original story. Not much was cut, only 2 hours. Come on, it was 160 minutes long! What more can you ask for! A lot of action and the dark theme made this the best. Goblet of Fire was as awesome as the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZINGLY WELL DONE!!!

    This movie was a REALLY good contrast to the third, which i found, along with #5, quite disappointing. Yes, there are some parts i wish they had kept, but I loved how they made the parts they did put in fit together and flow. This is my 2nd favorite book behind Deathly Hallows, and is my favorite movie so far!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A HP Fan

    i love all the HP books but i have found all but the first movie to be dissappointing. the actors and actresses are good as well as all of the tech people, but they havent done anything to make the book seem better. normally when a movie is out and it is bad people dont seem to read the books thinking it is the same, the books are much better and the movies are lacking i suggest you just read the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I love Harry Potter,but this one was disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I have seen all of the Harry Potter movies so far,and they have been great,I have been waiting for the fifth one to come out in theaters,but I have been a little bit upset.The fourth one was not as good as the others.I was hoping that this one was going to top the other Harry Potter's,but it didn't.Don't get me wrong it was a good movie except I was wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Alright, so it wasn't the best of the series but just stop complaing about how bad it was!So it isn't exactly what you think sticking to the book would be, but I'd like to see one of the people that complained about direct a movie. It's pretty stressful i hope you know, you want to please the fans stay close to a plot line have enough action in the movie etc. But, sometimes you can't fit all that in to one little time slot alright? Get it in your HEAD! I agree with the person who said that we don't need to see Harry sit in the middle of a maze thinking about a riddle that a sphinx gave, okay? Some things are just not necassary for movies. I thought that the acting wasn't exactly up to par, the special effects were alright (watch Lord of the Rings if you want that) also some parts of the movie were a bit choppy, all in all it was a pretty good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Book MUCH better, but great nonetheless

    I hate hearing people bash these movies so vigorously. If you really adore Harry Potter and all he stands for as you claim to, you should appreciate this movie and what it has done for the entire world. The books are happily recieving outstanding press and notice, and this movie is enormously assisting. Sure, they meddled with aspects and cut scenes, characters, and dialogue, which I, of course, am not happy with. But the production is splendid and the actors put so much effort into it. If you love Harry Potter, you should love everything it stands for, including this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Where did everything go?

    This movie totally trashed the book. I know it was for time purposes and everything, but really! I mean, the whole movie is about the Triwizard Tournament, and all the important details that make the book so great completely disappear. Bagman and Winky apparently never existed, and Sirius, one of my favorite characters, was never even seen in this movie except for in the fire. The students also apparently never have to do any schoolwork. I say they should have put in more of the details and let it be several hours longer. The movie itself I give four stars, but compared to the book its one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE

    OMG harry potter rocks the movie rocks love all the movies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved it!

    Loved the book. Love the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Utterly boring

    After 90 minutes into the movie, I gave up and hit the eject button. The movie/plot was going so slow. The special effects that were glorious in the first few movies were lacking in this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The movie was fantastic

    Okay so I've read all of the comments and most of them said that the 4th movie was terrible which I definetly disagree with. This was one of the best movies ever! If you think that it is the worst one that you've seen then you are not okay! Have you seen the 3rd one? It was so supid that after I saw it the first time I never watched it again. So stop saying mean things about people who like it and go talk to someone that actually wants to listen to you about how you think that the movie is terrible. This was one of the best movies. The dancing, the ball, the suspense were all thrilling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the adventure of the great Harry Potter

    I think Harry Potter and the Goblet of fire is an extremely wonderful book.It is my most favourite book of all the 6.But one think I feel should not have happened is the death of Cedric Diggory.On the whole it is a fascinating and a fantastic book written by J.K.Rowling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    not again!

    the first two HP movies at least had plots, while these last two? not. a. chance. but this one worst of all. nothing led up to anything, basically its just a bunch of scenes glued together to make some ill-fitting movie. yes, i can understand there is a time limit. and i can accept that the director can take a few creative liberties. but this movie was so different, it should have been under a different title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10